We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not best. Expensive.”

Momofuku Noodle Bar
Ranked #104 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: East Village
Bilbao, España
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good but not best. Expensive.”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were 3 people to have diner. They offer us to sit at the bar, since there was a 30 minute wait for a table. The bar was perfect, you could see how the cook all the food.
We order 2 Momofuku ramen and 1 Shrimp bun (2 pieces), nothing to drink = 48$ + tip.
I think it is quite expensive.
Ramen was good but not the best. It lacked some taste. I loved the half-cooked egg which exploded all over the soup.
The buns were ok.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    343
    120
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favourite in NY”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The food was great - we went twice! It is expensive but not overpriced. We recommend the buns and (if still on the menu) the Brussels sprouts - amazing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhea_L195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice food but overpriced”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Tried their ramen and pork bun. Food is very good but overpriced, especially when there are so many cheaper ramen places in NYC.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monteverde, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“not the same ramen noodles I remember from college....”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Some friends took me here for lunch, and I'll admit I was skeptical at first because I associate ramen noodles with cheap college dorm food. Thankfully, I was mistaken. I recommend the signature Momofuku ramen or the sausage buns. Both were terrific. The hard cider drink (sorry, I forget the name) was tasty, too. Seating was a bit tight, and certainly not somewhere you go if you want a quiet date, but all-in-all a great place for lunch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amatitlania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great treat to NYC culture”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We travelled from the UK for a week in NYC and wanted to head off the beaten track and headed to Rockwood Music Hall and after a handy pointer from some locals we headed here. Really buzzing place, really welcoming, great atmosphere and amazing food. Go, you will not be dissappointed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momofuku Noodle Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Momofuku Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing