We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“catering issues”
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Greenwich Hotel
Ranked #172 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I love this area of Tribeca as i used to live nearby in the 1990's. This quirky hotel has a suitably downtown vibe; all the rooms are different with the decor carefully designed to appear to have been thrown together with inherited furniture etc and the employees all seem to be 20 something chaps , all effortlessly neat,stylish and meaning well ( but not all that experienced in the tricky business of running a great hotel.) There is a great , dimly lit pool with a japanese feel in the spa. My main problem with this slightly expensive wondrousness is that it uses the next door restuarant , locanda verde for its catering and it doesnt open till 8 am which is useless for business travellers. The staff offer to get coffee/ food before then but they either forget whos responsibility it was to get it from the restaurant or the restaurant forgets etc. also, the lounge tables arent suitable for eating drippy poached eggs from ( they are knee height) and it all seems a bit of a bother for the staff. Overall then, a fine place to explore downtown from as long as you are not an early riser and as long as you realize that there is no catering that is owned by the hotel onsite.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenwich, General Manager at Greenwich Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments however we are sorry to read that your experience with breakfast was not to your liking.
We do have 24 hour service in both the Guest Rooms and in the Drawing Room, and the full breakfast menu is available in the Drawing Room from 7am and, as you said, the restaurant opens at 8am.
Certainly we agree that the Drawing Room is furnished as a Drawing Room, and does not have restaurant tables, but that is its charm and it is such a popular spot for our guests to take breakfast and dinner simply because of the roaring fire, and its cozy and welcoming setup up.
With kind regards
Philip Truelove
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 536 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012

It is really a fine hotel! It is a unique experience. Even a New Yorker could be impressed by the celebrity sightings but I am more impressed with the discretion of the hotel. Service was great, room was great. Can't wait to go back. Only note that the spa has a cancelation policy - so don't book it unless you are serious!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GracieStonewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

What a nice hotel. Great attention has been put into the decorating of this hotel and to the overall feel. We felt as though we were in Europe. The room was very nice and was very clean. I sat on the bed covers and walked around the room barefoot, something I am often reluctant to do in a hotel. I loved the shower. Our room faced the courtyard and was very quiet. Breakfast was wonderful. We ate in the courtyard. The staff was very courteous. I was definitely return to the Greenwich Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenPNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I cannot fault this property. The hotel is an exquisite luxury boutique and my personal preferred style- elegant but a mix of rustic European with stunning hardwood floors/beamed ceilings, colorful furnishings. Tribeca is also one of the best areas of NYC- cobblestone streets, great restaurants and shopping downtown. Laconda Verde is also one of my favorite restaurants in the city. If you can afford to stay here, do it! You will have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clutchbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We recently stayed here with friends for a special birthday celebration and had an amazing time. Usually we stay in midtown and this was our fist time staying in Tribeca but we will definitely be back. Friendly service, good food, great ambience, and while costly, we felt like it was excellent value. We are very much looking forward to going back this fall!

Room Tip: Courtyard room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

And eat all my meals at Locanda Verde. Staff is extremely helpful (boxed up and sent a package for me) and warm. The room was beautiful, with lots of books and light and an excellent bed/sheets and pillows. The room is better than it looks on the website. Good bathroom and toiletries. And lots of candy on all surfaces. Not sure about that one. Good location not far from shopping or wandering around in Tribeca, Soho, Greenwich Village. Subway stop not far. The spa is beautiful. In addition to my favorite restaurant there are good cocktails, and there is a private "drawing room" and patio in which to relax or order your meals from Locanda Verde. Very quiet. No hallway noise, and even if there was, there is a second door to shut off the hallway. The windows shut out all street noise. This is my new hotel standard.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsmaxernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I cannot 'rave' about this hotel enough! The moment you walk through the door you feel comfortable. The staff are extremely professional and are happy to help with anything. We ended up extending our stay and even though the hotel was booked out initially they did their best to find us a room. The hotel describes itself as feeling more like someone's 'home' and that is exactly how it feels! There is such a warmth about it. The courtyard is nothing short of utterly beautiful. The drawing room is completely relaxing- especially with the log fire. They have used the space in the rooms well - I initially thought the rooms would be small but they are surprisingly large! The restaurant Locanda Verde is very good and has a great buzz. I will be returning to NY and this is the place I will go to.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank La Coron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#15 of 470 in New York City
372 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#6 of 470 in New York City
796 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#64 of 470 in New York City
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#113 of 470 in New York City
655 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#176 of 470 in New York City
1,445 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#83 of 470 in New York City
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Address: 377 Greenwich St, New York City, NY 10013-2338
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#28 Spa Hotel in New York City
#38 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $718 - $915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing