We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great View!”

Empire State Building
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and...
More Info
$299.00*
and up
Viator VIP: NYC Night Helicopter Flight and Statue of Liberty Cruise
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Empire State Building Experience - Top Deck Express Pass...
Ranked #10 of 1,122 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Empire State Building is well worth the visit and the waiting time. We visited in March 2013 and booked and printed our tickets in advance. While the line was long and moved steadily, our time from start to finish on a sunny New York Tuesday was 2 hours. It would have been extremely helpful if a staff member was able to communicate what was going on at all times, eg. where to go with pre booked tickets, security procedures etc.

Thank 655BeateM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi 655BeateM-We are glad you enjoyed the stunning views and found them to be worth the wait. Please note visitors can ask our staff members about the wait time or for assistance directionally at any time during their visit. Thank you for your visit. -Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37,256 - 37,260 of 63,078 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Excellent site could see for a fair way. Staff very friendly and was well organised. Purchase tickets in advance to get a cheaper rate. Don't pay on the door

Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi Emma-We are happy to hear you enjoyed the 360-degree views, they really do seem to go on for miles. We appreciate the compliments to our staff and will pass them along. Please note that while visitors can save time by purchasing tickets ahead of time (by skipping the ticket line when they arrive) the cost of the ticket is no different than if you purchase it inside the building. Thank you for coming. -Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great building. and what views shame it was so windy, but being that high up can not be helped go early as queue's build up quick

1  Thank MargaretUxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi Margaret-We are delighted to hear you enjoyed both the views and the building itself. That is a good tip to come early, as we tend to see shorter lines between 8-10 a.m. as well as after 10 p.m. Thank you for your visit. -Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Tickets were pretty expensive and the experience came below our expectations. We already had our tickets and went at 11pm (1 hour before close) hoping it wouldn't be too crowded at that time but surprisingly we had to wait in line about a good hour until we finally reached the top. Once on the observation deck, there is very little space and it is super crowded. Nonetheless, the view was pretty spectacular. It also takes a while just to get back down to the main floor. My two cents, if you want the same view (if not better), then just head to Top of the Rocks as its cheaper, more spacious, no waiting in line and a more pleasant tour on your way to the top.

1  Thank MrWorldWide613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi MrWorldWide613-We are sorry to hear your visit did not meet your expectations, please note this is a peak holiday season which means we see an increase in guests. Many visitors do enjoy seeing our thrilling 360-degree views from one of the highest vantage points in the city. Finally we'd like to point out that our standard ticket price is the same as Top of the Rock and comparable to other similar attractions in NYC. Thank you for coming. -Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Go inside the building and buy your tickets inside. DO NOT BUY THEM FROM THE NY SKYRIDE PEOPLE OUTSIDE!!!!! They lie to you. They told me I was buying an express ticket. But once inside I learned that I paid for a stupid ride NOT an express ticket as promise. I complained to a manager a d he had me fill out a refund slip. Have not seen a refund yet.

The views are amazing!!!!

1  Thank 103ChrisH103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi Chris- We are glad you found the views to be amazing! It is important to note that the Empire State Building and its Observatories are not in any way affiliated with the New York Skyride or its agents who approach visitors outside the building. New York Skyride is an independently owned and operated business. We recommend you file a complaint either directly with the New York Skyride operators at info@skyride.com or with the New York City Department of Consumer Affairs. You may also leave them a review on their TripAdvisor review page. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing