We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and experience”

Empire State Building
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and Optional Skip the Line Tickets
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Viator VIP: Empire State Building Sunrise Experience
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Empire State Building Experience - Top Deck Express Pass...
Ranked #10 of 1,115 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Reviewed October 4, 2012

As most people will say the Empire State Building is a must see in New York (for at least the first visit). We visited around 11am and there was very little queueing to speak of which was a suprise. We only went to the 86th Floor, but was very lucky with the weather as it was clear and sunny. It was a little busy around the viewing area, but what a view! The height is a little un nerving for those like myself that don't really enjoy heights! I was able to get some of the best pictures of our break and will treasure them!

Thank RandJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hi RandJ14- We're glad you enjoyed your experience and had perfect weather for taking in the views. We would love to see your photos on our Facebook page. Thank you for your visit and your review. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61,886)
There are newer reviews for Empire State Building
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37,373 - 37,377 of 61,920 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is one you need to cross of the New York City list of things to do. Great views of the NYC skyline. Ensure you go on a clear day to take advantage of the panorama. This was my first visit and I stopped at the 86th floor. My ticket was purchased inside and the process was pretty efficient. Overall great view!

Thank LauraA357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hi LauraA357- We're delighted that you had a great experience during your visit and enjoyed the incredible views of the city. Thank you for your visit, and we hope to see you again the next time you're in New York City! - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you're visiting NYC, this is a must see thing. The cons are the process, riding elevators, being grouped into long lines to get through airport style security....but those are the days we live in.

First, they offer two options, one is to pay a premium and take a fast elevator straight to the highest observation deck with no waiting. The other is to pay the regular rate, still not cheap, to go to the lower deck. With a family of 4, we opted for the regular deck and am glad we did. You are so high in the sky, I can't imagine another 20 floors (or whatever it was) would have made a difference at that height.

Walking around the entire building allows you to view all NYC has to offer and more. The views are incredible.....don't miss it.

Thank LfeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hi Adam A- Thank you for your visit! We're glad you and your family had a great time seeing New York City from our 86th floor Observatory. We do want to point out that our Express Pass (the premium ticket you mention) allows visitors to bypass the ticket and elevator lines on the way to the 86th floor Observatory, not directly to the 102nd floor Observatory (note: everyone goes through the security line). Both regular admission and Express Pass ticketholders also have the option to purchase a separate ticket to the 102nd floor Observatory. Two great ways to save time on your next visit are to purchase your tickets in advance online, which will allow you to skip the ticket line when your arrive and to visit during one of our off-peak hours (8-10 a.m., 2-4 p.m. and 9 p.m.-2 a.m.) when the lines tend to be shorter. We appreciate your review, and we thank you and your family for making the Empire State Building a must-see destination on your NYC tour. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I wanted to spend the extra money to get express tickets and my friend, who lived in NY years ago, told me just to get the 25 dollar standard tickets and she would decide when we would go. She did a wonderful job and there was no line at all! I can't say it works that way every time but, Tuesday at night seems to be a good bet! The view is beyond amazing and completely worth the money. Don't forget (like I did) that it will be windy and you might want at least, another layer to stay long enough to take it all in. We even had an elevator to ourselves on the way down. A must-do in NY!

Thank mom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hi mom71- Kudos to your friend for selecting one of our off-peak hours (9 p.m.-2 a.m.) for your visit! Our lines tend to be shorter during that time and the following other times: 8-10 a.m. and 2-4 p.m. We're delighted that you enjoyed the amazing nighttime views, and we'd love to see your photos on our Facebook page. Thank you for your feedback on your visit. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

No visit to New York would be correct without visiting this iconic building.
This was our second visit to the ESB so we decided this time to visit the 102nd floor instead of just the 86th floor observation deck. It costs a few dollars more bit its worth it for the views.
Yes, the queuing is a pain, but its a small price to pay for seeing New York from almost a quarter of a mile high!

1  Thank apollosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Hi apollosm- We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your second visit and the views from the 102nd floor Observatory! It is quite amazing to see this city from that high up. Our lines tend to be shorter during our off-peak hours (8-10 a.m., 2-4 p.m. and 9 p.m.-2 a.m.), so our tip is to arrive at those times to avoid longer waits. Thank you for your visits and your review. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing