We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be blown away ( literally)”

Empire State Building
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.00*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and...
Ranked #15 of 1,155 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Absolutely left me speechless, the views from the 102 nd floor at night are quite simply stunning. The staff were exceptionally friendly, even though it was very late at night. Succumbed to purchasing memorabilia from the store and the fun photo, but what the hell, why not. Merchandise was reasonably priced. Very very cold and blowing a gale, but was reliably informed that the entire structure would only ever move 1/4 of an inch, which is pretty secure, given the height of this building. Absolutely fantastic. DO NOT MISS THIS ONE

2  Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hi Antbee001- We are glad you had such a great experience! We appreciate the compliments about our staff and will be sure to pass them along. We'd love to see your photos on our Facebook page. Thank you for your visit and for writing this review. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"observation deck"
in 3,295 reviews
"express pass"
in 1,027 reviews
"new york"
in 7,850 reviews
"empire state"
in 2,963 reviews
"top of the rock"
in 2,933 reviews
"vip tickets"
in 497 reviews
"views are amazing"
in 629 reviews
"audio tour"
in 507 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 463 reviews
"statue of liberty"
in 574 reviews
"central park"
in 635 reviews
"floor"
in 9,630 reviews
"elevator"
in 4,034 reviews
"esb"
in 2,695 reviews
"nyc"
in 6,179 reviews
"security"
in 2,339 reviews
"observatory"
in 1,327 reviews
Filter

42,053 - 42,057 of 69,158 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Yes its touristy and yes all the females in your party will want to go up (Sleepless in Seattle) but its worth it, its organised, its really high up, and dont buy your tickets from people out the front on the street its no cheaper than inside. A true icon and worth the walk. Go to the Library on the way and walk right into the reading room ... another icon of the movies.

Thank Lnuge318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hi Lnuge318- We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and consider the building to be a true icon. It is important to note that the Empire State Building and its Observatories are in no way affiliated with the street sales agents on the sidewalks outside the building. We recommend that visitors purchase tickets either on our website, which allows you to skip the ticketing line when you arrive, or inside the building. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Recently visited New York and one of the attractions we saw was the empire state building. The views from the top are amazing. We purchased the tickets from a kirb side agent who was selling them in conjuntcion with the touring bus that goes around the city,he guaranteed we would be fast tracked once we were inside, It fast tracks all the ticket boxes,If you purchase the tickets inside it will take longer. Be prepared to wait even if you have purchased tickets on line.On a busy day it can take more than an hour to reach the top once you are in line. It is a must see if you are in New York it is a great experience but make sure it is a nice day when we were there it was so clear we had 360 degree views, it was spectacular !!!!!

2  Thank paulap p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Hi paulap- We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and the 360-degree views. We would like to point out that the Empire State Building Observatory is in no way affiliated with any of the street sales agents located on the sidewalks. Purchasing tickets on our website and printing them out in advance will save you some time, as you will be able to skip the ticket line when you arrive. Another way to maximize your time is to visit during our off-peak hours when the lines tend to be shorter; in the summer, these times are 8-10 a.m. and after 11 p.m. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

the view is nice, but not really impressive.. I guess people go here because of the movie that was made here..

1  Thank jenny_baritua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Hi jenny_baritua- We're sorry that you were not impressed by the views. We know visitors have a lot of options when it comes to NYC attractions, and we appreciate you taking the time to visit. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Empire state building is stuck in a time warp which is probably what you would expect. Be aware that if you arrive with pre purchased tickets, the person whose name is on the voucher has to bring ID. There is also a security check prior to going up!
We went up at 10pm and had a look at the view. We couldnt really tell what we were looking at, although we were offered an audio tour and didnt bother.

2  Thank Jackie_Hitchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Hi Jackie- We hope you enjoyed the views during your visit. In 2009 the building underwent a $550+ million renovation and modernization initiative which restored it to the original architects' Art Deco design intention, while introducing a contemporary visitor processing system and employing state-of-the-art technology. As part of the entry process, all guests must pass through the security checkpoint to ensure the safest experience possible for our visitors. Thank you for your visit. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing