We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empire State Building”

Empire State Building
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Viator VIP: Empire State Building Sunrise Experience
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Empire State Building Experience - Top Deck Express Pass...
Ranked #11 of 1,103 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Empire State Building”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

On our third attempt of visiting we finally got up there and it was worth it. The views were great over New York but it was very busy. We went on the sky ride as we were in a rush and wanted to avoid some of the queuing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendywoo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Wendy- We are glad you made it up to the Observatory and enjoyed the views. As one of the most popular attractions in NYC, we receive a lot of guests and do our best to keep everyone moving. For those with flexible schedules, we recommend coming during our off-peak times: 8-10 a.m., 2-4 p.m. and 9 p.m.-2 a.m. We would like to note that the Empire State Building and its Observatories are not in any way affiliated with the New York Skyride or its agents who approach visitors outside the building. New York Skyride is an independently owned and operated business. Thank you for your visit. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58,986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36,361
    14,932
    4,988
    1,640
    1,065
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just something you have to do”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I know, I know, it's totally touristy, but it's something you have to do. Don't pay attention to the pushy guys on the streets wearing official looking jackets--they are trying to upsell you with add-ons you don't need. The view is great, but plan to wait to get to the edges as it's incredibly crowded. And, for what you pay, make it worthwhile and spend some time up there!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi tdumpling- We are happy to hear you consider visiting the Empire State Building to be a must-do in NYC. It is important to note that the Empire State Building and its Observatories are in no way affiliated with the street sales agents outside on the sidewalks. We recommend that all visitors purchase tickets either on our website, which allows you to skip the ticket line when you arrive, or inside the building. Another good tip for your next visit is to come during one of our off-peak times when we tend to see fewer crowds: 8-10 a.m., 2-4 p.m. and 9 p.m.-2 a.m. Thank you for your visit. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Views!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Enjoyed our trip even though it seems like they are doing a lot of modifications right now. Seemed to take an eternity to get to the lifts so maybe not too great for those with mobility issues. Fantastic view at the top around the whole city but in my opinion, not as good as the the top of the Rock.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frasfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Frasfam- We are glad you enjoyed the views; we'd like to point out that they are from a vantage point that is 200 feet higher than Top of the Rock. We would like to note that we take accessibility very seriously and are able to accommodate guests with a variety of needs. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly rude staff spoil beautiful moment”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were in New York for 4 days so there was no way my wife and I would miss out on visiting the top of the Empire State. It's something you just have to do, right? So let me warn you. If you have violent tendencies I suggest you never visit because you just might get arrested if you react to how rude the staff is.

When we arrived, the staff outside (the official street ticket sellers), advise us that there are different tickets you can buy and that you can pay $10 more to go through another door and essentially jump the queue because "it can take as much as 60-90 minutes to get the elevator". OK, that might be relevant any other night but shouldn't someone let them know that the current wait when we were there was 0 minutes because once we got our tickets we got straight on (more on that later). He also tells us that there is a premiuim ticket that includes a boat ride to the Statue of Liberty. When we pointed out that it was currently closed he seemed confused and said that you could still visit it.

Inside was worse. It's a little bit confusing that is has so many staff and yet it's easy to not know where to go. That should be looked at more closely because maybe that isn't an issue when it's swarming with people and you can follow the others ahead of you. As it was, we were lucky to go at a quieter time, but funnily that made it harder to get to our destination.

And then we have a winner for worst experience; the security check. When we have paid $50 to essentially ride an elevator because let's be honest, that's what you're doing, I don't expect to be treated like an animal. There were maybe 8 or 9 staff manning the security gate but one particular gentleman really made me feel like I was a burden. As i'm taking my coat and wallet out he shouts "COAT" at me. Yes, I know. I was checking my pockets and he shouts at me "LISTEN TO ME CAREFULLY, I WON'T SAY THIS AGAIN . . . COAT . . . BELT . . .WALLET" I looked at him (mostly because I hoped he was joking) and he gives me a look like I've ruined his day. The funny thing was that the other staff member that was with him rolled his eyes and looked at me. Frankly he seemed embarassed that the other staff member was speaking that way. Does your company realise that this is going on? No paying customer should be treated like that.

Once we got to the top it was a beautiful experience. You get an amazing view of the city. This, however, isn't the only place you get to see the city from and unless something is done about the staff I would definitely dissuade any of my friends from visiting this attraction.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheMaineFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi TheMaineFran- We are sorry to hear that your visit was unpleasant. The Empire State Building and its Observatories are in no way affiliated with the street sales agents outside on the sidewalks. We encourage all visitors to purchase their tickets either on our website or inside the building. We would like to know more about your experience with our staff inside the building; please feel free to contact our Operations Manager Gregg Picon at GPicon@esbnyc.com with your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to visit. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Go to the top of an Icon”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Empire State building is an iconic building in one of the most pulsating cities in the world.
I have been both during the day and at night and I think you should experience both. I think the viewing from 102 floor is now limited but if not you should take that in too.
You will be blown away by the views as you take in the hundreds of tall buildings accross Manhattan, Central Park and beyond. Don't visit without making this trip.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DamianRoberts1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Damian- We are delighted by how much you enjoyed your visit and the views! We are pleased to report that the 102nd floor Observatory is open to the public during our regular daily hours of 8 a.m.-2 a.m. It is nice to hear that you consider the Empire State Building to be a must-do in NYC. Thank you for coming and for writing this review; we look forward to seeing you again! - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing