We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will enjoy every bit of it, only if its not crowded.”

Empire State Building
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Viator VIP: Empire State Building Sunrise Experience
Ranked #11 of 1,090 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You will enjoy every bit of it, only if its not crowded.”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Empire state building is top attraction of NYC. You might have seen landscape from lot of tall buildings and mountains. But what makes ESB special is the NYC view from the top. Its magical.

Tip:
- Try to visit during off peak time.
- Visiting an hour before sunset and staying an hour after sunset at top will give you an opportunity to see both day and night view.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bangaloretravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hi Bangaloretravellar- We're glad you found our views to be unique and unparalleled. Visiting during our off-peak times is a good tip, as we tend to see shorter lines around 8 a.m. and after 10 p.m. Please be advised that sunset is one of our busiest times of the day, however. Thank you for your visit and this review. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34,760
    14,338
    4,771
    1,582
    1,028
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Crammed in and herded like cattle”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

25 people per elevator. It didn’t matter their size or wait. Lines and lines of people to see this iconic landmark. Was it worth it? I guess if you go to the city you should see it from a birds eye view once,

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeniseMatolcsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hi DeniseMatolcsy- We're sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. As one of the most popular destinations in the city, we are especially busy during the holiday season and appreciate everyone's patience, as our staff does their best to keep things moving along. We appreciate you coming. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Well, you can not miss the Empire State building on your visit to New York. All though rather expensive the views are spectacular and the hirtory of the building is also interesting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank merxell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hi merxell- We're glad that you enjoyed our spectacular views and consider this to be a must-do in NYC. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Biulding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely View”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We did this at night, as well as TOTR during the day. We are glad we did both. Our CityPass helped in speeding up the queuing and also included the audio tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noodlie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hi Noodlie066- We’re happy to hear that you had a great experience! We appreciate your visit. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a View”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The Empire State Building is a beautiful building inside and being decorated for Christmas made it that much prettier. Only went to the 86th floor but what a wonderful view.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hi Betty- We're delighted that you enjoyed our panoramic views and the holiday decorations in the building! Thank you for coming and for writing this review. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing