We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tour (Hard Times)”
Review of Tenement Museum

Tenement Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.00*
and up
NY Urban Pioneers Private Walking Tour
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Lower East Side Food and Culture Tour
More Info
$50.00*
and up
East Village Walking Tour with Food Tasting
Ranked #28 of 1,118 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Tenement Museum preserves the history of immigration through the personal accounts of those who built lives in the Lower East Side. Visitors can view restored apartments from the 19th and 20th centuries, walk the historic neighborhood, and interact with residents to learn the stories of generations of immigrants who helped shape the American experience. The museum is available by guided tour only. Each tour focuses on a specific theme and takes visitors to a different area of the building or neighborhood.
Claremont, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour (Hard Times)”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife, my two sons (18 and 15), and I took the "Hard Times" tour last week and found it to be informative and extremely interesting. Our guide was outstanding and really left us feeling what it must have been like for immigrants in New York City in the Panic of 1873 and The Great Depression. In addition the stories of obtaining the building along with the story of a woman who actually lived in the building enhance the experience. Visiting this museum was one of our favorite things we did! The location was easy to reach via subway. We look forward to coming back for some of the other tours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank trojansb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,825
    1,049
    261
    107
    48
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tenement Museum should be on your MUST see list!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This museum, set in an actual restored Tenement building in NYC's Lower East Side, was one of the highlights of our recent NYC trip. We did the new Shop Life tour and I definitely recommend it! TIP: definitely go online and book your preferred tour and day/time a week or so in advance, they fill up quickly!! The tour lasted 1.5hrs and I definitiely recommend getting there 30-40 minutes early to watch the pre-tour film and mill around the gift shop. The Shop Life tour is set in the basement of the Tenement Museum and depicts four different historical business and the life of their owners. This tour really made me think of the early immigrants to America differently and gave me an appreciation for their hard work and contribution to the building of America's economy. I wouldn't advise brining children; or anyone under the age of 18 unless they love history. This is a MUST see on your NYC itinerary; you won't be disappointed!!

Local restaurant recommendations: The Meatball Shop (5 min walk), Katz Deli (7 min walk), The Doughnut Plant (6 min walk), Lombardi's Pizza (9 min), Eileen's Special Cheesecake (10min walk).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thehungryjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great historical experience”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

In two hours, one will come to understand the immigrant experience. This is a must for all Americans to see.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ares949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is museum gives a realistic and graphic look of 2 eras of economic "Hard Times" in NYC.
The Panic of 1873 and the Great Depression are seen through the eyes of immigrants from Germany and Italy in those eras. You are taken to the rooms they would have lived in and discuss the hardships of child rearing, and everyday struggles in those hard times. Well worth a visit an tour of the tenement.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ondlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from an amazing 2 hour experience at the Tenement Museum on Orchard Street. Been to New York countless times, never been there. We chose the Hard Times tour and Discussion and the 15 of us in the group led by our fantastic guide and moderator Laura really clicked. Coming from very diverse backgrounds, Ireland, South America, the Middle East, Australia, and the US, we initially identified ourselves, proceeded to an introductory discussion, and then moved down the block for the tour of two restored apartments from different eras more than fifty years apart in the same tenement building. The immersive experience concluded with a final all encompassing discussion of our impressions. This was a experience not to be missed, one that I wish I could have at every museum I visit. You come away with a special appreciation for immigrant life, the lower East side, and how others view the immigration process. Kudos to Laura, a true professional, who made us all feel comfortable and inclined to speak freely and openly. Will surely return for one or more of the other tours offered.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJSFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenement Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tenement Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing