We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go at night!!!”

Empire State Building
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and...
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Viator VIP: Empire State Building Sunrise...
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Empire State Building Experience - Top Deck Express Pass...
Ranked #10 of 1,122 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Not only was there no queue when we went last night about midnight but the view of the skyline shimmering with lights is just amazing. Get the audio guide, easy listening and lots of good information. Worth it!

1  Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hi Lou- We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the nighttime views! We are also glad that our audio-visual guide, the iView, added value to your visit. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37,434 - 37,438 of 63,023 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stunning views across manhattan! A must see, get there early or late afternoon as queues get big. A touch pricey at 50 dollars for 2 as we were only there for 45 mins but it's a definite must see.

1  Thank MattyG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hi MattyG82- We are happy to hear you consider this to be a must-do in NYC. For those with flexible schedules who want to save some time, we recommend coming either 8-10 a.m. or after 10 p.m., as these are the times that we tend to see shorter lines. Thank you for your visit. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Empire State Building offers a pass that allows you to cut the line which was fantastic. They even offer it on red carpet, which is so cool. I felt like a celebrity when doing this. Loved the exhibit and the decco elevators.

Thanks for New York Shuttle Tours for taking us here.

2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Hi James- We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your experience. It's always nice when visitors are pleased with so many aspects of their visit. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went up at about 5PM on a Thursday. We had purchased our tickets online at home. There was a modest line to get through security. Then not much of a line after that. You kind of walk all over through a bunch of switchbacks and around the inside of the building. I guess it would be a real long wait if you had to go through all of that in line. We had the extra tickets for the 102nd floor so we checked out the observation deck (86th floor) and took our pictures and then headed up another elevator to the top where we watched the sunset and the city light up. The top is very cramped and completely inside. But it's cool just being 102 floors up. Take your pictures outside on the 86th floor though just because you don't have any glare from the glass or anything like that. We actually like Top of the Rock better, but you have to do it because it is the Empire State Building and is an icon.

1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Hi Rob- We are happy to hear you consider this to be a must-do in NYC. We agree that a trip to the city is not complete without seeing the stunning 360-degree views from one of the highest vantage points in NYC in our 102nd floor Observatory. Currently, our wait times are especially short because it's an off-season; during our peak seasons, however, we recommend that visitors visit 8-10 a.m. or after 10 p.m. to avoid longer waits. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

What's to say. It's exactly what you expect. I have been several times. I much prefer to take visiting guests as the sun is setting or at night. The city is very dramatic at night.

Thank Bryanmathison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Hi Bryan- We are happy to hear you found the nighttime views to be dramatic. We agree that it does feel like you're on top of the world when you're at our Observatories. Thank you for all of your visits, and we look forward to seeing you again. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing