We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Statue of Liberty

Statue of Liberty
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Afternoon Statue of Liberty Tour with Pedestal Access
Ranked #16 of 1,079 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Statue of Liberty Enlightening the World was a gift of friendship from the people of France to the people of the United States and is a universal symbol of freedom and democracy. The Statue of Liberty was dedicated on October 28, 1886, designated as a National Monument in 1924 and restored for her centennial on July 4, 1986.
Mint Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Brings tears to your eyes. Also seeing Ellis Island right next door is a thrill, especially if you have grandparents, etc. who landed there. Very emotional for me, as my grandparents came there from Italy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28,349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,290
    7,679
    2,665
    490
    225
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Meppel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

During the helicopter Manhattan flight we passed this world famous statue. The lady herself is not so high as seen from the air. We decided to take the boat to Ellis Island and in the later afternoon to THE Statue.
It was a rainy day which was profitable a there were not many visitors. The inside of the statue is amazing. The rather small iron stairs are not OK for elderly people. The upper window in the crown is rather small, (see pic). The view is marvelous. We suddenly had to hurry as the last boat
back was at 17.30 hours. So watch your watch !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank a.s. v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a definate must whilst in NYC. I suggest that you go early in the mornings and avoid holiday weekends.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adriano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Crown Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Highlight of our trip to NYC. If you can find availability then add it to your trip to Liberty Island.

Unsure whether we just picked a good day and time to go but there were no queues on the day (Beginning August) except the wait to get on the next boat to arrive.

The climb up the very tight stairs to get into the crown was great fun (though I could see it being daunting for some) but the fact that the stairs are fitted in a helix fashion means you don’t have the problem of passing people heading in the opposite direction.

It’s certainly a lot smaller up in the crown than it looks from the bottom but so worthwhile making the effort to do it.

Fantastic experience and already want to go again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikes1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“DO NOT BOOK THROUGH statueoflibertytickets.com”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I was just looking forward to taking my 11-year-old to see the Statue of Liberty for the first time, and I mistakenly ordered tickets from the first company that came up on the search engine...statueoflibertytickets.com
They are fraudulent company that charges an extra $7 per ticket, but doesn't tell you that until the purchase is over. No refunds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
13 Thank WanderingAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Statue of Liberty also viewed

 

Been to Statue of Liberty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing