We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history and tours!”
Review of Tenement Museum

Tenement Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.00*
and up
NY Urban Pioneers Private Walking Tour
Ranked #27 of 1,093 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Tenement Museum preserves the history of immigration through the personal accounts of those who built lives in the Lower East Side. Visitors can view restored apartments from the 19th and 20th centuries, walk the historic neighborhood, and interact with residents to learn the stories of generations of immigrants who helped shape the American experience. The museum is available by guided tour only. Each tour focuses on a specific theme and takes visitors to a different area of the building or neighborhood.
Incline Village, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting history and tours!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the Museum twice in the past year and gone on three of their interesting tours. The (walking) Food Tour was wonderful, informative and tasty! (They share samples along the way). The other two tours were equally fascinating views into the history of families of the Lower east side. Please be aware that you are walking up a few flights of somewhat steep old stairs so wear appropriate shoes! Your tour guides/docents are very entertaining too.
Highly recommended!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank edm89451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,677
    1,012
    256
    100
    45
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“history in real life”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

a terrific way to apartment life in NYC from the 1800s! The tour shows 2-3 apts that are intact to oozes with history. The guide fills in what was going on at the time. The museum has been able to trace the specific tenants in the apartments and you can follow their journey. A great place to get a city history lesson. And then go to Katz's deli for lunch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The most interesting museum I've been to.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Such a unique concept. We took the “Hard Times” tour last weekend, and were incredibly impressed with what we were seeing. We almost didn’t go to the museum, but had some extra time - am so happy we had the opportunity.

The tour takes you through the lives of two families, while standing in the apartments they would have lived in - remade to look as they would have been in their eras.

The tour guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable. It was an hour long, covered very little mileage, but was the most interesting thing I did in NYC. Felt way shorter than an hour.

If we had more time, we would have done more of the tours. Next time we’re back, we will definitely do more.

Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fascinating.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Missed the walking tour of the neighborhood, took the Hard Times tour inside the museum/building instead. It was fascinating. The guide was excellent. Beyond that, actually.
The day was hot, so it definitely made the experience authentic.
I would look forward to going again on any of the other tours offered.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Informative & thought provoking!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had heard about this museum from a travel book & made reservations about a week before we visited. We took 2 tours back to back. Hard Times followed by Sweat Shop Workers. My 8 year old son was fascinated as were my husband and I. The gift shop is well stocked with great books and souvenirs. The tours and tour guides are excellent and give a real insight as to life in the NYC tenements. I would highly recommend these tours!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dianagilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenement Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tenement Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing