We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still teh best part of Manhatten”

Empire State Building
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Viator VIP: Empire State Building Sunrise Experience
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Empire State Building Experience - Top Deck Express Pass...
Ranked #10 of 1,115 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Beats Top of the Rock though I still recommend doing the Rock as well if you can. I have been up this building some 4 times in my life and it never fails to amaze me. Queues were hardly noticeable and we were up the top within 30 minutes. Ticket booth ladies very polite and helpful.

Only odd thing was the insistence of the 'wardens' to stop people standing on the telescope platforms. Isn't that what they are for.

Is it worth the extra to right up to the 102nd floor -NO.

Thank kosh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi kosh2- We are happy that you have enjoyed each of your visits so much. We appreciate the kind words about our staff and will be sure to pass them along. We would like to point out that the indoor 102nd floor Observatory offers guests the opportunity to experience the amazing 360-degree views from one of the highest points in Manhattan. Thank you for your visits, and we look forward to seeing you again. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61,878)
There are newer reviews for Empire State Building
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37,110 - 37,114 of 61,878 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

The views are fantastic - do not forget your camera!

The queues can be awful and can take hours to even get to the security check area. There are no signs to let you know how long will have to wait either and this is a little frustrating.

Whilst in the queue they take your photograph against a green screen, this is then digitally processed to show you on the outside of the Empire State Building - clever stuff!

1  Thank Oracle_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi Oracle_Al- We are glad you found the views to be fantastic. A good tip is to visit during our off-peak hours when the lines tend to be shorter: 8-10 a.m., 2-4 p.m. and 9 p.m.-2 a.m. If you'd like to know the wait time at any point during your visit, we recommend you ask one of our staff members. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I visited ESB at around 8.00pm on a Wednesday night. The attraction was still quite busy. We were encouraged to buy a viewfinder and audio tour, which was a waste of money, don't bother! Once we got to the top, which probably took about 30 minutes with security and queues, it was very busy. We found a spot to stand in, and the views were great, the city looks incredible all lit up at night, but you felt pushed and shoved, and not like you could spend ages in one place. We walked around the whole deck, seeing different views, but I only lasted a half hour before I had to go back inside. The top is very open, and it was incredibly windy, and I didn't do very well with that! It's ESB though, so I think you have to do it once at least :)

Thank clumsybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Hi clumsybee- We are glad you enjoyed the stunning nighttime views of NYC. As one of the most popular attractions in the city, we receive quite a few visitors, but we do have off-peak hours when we tend to see fewer crowds: 8-10 a.m., 2-4 p.m. and 9 p.m.-2 a.m. On your next visit, you might want to head to the indoor, climate-controlled 102nd floor Observatory, where you can see the 360-degree views from one of the highest vantage points in Manhattan. Thank you for your visit. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I went to both the Rockerfeller Centre and the ESB for two different perspectives (it's pricey to do both, but I wanted to do one in the day and one at night - I'd recommend this if you have time because the difference between day and night view is significant). You will never have a 'Sleepless in Seattle' moment with only a few people up there - you will always have PLENTY of company. The lines are long, exacerbated by the heavy security, but if you arrived via JFK, it will seem like nothing! :) But all in all, either the Rockerfeller or the Empire State Building is something you've got to do. The gift shop has some nice souvenirs too.

Thank redpolka14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hi redpolka14- We are glad you enjoyed the views. Visitors can save time by coming during our off-peak hours when we tend to see fewer crowds: 8-10 a.m., 2-4 p.m. and 9 p.m.-2 a.m. We would also like to point out that our unparalleled, panoramic views are from a vantage point that is 200 feet higher than Top of the Rock. Thank you for your visit. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went to the Empire State building in November late on a clear night to check out the view. From the entrance of this landmark you can tell you're walking into a true masterpiece. Every room leading up to the Observation Deck is adorned with art deco touches complete with gleaming, gorgeous floors. The view from the deck is unbelievable. I would recommend getting the audio tour so you can learn a little bit more about the city while taking in the view. The audio tour is included with your admission if you use the New York CityPass, a great value and a way to skip the long lines!

Thank JellybeanandBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hi JellybeanandBug- We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your experience; it's always nice when visitors love both the views and the building itself. A good tip for visitors with standard tickets is to visit during the following off-peak hours when our lines tend to be shorter: 8-10 a.m., 2-4 p.m. and 9 p.m.-2 a.m. Thank you for your visit and for writing this review. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing