We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ”
Review of Statue of Liberty

Statue of Liberty
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Twisted Statue Tour: Under the Skirt of Lady Liberty
Ranked #15 of 1,098 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Statue of Liberty Enlightening the World was a gift of friendship from the people of France to the people of the United States and is a universal symbol of freedom and democracy. The Statue of Liberty was dedicated on October 28, 1886, designated as a National Monument in 1924 and restored for her centennial on July 4, 1986.
Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great ”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

If you go New York you must visit here.
The views from above are stunning & the history behind it is amazing.
Be warned the security checks are really annoying as you have them when you get on the boat, then again when you get to site.
Down side: if you take a bag you have to buy a locker $2 each (rip off & should be included in the price), the fingerprint scanner only works if you hold your finger in the exact same position as when you had the initial scan (which is quite difficult to do twice after an hour or 2) we nearly didn't get our bags back & was getting frustrated with the unit.
Overall the trip is good but frustrated by security & lockers

Helpful?
3 Thank Flipperdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29,685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18,180
    7,974
    2,787
    508
    236
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
153 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This place is great. Statue itself is amazing. You get additional perks - boat ride, history of immigration and doll collection.
Visited in Aug-10
Duration of visit: 4-6 hrs

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandeepKale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lady Liberty”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Every September I'm in town for a large firefighter gathering and I always make it a point to visit Lady Liberty. The thought of my grandfather seeing her in all her glory as his ship came up the river from the Atlantic Ocean on his journey here from Greece just gives me goosebumps. It's a way for me to connect with him since he's gone. The boat ride is wonderful, and the time out on the island is just as great. Theres room to get away from the crowd to just soak it all in. The views of Manhattan are wonderful as well. This is an absolute must see for anyone visiting NYC.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fkoulianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting but needs some improvement”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We visited Statue of Liberty/Liberty Island on a very warm and sunny August day. The queue to the ferry was huge, and we waited a looong time until it was finally our turn to go aboard the boat. Whoa! The boarding bridge was VERY steep, and with no real fences on the side, just chains, it felt very unsafe getting on. The chairs on board felt as if they were about to cave in every time someone sat on them and the whole journey was very choppy. As we stepped onto Liberty Island, we were given an audio player each and shown how to control it. As you walk around the Statue of Liberty you listen to chapters - I got fed up after two chapters as all they said was touristy stuff about New York, and nothing about the actual Statue. But in the end, I listened to some of it, and it was pretty interesting once you have got through all the touristy blahdiblah. After each chapter you can choose to listen to a more in-depth story, or go through to the next chapter.
I am happy to have visited the Statue of Liberty, for its obvious history, but think the whole experience could have benefited from some simple improvements.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_Samm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must see for international travel- beware of aggressive water taxi sales people that sell more expensive tixsq”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Important tips.
Know the weather, it's always colder on the ferry ride. Dress warmer in the winter/ layers-the inion trick. Buy your tickets at the main kiosk, "Statue Cruises" are the only ferries allowed to dock if u buy from water taxi or other companies u will pay more and not step foot on the island.take the time to visit the museum on Ellis Iland.

We purchased our tickets same day from the kiosk in battery park. When we exited the subway there were these men that had official looking identification, aggressively telling us to stop and asking if we had tickets. I am a native New Yorker, I usually don't talk with vendors selling things in touristy areas because they usually market up the price. These men flashed identification and demanded to know if we had tickets. When we answered no they tried to sell us tickets for the company water taxi. They said the tickets to go up lady liberty was sold out and that for $30 per person we could go around the island in their boat and not wait on a long line to board the ship. I took a closer look at their identification and realized they work for a private company. I'm so glad that I said no thank you, walked into the park and followed the signs to the kiosk.

Official Ferry transportation to Liberty Island is provided by Statue Cruises and cost $18 for adults less for children and seniors. Crown access is an additional $3 and you have to go early in the day. All other vessels are prohibited from docking.

All visits to the Statue of Liberty require a ferry ticket. The National Park Service recommends purchasing tickets prior to the day of your visit using the options below.

Online: www.statuecruises.com
In Person: At the ferry departure points
By Telephone: 1-877-LADY-TIX & 1-201-604-2800

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M1lder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Statue of Liberty also viewed

 

Been to Statue of Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing