We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely better than Top of the Rock”

Empire State Building
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Viator VIP: Empire State Building Sunrise Experience
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Empire State Building Experience - Top Deck Express Pass...
Ranked #10 of 1,116 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I had seen several sources that said Top of the Rock at Rockefeller Center was better than Empire State Building, but I strongly disagree. We did both to see for ourselves and agreed the views from ESB blew those at TOTR away! We also went to ESB around midnight (they're open til 2:00 am). There were still quite a few people visiting, but it was definitely much less crowded. You can stand there and enjoy the view without feeling pressure to move on so someone else could see. You can't be the NYC skyline all lit up at night!

Thank Miranda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hi Miranda-We’re thrilled you found our panoramic views to be so incredible; there really is something special about seeing the skyline lights at night! Thank you for coming and for this review. –Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61,969)
There are newer reviews for Empire State Building
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35,867 - 35,871 of 61,978 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We used our New York pass and didn't have to pay extra for this. Lots of lines to go through and elevator rides to get to the top, but worth it for the view. It gives you a different perspective on the city and great place for photos. You can stay as long as you want at the top, but it gets crowded and you kind of have to wait to get to the rail. Long lines again when you go down, you may want to check on the stairs!

Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hi Barbara-We’re delighted to hear you consider this a must-do in NYC. If you have a great photo of or from the building you might want to check out the photo contest we’re running on our Facebook page. Thank you for your visit. –Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I bought the express tickets to suprise my kids over the internet. Had to stand in line to get the actual ticket. We were given poor information and ended up standin in the wrong line. Then we met Gordon! He was extremely helpfull. The top was beautiful at night and enjoyed ourselves! Coming back down was a breeze, we did not wait a minute unlike the other 300 poor unfortunate souls. If you pay for the express pass do not stand in line, ask until you find someone like Gordon! Thanks Gordon!

Thank vacakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hi vacakelly-We’re sorry to hear your visit started out with confusion. We take customer service to heart and are happy Gordon was able to steer you in the right direction. Thank you for coming. –Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Felt like we were on top of the world, with the mist of clouds surrounding us. We were there at dusk and it was fun to watch the lights coming on throughout the city.

As we walked closer to the entrance of the building, we were approached by numerous people (who appeared to be staff and identified themselves as such) asking if we already had our tickets (we did) and pushing us to upgrade. One told us the wait was 1.5 hours unless we did. We declined and there was no wait whatsoever. That aspect was discouraging and we did watch people pay double for no reason at all.

Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hi Jean-We’re happy you had a lovely time enjoying the sunset views. It is important to note that the agents who approached you outside the building are with the New York Skyride and the Empire State Building and its Observatories are not affiliated with the New York Skyride or its agents who approach visitors outside the building. New York Skyride is an independently owned and operated business. We recommend you file a complaint either directly with the New York Skyride operators at info@skyride.com or with the New York City’s Department of Consumer Affairs. You may also leave them a review on their TripAdvisor review page. We encourage all guests to purchase their tickets either ahead of time on our website or inside the building, as you did. Thank you for your visit. –Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I went up to the top of this magnificent structure for the first time in 1965 at the ripe old age of 17. Last week I took my wife up to see the sites. It was a rainy, overcast day and we were literally in the clouds. The top floor was closed because of the 0 visability but we got to the 86th floor and were able to see the Hudson River and East river at times. Too soupy to see as far as Central Park. no matter, still a great experience. The overcast sky resulted in no line ups and we did the trip quickly. Over cast or not I highly recommend a trip up this amazing building.

Thank Mertoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Hi Mertoni-We’re happy to hear you had a great experience despite the inclement weather. It’s always nice to hear when a guest enjoys both the views and the building itself. Thank you for coming. –Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing