We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking....I hate heights but felt so safe!”

Empire State Building
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and...
More Info
$299.00*
and up
Viator VIP: NYC Night Helicopter Flight and Statue of Liberty Cruise
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Empire State Building Experience - Top Deck Express Pass...
Ranked #10 of 1,122 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.m. until 2 a.m. daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.m. until 9 p.m.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.m. until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I hate heights but felt so safe, this is a MUST DO while you are in NYC....get up there at sunset & it will leave you spellbound! The views are stunning & ever changing at that time of day....King Kong is fun too!

Thank ClareBear1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hi ClareBear1972- We're delighted you enjoyed the spellbinding sunset views! Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38,159 - 38,163 of 63,078 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

I agree with all the positive reviews about this attraction which is indeed fantastic. I'd just like to know why everyone has to have their photograph taken first? I did ask but was told everyone who goes up has to be photographed and everyone has to smile. This did not appear to be anything to do with security but rather a cheap, time-wasting, money-making execise which is very close to violating what some countries would see as a human right. Security apart, I think it's my choice whether I have my photograph taken and in most places in the world I have visited you have a choice whether to smile or not. Strange really.

Thank meddleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hi meddleman- We're sorry to hear you were frustrated by the souvenir photograph portion of your visit, especially since you found the rest of your experience to be fantastic. Many of our guests want a memento of their visit; however, guests are under no obligation to take a photo or purchase their photo. We appreciate your feedback on this part of the experience. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really enjoyed it so much and how it was built, and we were worry about the lift, but my gosh I have never known that it was so quick!! but it was worth it to pay for and the view outside, make sure wear trouser not skirt (like me - as it was very windy!) and the same time, thinking about King Hong (the famous film)

Thank amanda227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hi amanda227- We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience, including the elevator ride! Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

On a clear day, you can see forever. The view is breathtaking on all four sides. The weekends can be crowded but crowd control is smooth and wait time goes quickly. And you'll always have room to see the view once you're on top. There's nothing like it.

Thank KenfromFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hi KenfromFlorida- We're glad you enjoyed your experience! Thank you for your visit and your review. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Empire State building is truly one of New York city's iconic landmarks and a must for anyone visiting this fantastic city. We went quite early in the day (around 11 Am) and only had to queue for around 20 minutes. The views are amazing, you have 360 views of Manhattan, as well as New Jersey and Brooklyn. An absolutely amazing experience!

Thank Departed_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Hi Departed_Scot- We are delighted that you consider a visit to the Empire State Building a must for NYC visitors, and we're glad you enjoyed the panoramic views. If you have any great photos, we'd love to see them on our Facebook page. Thank you for coming. - Empire State Building

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing