We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire State Building

Empire State Building
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets
Ranked #10 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Dubai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

You cannot come to NYC and not see the view from The Empire State Building. It's stunning.
Go late at night - after 11:30pm the lines disappear and you just head straight on in. It will be chilly though so take a jumper! Walk up the last 6 flights of stairs - it will save you a silly long wait for the second elevator.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SLCNKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Hi SLCNKH — It’s wonderful to hear that you consider the Empire State Building to be a must-see NYC attraction and that you found our views to be stunning. Arriving after 10 p.m. is a good tip, as we tend to see shorter lines during that time, as well as around 8 a.m. Thank you for visiting. –Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53,796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33,076
    13,731
    4,523
    1,495
    971
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, Italy
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“An experience to try!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

I loved the Empire State Building. I'm convinced New York City fives its best when seen from up above, cause if it's true that all the skyscrapers are awesome from below, they're even better when you see them all from the top of the city.The view from the 102nd floor of the Empire is indeed spectacular and gives you just perfectly the idea of what a big city you're in. The only downside is that there's not much space to move up there, we were lucky we went there very early in the morning, otherwise I think we wouldn't have been able to enjoy the experience as much

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SilviaLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Hi SilviaLN — We’re glad that you found the views from our 102nd floor Observatory to be spectacular and that you loved your Empire State Building experience. Arriving early in the morning is a great tip, as we tend to see fewer crowds around 8 a.m., as well as after 10 p.m. Thank you for coming. –Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AMAZING !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

The views from the top are like nothing else ! It may have given me a little vertigo but it was sooooooo worth it ! AND to cap it all off I even met King Kong too !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rae-o-Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Hi Rae-o-Sunshine — We’re delighted to hear that you loved our panoramic views and that you enjoyed your Empire State Building experience. Thank you for your visit and your review. –Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must visit attraction when visiting NY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

We pre-booked and printed our tickets at home. As we knew August would be a very busy time and were travelling with two children we booked Express tickets so there was no waiting around in long queues. This made us feel like royalty the day we went because as soon as we showed our express passes all the staff kept waiving us through via short cuts both going up and coming down, it was fantastic! The tickets also included the 102nd which I hadn't done on previous visits, the children thought this was fantastic being so high.The Express will cost you a lot more but we found it worth the money.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Hi Vicky M — We’re thrilled that you consider the Empire State Building to be a must-see NYC attraction and that you enjoyed the benefits of our Express Pass. As you note, when guests purchase tickets online and print them out ahead of time, they can skip the ticket lines when they arrive. Thank you for your visit and for writing this review. – Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic views but.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

It was crazy, they let so many people up it was difficult to get a good view for photos. Yes the views are stunning but we preferred the top of the Rock.

Helpful?
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Hi Carly S — It’s great to hear that you found our panoramic, open-air views to be stunning. For future reference, we tend to see fewer crowds around 8 a.m. and after 10 p.m. We appreciate your visit. – Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing