We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views”

Empire State Building
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and...
Ranked #15 of 1,153 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great staff, great views, we purchased the VIP pass so we skipped the lines so instead of waiting 30 mins it took 5. What a magnificent structure.

1  Thank Docmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Hi docmatt — It’s wonderful that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We appreciate your visit and your kind review. –Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"observation deck"
in 3,295 reviews
"express pass"
in 1,027 reviews
"new york"
in 7,850 reviews
"empire state"
in 2,963 reviews
"top of the rock"
in 2,933 reviews
"vip tickets"
in 497 reviews
"views are amazing"
in 629 reviews
"audio tour"
in 507 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 463 reviews
"statue of liberty"
in 574 reviews
"central park"
in 635 reviews
"floor"
in 9,630 reviews
"elevator"
in 4,034 reviews
"esb"
in 2,695 reviews
"nyc"
in 6,179 reviews
"security"
in 2,339 reviews
"observatory"
in 1,327 reviews
Filter

37,997 - 38,001 of 69,005 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

My aunt & I visited the ESB on Sat., July 5th. Got there about 9:00 am and was able to go right up to the 86th. floor. I had purchased our tickets ahead of time via ESB web site a couple of months earlier (good for 1 year from date of purchase). No crowds and no long lines. The earlier you get there the less wait and better views on the 86th. floor. I took awesome pictures and was able to freely move about the observatory area. I stopped at the ESB gift shop and got some nice souvenirs. The weather was beautiful and not a cloud in the sky...perfect day! Worth a stop and to see NYC from the afar!

Thank FloridaHappytrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Hi FloridaHappytrails — We’re delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. Purchasing and printing out your tickets in advance is a great tip, as it allows guests to bypass ticket lines once inside. Thank you for coming and for writing this review. –Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We visited the Empire State Building early on a Friday morning in July. We were specifically excited to visit the 102nd floor in the needle on top of the building. I recommend visiting early on a weekday because the lines were quite short. We did wait a little to get to the ticketing window. We were told to purchase tickets for the 86th floor observation deck and that we could not buy tickets at the ground for the 102nd floor, because it only fits so many people. We were told we would have to wait for it to clear out, and that once it did, we would be able to buy tickets on the 86th floor for the 102nd floor. AFTER we purchased the tickets, the agent stated that the wait could be more than an hour. At that point, I already felt that we should have gone to the top of the Rock, which has a nicer observation deck (we have been to both before). We got to the 86th floor and no one there seemed to really know what was going on on the 102nd floor. One employee told us that we could go up to the 102nd, when it was clearly closed. We were finally told that it was under construction. We enjoyed the wonderful view from the 86th floor, and the Empire State does have the best views of downtown, while the top of the Rock has better views of Central Park and uptown. After spending quite some time at the 86th floor, we had to finally give up on seeing the 102nd. Most of the employees were not informed about what was going on, and the ticketing agent was either equally poorly informed or just misled us. The experience was enjoyable, but not the one we expected to have.

Thank GFDBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Hi GFD Boston — We’re happy that you enjoyed our views. We take customer service very seriously and appreciate your feedback. If you would like to speak with us further about your experience with our staff, please feel free to reach out to Gregg Picon, our Observatory Operations Manager, at GPicon@esbonyc.com. Thank you for visiting. –Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Got here early to avoid queues! Was a nice day so could see plenty of the city! Long way up glad we had a queue jump pass could be waiting for a long time otherwise! Lots of info on the way up enjoyed the experience would recommend going to Thai site!!

Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Hi Matt J — It’s great that you enjoyed our views, and that you took advantage of our Express Pass. As you suggest, we tend to see shorter lines early in the day, around 8 a.m. Thank you for your visit and your review. –Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We went to the Empire State Building after an evening of shopping. There was no line at all. It kind of made me feel rushed and it seems as if there is a lot of interesting things to see and learn about while standing in line. It has an audio tour and even tells about the window replacements to be more energy efficient. The security is rigid and they will make you leave your shopping bags with them when you go up. The top is amazing! The view incredible. One side may be windier than the other side so go all away around. You can see everything! The cab ride home was fun too!

Thank KGarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Hi KGarey — It’s wonderful that you found the views from our building to be incredible, and that you took advantage of our multi-media tour. We appreciate your visit and your review. –Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing