We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great look at early immigrant struggle”
Review of Tenement Museum

Tenement Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.00*
and up
NY Urban Pioneers Private Walking Tour
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Lower East Side Food and Culture Tour
More Info
$50.00*
and up
East Village Walking Tour with Food Tasting
Ranked #28 of 1,117 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Tenement Museum preserves the history of immigration through the personal accounts of those who built lives in the Lower East Side. Visitors can view restored apartments from the 19th and 20th centuries, walk the historic neighborhood, and interact with residents to learn the stories of generations of immigrants who helped shape the American experience. The museum is available by guided tour only. Each tour focuses on a specific theme and takes visitors to a different area of the building or neighborhood.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Great look at early immigrant struggle”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was very interesting. We went to the tour of the early german immigrant family and the later Italian family. The building is in bad shape which was part of the charm. If I every come back to NY I would take another tour here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank castle08_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,825
    1,049
    261
    107
    48
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You seethe LES now but what was it like before?”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Once again the brilliant conservationist save a piece of our past. The tours are a bit over priced considering how much traffic they get but still the Tenement is worth a looksies. I actually went on a few of the tours and recommend in this order: #1 Sweatshop is the most intuitive for what was going on in that hood #2 Hard times -it's a dismal and tragic story but very interactive and you get to see a lot. #3 and my least favorite was the Irish Outsiders, despite my Irish decent this tour had a long sitting period where you listen to a radio talk and sing songs. You learn and see more on the others in my opinion. However, if you can afford the trio I think you will be satisfied especially if you're a fan of history. I always recommend this place to my guests!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seizetheplanet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“For Every American”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Been here five or six times and it never ceases to move me. Take a tour of the apartments and, if you're a local, check out the Tenement Talks (archived online). You'll be sure to learn a lot about how we all came here!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeff6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“No matter how lousy you may think your life is, it probably doesn't compare”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Tenement Museum will open your eyes like few other museums can. You are sure to gain a new found appreciation for your modern-day life when you compare it to the conditions that thousands of people had to endure for decades, not only in New York, but in almost every major city. This is not the best place to go on a first date, and if you go with someone, be sure it is a person that you can carry on an intelligent conversation with. Otherwise, the experience of the "teachable moment" will likely be lost.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic early NYC immigrant experience”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Make a reservation for an insiders view of early NYC. The various tours highlight actual families that lived in the area. Highly knowledgeable guides give small groups a glimpse of the day to day life and struggles of the multicultural immigrants who once actually inhabited this Lower East Side building. Book a tour with a discussion. You get an in depth talk with other visitors that is quite different from any other New York experience. Quarters are small and be prepared to stand. It is absolutely worth it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank patricesamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenement Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tenement Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing