We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great view at night”

Empire State Building
Ranked #15 of 1,137 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went late evening on our last night in New York. We didn't find it as interesting or as well organised as The Rock. Photos are not as easy to snap but it is a huge part of the history of New York and for that reason alone should not be missed.

Thank Mistyb1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Hi Mistyb1302- It's too bad you were not happier with your visit. Many of our guests enjoy not only the views but our building sustainability exhibit on the second floor and our Dare to Dream exhibit on the 80th floor. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76,849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"observation deck"
in 3,377 reviews
"express pass"
in 1,025 reviews
"new york"
in 8,004 reviews
"empire state"
in 2,969 reviews
"top of the rock"
in 3,022 reviews
"vip tickets"
in 498 reviews
"views are amazing"
in 664 reviews
"art deco"
in 463 reviews
"bucket list"
in 457 reviews
"audio tour"
in 504 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 470 reviews
"statue of liberty"
in 592 reviews
"central park"
in 651 reviews
"floor"
in 9,952 reviews
"elevator"
in 4,128 reviews
"esb"
in 2,715 reviews
"nyc"
in 6,280 reviews
Filter

45,378 - 45,382 of 76,809 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were so worried about the lines everyone kept telling us not to go, or go at night but we went anyway. We arrived around 10:30 I think and we were out by 12:30ish but we did the movie combo (free for New York Pass holders but I wouldn't pay for it otherwise) The line was small and moved quickly so happy we went. Kids all loved it and had fun climbing the 6 flights of stairs to the observation deck...yes you have to climb or wait in another line to get a different elevator but it was fun. We shopped directly across the street from the exit for souvenirs at bargain prices (there are 2 shops next to McDonalds, the cheaper one is to the left)

Thank yelsel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hi yelsel71- We're delighted to hear how much fun you and your family had during your visit. We would like to note that the Empire State Building and its Observatories are not affiliated with the New York Skyride (movie combo you referenced) or its agents who approach visitors outside the building. New York Skyride is an independently owned and operated business. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Awesome sums the whole experience, I visited with my flat mate and girlfriend, views were a little limited be the weather but we got to go to the top on one of the last trips at around 12am which were thought was a good idea cause it was quiet and my girlfriend is a little frightened by lifts.... we got a few pictures at the top and got to see some really cool stuff.

Thank Wemyss0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hi Wemyss0607- It's wonderful that you had such an awesome experience. If you'd like, feel free to email your best photos to ESBPhotos@renegade.com, and we may add them to our Facebook Fan Photos album. Thank you for your visit. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A lovely lady New Yorker stopped us in 42nd St (we may have obviously looked like tourists!) and told us that we should visit the Empire State Building at night for the best view of NYC - she was not wrong! Awesome and breathtaking.
Midnight on a Sunday was ideal - no queues and charming staff, who seemed to really enjoy their late night jobs. It was a bit breezy up top - but the view of the Chrysler Building is brilliant - you can see for miles on a clear night. Not sure whether the extra height in the top 'pod' is necessarily worth it - although as a vertigo sufferer the enclosed upper room feels 'safer'!!
Definitely put this on your list as a "must see" at night.

Thank Steelsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hi Steelsontour- We're thrilled to hear you found the evening views to be a must-do in NYC. You certainly can see for miles—on a clear day, our views extend to New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts! We appreciate the compliments about our staff and will pass them on. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went at around 2:00 in the afternoon. The employee at the door told us there was a 25 minute wait. We bought our tickets and pretty much got right up to the top with no lines. Once you enter the outdoor observation deck there is an incredible feeling of peacefulness and awe. It was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. It was a wonderful respite from the bustling streets of the city. We were able to take as many pics as we wanted. All the other tourists were polite and just as thrilled to be experiencing this wonderful landmark. The employees should also be recognized for their professionalism and friendliness. Spectacular!

Thank amsvue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hi amsvue- It's fantastic to hear you had a wonderful experience on our 86th floor Observatory. We appreciate your compliments about our staff, and we will certainly let them know how pleased you were with them. Did you know we're running a photo contest on our Facebook page? You should take a look at it and considering entering (it ends this Thursday). Thank you for your visit. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing