We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Exceptional experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greenwich Hotel
Ranked #114 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The best comparison for me is with the Milestone Hotel in London. The rooms are enormous for NYC, the shower spectacular, the spa is deeply relaxing, the hotel restaurant is currently the number one restaurant on Eater.com, the amenities are amazing. I suspect it is the finest hotel experience in NYC currently, but don't have enough comparisons---just can't imagine the larger hotels can compete with the service for an "ordinary" room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EWWarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    52
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
55
250
42
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Visiting the Greenwich is like staying with your well heeled and somewhat eccentric uncle. The decor is understated, elegant and supremely comfortable. The rooms are done up in such a way that they feel timeless and modern at the same time. Showers have the best water pressure in the free world. That along with the beautiful moroccan tiles and the ample Red Flower products make these the best bathrooms in the city. The Duxiana bed is a like a slice of heaven. Soft and supportive at the same time. Ask for a room facing the courtyard if you crave womb like quiet. The complimentary mini bars with their boutique brands of pretzels, chocolates and Mexican sodas is a very nice touch. Take advantage of the sitting room for breakfast. In the fall and winter you can sit by the wood fireplace in a comfy chair and contemplate life in the city while dining on specialities like lemon ricotta pancakes or zucchini frittata.

The neighborhood is quiet and cosmopolitan with loads of restaurants nearby. A few blocks north is the wonderful shopping in Soho and one block west lands you on the Hudson River park which is great for a morning walk or evening run.

The spa is petite but perfectly done in asian motif and the most wonderful hidden pool with sparkling water and hot tea at your beck and call.

Room Tip: Courtyard for super solitude and street side for a city view. You really can't go wrong on eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miamiboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

...from start to finish. Discrete but excellent service, great location in an interesting part of downtown Manhatten, very comfortable bed in a tastefully decorated room and beautiful public areas.

Recommended restaurants include Blue Smoke, Red Cat and best of all Little Owl (needs booking weill in advance). Gramercy Tavern remains a favourite but very expensive. Avoid Boulevard like the plague unless you want the stuffiest dining experience on the planet.

Visit Top of the Rock rather than the Empire State Building for the best uncrowded views in the city. You can book your time slot in advance and avoid the queues. Also recommend The Highline for a lovely walk. The World Trade Center site is still a building site but the memorial is genuinely moving and the first of the skyscrapers is complete and looks the part.

Would definitely return to the Greenwich.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BryceCurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have been to NYC for vacation on 6 occasions. In recent years the intense crowds have been enough for me to retire from visiting the city. Although quite pricey, we decided to try the Greenwich Hotel based on the top notch reviews. We were not disappointed. I saw a quote on the hotel website that states after you stay there you will want to live there. I would have to agree. The property is mellow and the rooms are lovely. Our bed was so comfy and the couch in the room was too. Loved the shower and bath products and all of the included snacks in the room. Staying here was worth the price. Note: Review your folio when you check out. We had lounge charges on our bill that were not ours. I called and the charges were promptly removed.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side. While VERY quiet considering you're in NYC, I would want a cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jmp1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our second stay at the Greenwich Hotel was just as amazing as our first.
We arrived early because we had a reservation at Le Bernardin for lunch and were worried about making it in time. Although we knew our room probably wasn't ready, we hoped for a somewhat early check in time. It did not happen, but we did get into the room in just enough time to change clothes and catch a cab to our destination. In fact, my only complaint of this trip: we booked a superior king room, which was supposedly an upgrade from our room in April. However, I swear to you, the room seemed smaller. It had a small couch and desk as opposed to a chair, but square footage seemed...well, smaller. The bathroom seemed smaller. Regardless, it did not affect our enjoyment. The drawing room is still the most cozy, relaxing space to return to after a day of exploring. We tried to book spa treatments but since it was so last minute, were unable to reserve massage appointments for two at the same time. Bummer, since that spa is amazing. Our days and nights were filled with site seeing and fabulous meals, including our breakfasts in the drawing room each morning. Our afternoons and late evenings were spent in the drawing room or the gorgeous courtyard sipping wine and relaxing. It was only our second stay here, but we felt like it was our luxurious home. You literally breathe a sigh of relief when you return from a days adventure. And the service is still top notch. We loved Kai, whose demeanor is so calming and confident and capable. I loved James in the drawing room because he would listen to my husband's banter as if it were the most exciting conversation he ever had (they see endless strangers daily, but my husband always thinks they actually remember him, lol. Thank god they are kind, patient, and professional enough to humor him). And of course, we loved seeing Travis again. He has such a magnetic yet humble personality. Overall, this hotel is amazing. It's understated luxury yet it feels like home. My husband would love to branch out and try a new hotel, but I will keep twisting his arm back to this place. It's that good. Kudos to all. Thank you for another fantastic experience!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Loved this hotel right up until MY room filled up with cigarette smoke from the room across the hall. So strong it woke me up from my sleep. Had to open my window and listen to trucks/traffic all night long.

Room Tip: Get a room on upper floors for more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
7 Thank Sandyfeet92651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenwich, General Manager at Greenwich Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I woukd like to acknowledge and thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay and I apologize most profusley for the challenge you experienced which was caused by the smoking habit of your neigbor..
Our policy has always been not to allow smoking within the building, in both the rooms and the public areas and, on the whole, this is well respected. Sadly, as in life, there are those who have little respect for such policies and we all suffer because of them.
If you would like to be in touch directly with me I will be happy to ensure that we offer you a gesture of goodwill upon your return to compensate for this unpleasant experience.
With kind regards
Philip Truelove - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our first experience staying at the Greenwich Hotel. We usually stay farther uptown but we wanted to explore Tribeca and this was a great location to do it from. The room was small but comfortable. Great bed, basket of goodies, free minibar and shower with incredible water pressure . The downstairs lobby and guest only spaces were too dark, even during the day for my taste. When I walked into the guest only lounge I was expecting to see Uncle Fester or Lurch. The service was hit or miss. My husband is in school, finishing his MBA and at 4 am went to the desk to add if there was a lighted place for him to take an online exam. The front desk personnel told him he would have to book another room for 500 dollars. Really? There wasn't an empty office, a desk with a light? We have been all over, to the Mandarin Oriental to small hotels like Solage Calistoga or the Hotel Giraffe. There was never a problem allowing him to sit in a vacant space at 4am. If we went down in the morning and I asked for coffee to go I was asked "Room Number?" Really, for a 2 dollar cup of coffee? Other personnel would wave us off if we asked how much. Not uniform service. Bottom line, nice hotel in a wonderful location. Kick up the service and keep it consistent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#6 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#146 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth - a Thompson Hotel
Smyth - a Thompson Hotel
#80 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#118 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,740 reviews
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#39 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#18 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Property: Greenwich Hotel
Address: 377 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-2338
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#58 Family Hotel in New York City
#88 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing