We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly good”
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greenwich Hotel
Ranked #96 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here in November and could not fault this hotel. Service not just good but genuine and thoughtful, and a super-comfortable room which was a real home away from home. The complimentary minibar was a great touch too. Thoughtful, measured design creates a really welcoming, understated environment, unusually for New York. a great pool and spa, and Locanda Verde, an excellent restaurant, make it complete. I can't see us staying anywhere else in New York in future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NushNushandBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (529)
There are newer reviews for Greenwich Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 529 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Continuing in the theme of my reviews, the Greenwich Street Hotel is the rare opportunity in New York to live like you were at home. An exquisitely designed, characterful, warm, stylish home, with nods to New York, Los Angeles, London, Telluride and Marrakech!

Being in TriBeCa instantly places you away from the familiar or stereotypical hubbub of New York and puts you closer to what life living in New York City would be like. Once through the doors, the city gives way to a graciousness not seen in too many other places in NYC. A lobby reminiscent of a grand colonial hotel in LA (think the Chateau without the mischievous vibes!), a library that is more English manor than NY hotel and a courtyard that, nestled among the adjacent buildings could only exist in NY, and feels like it has been there for centuries.

The scent in the elevators is fantastic and is a great way to transition to the rooms. Each uniquely appointed and off of the mountain-lodge feeling hallways, ones room feels truly like one's room. Antique pieces with curated books and decadent snack trays are counterpointed by the Moroccan-tiled bathrooms, all competing for where you should spend your time. But, if you get an interior room with a balcony, by the window overlooking the courtyard is where you'll want to stay.

Especially if you treat yourself to the Locanda Verde food. Whether in your room or by the fireplace in the Library, do yourself the favor of ordering the ricotta and the roast chicken. This combination will rank on your list of top 10 meals.

And for a real surprise, venture to the gym which is unusually spacious and inviting, despite being underground, but because of the adjacent pool and spa where, if the aesthetic journey hadn't taken you far enough yet, you'll experience a touch of Asia. The one discordant note I would have is the choice of lockers, oddly. Industrial lockers that make for clashing/squeaky noise really challenge the serenity following a treatment, swim or even workout. But, a minor point really.

I have stayed here multiple times until I secured an apartment in NYC. However, I am giving it up in order to make my way back home to the GSH next year.

Spending time here will be worth every penny and will make for a wonderful experience of NYC.

Room Tip: While the rooms on the street side tend to be bigger, the experience of opening the windows on to th...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We kinda expected the service to be good, but when my back went out on the first day, Jay at the desk was able to get me an acupuncture doctor, with excellent credentials, who came to the hotel. Saved the trip! When you can get service like that it's worth letting people know.

The drawing room is a special retreat and worth taking some time to enjoy.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Poeguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a wonderful three night weekend stay at the Greenwich and it really couldn't have been better. The room "Greenwich" was spacious and comfortable and very quiet despite being near the lift and street facing. The bathroom was large and spotless, with a fantastic bath and powerful shower.

The spa was beautiful and relaxing and the drawing room lovely with the Christmas tree. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and though attentive were not over bearing.

We had breakfast in the room everyday which was always hot and delicious.

All in all it was a fantastically relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarinda_Vine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I loved everything about the hotel. It's in a quiet area of Tribeca. Wonderful restaurant attached to the hotel (Locanda Verde) and, in my opinion, the best spa in all of NYC. The rooms are gorgeous. Amazing attention to detail, complimentary minibar... Even the hallways on each floor are luxurious. The gym is small but nice, with everything you would need. The pool is amazing, and run... don't walk... to the Shibui spa!!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talula77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My daughter and I spent five days in this lovely hotel over Thanksgiving. Everything about the hotel is perfect. Gracious and friendly staff, gorgeous rooms, a beautiful drawing room with burning logs and flickering candles and, the biggest treat of all, a beautiful and peaceful pool in the basement. Food from the restaurant is lovely - the garlic chicken was our favourite.

I take my daughters to New York for their sixteenth birthdays - I have two more to go and I will most definitely be returning to The Greenwich.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilyR06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I can't recommend the Greenwich Hotel enough as it is an oasis of understated luxury in the most bustling city in the world. Service has always been impeccable; the receptionists remember my name many months after visits and see to every request being fulfilled in the most gracious manner. I especially recommend this hotel for the most discerning of travelers who are tired of the commodification of luxury large scale hotels - which, in my opinion, often feel like the "high-end" section of shopping malls. The Greenwich Hotel, on the other hand, is the urban retreat that you retire to after braving those outside elements.

Guest rooms are well appointed and feature fantastic amenities. Complimentary mini bar (not including alcoholic beverages) and snacks.

Bathrooms are luxurious, beautifully designed and are stocked with amazing emollients and soaps.

The private Drawing Room is a fantastic place to relax and have a few drinks by the fireplace. Adjacent to the Drawing Room is the terrace, which further heightens the ambiance of the hotel.

Delicious food prepared by the kitchen at Locanda Verde is served throughout the day.

The Spa is restorative and beautifully designed.

I've stayed in many of the finest hotels in NYC, the Greenwich, in my opinion, is by far the best.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank MDO213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#149 of 468 in New York City
308 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#68 of 468 in New York City
174 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#42 of 468 in New York City
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#264 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#50 of 468 in New York City
831 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 468 in New York City
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Address: 377 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-2338
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $714 - $914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing