We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little swiss restaurant”
Review of Swizz Restaurant - CLOSED

Swizz Restaurant
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 8th and 9th Avenue
Transit: The C & E Trains to 50th Street and the B, D & E to 7th Avenue.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great little swiss restaurant”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stopped in here prior to watching a 7 PM entertainment event. Charming little place. I had the mushroom dish with rosti and my spouse had the veal with rosti. The rosti was fabulous and the veal was tender. Nice located right off 8th avenue so it's erfect for your pre-theater swiss craving. We'll definately return the next time we visit the big apple.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Just_A_Bubba_1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice prix fixe dinner”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This restaurant serves fondue as well as a variety of other dishes. I dined here twice during my trip to New York, and both times the experience was good. The prix fixe menu offers a good value, and the food is savory. I will return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SingleTraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fond of Fondue”
Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

After having fondue for the first time in New York over 30 years go, I have always equated the city with the dish. Back then the place to go was La Fondue. Well it took me nearly 20 years to get back to the city and I had a craving for fondue. Unfortunately, La Fondue had closed down so my daughter and I had to find a new restaurant. Two choices came up in our quest: Artisnal and Swizz. We opted for Swizz because it was closer to our hotel. To keep a long story short we thought the food was excellent, and so was the service. The only things stopping me from giving it a five star rating are: 1. They did not have a meat fondue on the menu, and 2. I found the price a little steep for a basic cheese fondue. However, I would still go back so the price can't be "that steep". I would highly recommend leaving room for any of their desserts.

Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Ambience and Authentic Swiss Cuisine”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My spouse and I thoroughly enjoyed dinner at the Swizz Restaurant - he had the Veal Sausage with Onion Sauce and I had the Veal with Mushrooms Zurich Style. It was so authentic and tasted just like the meal I had in Zurich in January. We will go again with friends and plan to share the cheese fondue for starters. Looked delicious ....

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel33871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“OK but not special”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We had a meal early before theatre and the place was fairly quiet. Service was brisk and friendly. I hadn't had a fondue since they were became fashionable in the UK 20 or 30 years ago and, apart from the congeniality shared eating creates, I didn't feel I'd missed much. We had sides of mushroom, potato and apple to reduce dependency on bread, though we did get a 2nd helping of bread too without asking. It was OK and the quantities were reasonable but it gets a bit boring, and I felt the price was on the high side considering there isn't all that much skill etc involved.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bugsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swizz Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing