We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Possibly the most beautiful hotel in NYC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenwich Hotel
Ranked #108 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Possibly the most beautiful hotel in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I've stayed at The Greenwich on three different occasions. It is a high end boutique hotel, but it feels very comfortable. Some boutique hotels feel stuffy or uptight. Kudos to the interior designer of this very comfy hotel. The bar/lounge is overstuffed sofas and chairs, multiple beautiful rugs. The staff is attentive, but not high strung attentive. The rooms are beautiful. I could live in the bathroom. Gorgeous teal tile work and cream walls. It feels slightly Moroccan. Love it. Books on bookshelves in each room are different and varied. Overstuffed sofas in the rooms and books on Duchamp with complimentary snacks from the snack bar? Really nice details.

Room Tip: If you want a bathtub, request one. Otherwise you may have just showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    54
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
59
261
42
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

First time at this hotel, downtown location. Everything was perfection, Beautiful room, lovely furnishings, complimentary snacks, great staff, comfortable common rooms, garden restaurant was lovely and free wifi!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 nights. Loved the room, very romantic, art deco style furniture, books, bathroom... we felt at home from the first minute we walked in! Nice indoor pool, it is just a very special and diffrent place to stay at! Would go back there anytime!!! Not to forget the beautiful romantic restaurant on ground floor... felt like being in south of france...

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Excellent location, just off Times Square, almost in the corner. Absolute quiet, lovely rooms and comfortable beds, the bathroom roomy, and bathroom amenties excellent.Super clean. Nice staff. Whenever I can help you in what you want. To repeat!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have stayed at the Greenwich Hotel five or six times over the past few years and each time is a treat. My favorite room is the studio suite which overlooks the courtyard and is spacious with a beautiful carrera marble bathroom. I also liked the deluxe courtyard view room a lot. Each time I have stayed at the Greenwich Hotel, it felt like an oasis of calm for me after being out and about in the city. I always swim in the beautiful basement pool each day and relax afterward with a complimentary cup of tea. The spa services are expensive but they are excellent. I have had several facials and massages. The room service food is outstanding as is the food served in the bar and the courtyard. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Only on one of my visits (my third) did I find two members of the front dest staff somewhat condescending. Fortunately, it only happened once. Otherwise, the valet, bar, housekeeping, spa, and the rest of the front desk went out of their way all the time. They organized restaurants and biking and sightseeing for us wonderfully. I hope to return to the Greenwich Hotel this summer. It really is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
374 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We came to this hotel as we wanted a window to open for fresh air and asked for a quiet location. Well the courtyard is very noisy from the bar and music playing until late at night. We had to keep our patio door closed in order to get sleep. The rooms have hardwood floors that creaked. The furnishing are funky and really do not match. The bathroom was nice but really small with only one sink. The lines used on the beds are very nice and the towels are great. The staff is friendly and helpful. I judge hotels for cleanliness by how they keep the bathroom. The shower is very nice but there is dirt in the corners of the shower. Not good. Room service is 24 hours a day and they are fast in delivering. Food was good but the expresso is poor. The room service staff does not understand food at all. We asked for the cheese plate and I asked what type of cheese was on the plate. The response was blue cheese and a white cheese. I asked for a clarification and was told it was fontina. We it arrived it was goat cheese and I happen to dislike goat cheese. So the second night I asked to not have the goat cheese and guess what? I got cheese.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014


We have been fortunate enough to stay at the Greenwich Hotel on a number of occasions.  Our most recent stay was every bit as pleasurable as our first stay over two years ago. The hotel has the comfortable feel (and exceptional service) of a private members club but without being pretentious.  

Each hotel room has its own unique features which include luxurious linens and ample space.   But even more impressive, the common rooms and courtyard are oases from the New York's constant buzz.  We have also come to love the Tribeca neighbourhood which is a hamlet north of the financial district that has many parks, restaurants, shops and coffee houses.  

After having stayed at many other high-end New York hotels, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.  

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScrappyDoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#268 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#47 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#76 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#121 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#32 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Property: Greenwich Hotel
Address: 377 Greenwich St., New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#22 Spa Hotel in New York City
#58 Family Hotel in New York City
#85 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing