We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious”
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greenwich Hotel
Ranked #85 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glorious”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon, on our way out of the country. Absolute perfection - from the fabulous staff to the serene pool to the delightful basket of goodies, handwritten note and warm cookies awaiting us in our room. (Ryan Reynolds in the elevator didn't hurt, either.) We plan to come back here every year... And we've already recommended it to friends who were equally pleased.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 257CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    54
    26
    7
    8
See reviews for
63
266
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Volcano Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We enjoyed the location of this hotel, with a very city feeling, yet fresh, sophisticated and upscale. The personel and service at the front desk during check in was very helpful in making dinner reservations and getting tickets for a Broadway show at the last minute on our last night on the East Coast. We liked our room with a bath, large and spacious, and especially the afternoon light in the bedroom. All the extra amenities were a surprise. The bar area was relaxed and comfortable, and a little dark for us. The Italian Restaurant had a stylish design and the food was delicious. The dining area with its bar seemed very popular. We asked for a table away from the bar, which was quieter and we enjoyed looking out the window at the city view. The staff at the entrance were very welcoming and helpful. Enjoyed the boutique size and more intimate feel of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VRRVolcano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just stayed at Greenwich hotel for a 3 night girls weekend. We arrived early on a Thursday thinking we wouldn't be able to check in but luckily our rooms were ready. The smell of the hotel was heavenly and the 1st thought that came to mind was homey and cozy. The lounge and courtyard were beautiful. I liked our room but it was much smaller than what I expected and the bathroom was crazy small. I booked what I thought was a larger room (superior) but was disappointed. The bed was AMAZING! The towels on the other hand scratchy and stiff. My major complaint actually happened before I even arrived. I was corresponding with front desk regarding restaurant reservations and some room questions. Twice I never even received a response. When I did get to the hotel I had to ask for a breakdown of my reservations. When I arrived at one restaurant I was told that I did not have a reservation. Then I found out that my reservation for the next night was not made either. This was after I was told I was all set. That was the major thorn in my side. The food was delicious as were the drinks. The lounge helped create a very relaxed experience. Would I stay at Greenwich again? Absolutely; but I would be hesitant to trust front desk with important details.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josiewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Greenwich Hotel for a 10 night break in NYC early September. This was our first visit to NYC (&USA) so we really wanted an extra special hotel to stay for a 10 night break. The reviews on TripAdvisor really made our minds up to book this hotel as they were so excellent.
The room booked online was a Greenwich Room which we were very pleased with. Immaculate furnishings, nice cookies awaiting on arrival, fabulous bathroom & generally all was great. The room overlooked Greenwich Street & after 2 nights there we were struggling with the lack of sleep due to the dustbin/recycling wagon doing its nightly visit at 3.00am. There was also roadworks situated on the road adjacent to the hotel which commenced at 6.00am.
We asked the reception if they would kindly consider changing our room to a quieter part of the hotel. We were given another room overlooking the Courtyard. This was a much smaller room & was quite dingy & dark due to no daylight getting into the room. No mention of a downgraded room had been made so we quickly returned back to reception to ask if it would be possible to have the same standard of room. The lady on reception was adamant that the new room given to us was indeed still a Greenwich Room. We checked the room descriptions on the Greenwich Hotel website & in no way was this a Greenwich Room, without a doubt it was a Courtyard Room. The dimensions, the furnishings etc, everything was the same as the Courtyard Room described on their website. The reception begged to differ & why on earth would be pay XXXX extra dollars for a room downgrade??? We asked to be returned to our previous room as they had no other rooms available for us. The reception asked if there was anything else they could do for us (?!) & kindly offered to give us earplugs!! (P.S. The earplugs never showed up) – was she taking the mick or what???
The roadworks continued & we are glad to be back home to get some sleep!

Overall the hotel was of a very high standard (after all J-Lo was staying there the same time – I wonder if they offered her earplugs??). The bar/lounge area is very comfortable (but very dark too – bring a torch), the bar service was pretty poor with no questions asked as to whether you would like another drink or if everything was ok. £40 for 2 glasses of wine too.
The biggest let down for us was the reception attitude & general lack of good customer service. After the hassle with the room change we really wished we could have booked somewhere else. The receptionists all seemed more bothered about posing behind the counter than looking after their guests. It felt like if you weren’t an official VIP then they really couldn’t be bothered with you. Such a shame as the location & the hotel in general was great. The spa area was nice but could have done without the life guard sitting in the corner reading his magazine throughout. Really not necessary!

I really must mentioned the guys on the door too – they were really nice & friendly & always ready to give you a smile & a hand with the door along with the luggage & taxi requirements – maybe the receptionist should take some tips from them!

The housekeeping staff were excellent too. I had asked for an extra pillow at reception & it never arrived (what a surprise!). I left a note in the room for the housekeeper to provide the pillow & it was there ready for me when I returned to the room in the evening. Great!

Room Tip: Please ensure you book the room you really want. In my opinion the Greenwich Room was excellent - i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Louie1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenwich, General Manager at Greenwich Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel but regret that you found the overnight street activity too noisy. Our garbage is collected between 7am and 8am and the city workers do not start their day before 7am but, yes, there are road works and we are sorry that you were disturbed by noise.

We are, however, surprised by your insinuation that you were misled by the alternative room offered to you. Every room at The Greenwich is individual in some way - all by its furnishings and some in their layout. Because of this, it is completely understandable if a guest prefers one room over another.

In their efforts to help, the Front Desk staff offered you a room on the Courtyard side which, being away from the street, is certainly quieter. However, I can say absolutely that you were shown a room within the same room type and at the same rate.

Sadly we feel this misunderstanding on your part had a negative impact on your feelings toward the Front Desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The small and intimate size of this beautifully appointed hotel feels like home. After staying in many hotels in NYC I can call this one home. The rooms are extremely comfortable, a shower with pressure that fills great, wonderful soap amenities, delicious complimentary snacks and treats in the room and stocked mini bar of non-alcoholic beverages, turndown service is well done. The hotel has one if the best spas in Japanese theme in and the pool is a rare find in the City. The breakfast room and courtyard are very cozy and comfortable. This is a place that feels like home and worth every moment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0telJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you are looking for a discrete hotel that provides top notch service and is in a great location this is the place. The staff is simply fantastic from the doorman to the front desk to the concierge and the cleaning staff. I visit NYC 3 times a year and from know on this is the place I am staying. The rooms was great, clean, quite and spacious. Well done Mr. De Niro and well worth every penny.

Room Tip: Court Yard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GYMRAT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was hesitant to commit to spending $500+ per night on a hotel. But I felt like a splurge, and decided that after reading so many positive things about this property, this would be my splurge.

It did not let me down. While the property doesn't necessarily create "oohs and ahhs" or "wow factor" from it's design, it doesn't try to. What it instead accomplishes is creating a mood that is both welcoming and accessible, but also exceedingly private and elite (with the snobbery and pretense).

The staff has a "light touch", which is to say always polite and friendly, but unobtrusive. They're there if you need or want something, and absolutely not there if you wish to be left alone. They're authentic, not cloying, and were able to resolve all needs quickly. It's a small thing, but they managed to pronounce my difficult last name correctly 100% of the time, something that simply never happens at lesser hotels.

The little extras are what really get you. The turn down service includes a bottle of spring water and slippers by the side of the bed, the remote control moved to your side of the bed, with the channel guide right underneath.

The free based of 15 goodies includes the most delicious pretzels and chocolate chip cookies, and free mini bar items of every variety.

The rooms are rustic modern; old-timey brass lamps that were not ordered out of a catalog to be purchased in the thousands like at any chain hotel. The bathroom doesn't overwhelm with modern gizmos; it's like a rustic farmhouse bathroom - but everything works!

The swimming pool and area and gym are second to none, and the largest I've ever seen in Manhattan. The spa, though very expensive, had a great authentic Japanese feel to it.

The restaurant was exceptional, and though service could be a bit more lethargic than ideal, it was adequate. The private drawing room and courtyard - both quite large an adorned with country house and private club type of accoutrement - were a definite positive to the vibe of the place.

And the location, TriBeCa, as my first time staying here after many trips to NYC, is now one of my favorite areas of the city. Charming and classic, close to everything, and with a great old neighborhood feel.

Worth the splurge, without question.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertGrunnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#192 of 467 in New York City
296 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#178 of 467 in New York City
129 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#32 of 467 in New York City
692 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#71 of 467 in New York City
452 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#255 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Property: Greenwich Hotel
Address: 377 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-2338
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#57 Family Hotel in New York City
#68 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing