We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect 'little' slice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #283 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect 'little' slice”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Looking for a great, QUIET, place to rest your weary feet after running around Manahattan?! This is for you. Quiet, clean, pleasant, and tucked away in the middle of everything. My only hestitancy in telling you about it, is that it could be hard for me to book the next time I go back. Just don't use the concierge, they're outsourced though, so not a true depiction of the quality employees at the Wyndham.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hohagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, Manager at Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Thank you for your posting and feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the Wyndham Hotel Chelsea and hope to see you again during your next stay. Please feel free to contact me at 212-243-0800 or by email at cyee@wyndhamcom so that we may provide you with the best room and best rate available for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    818
    355
    100
    62
See reviews for
382
568
179
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Here
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We got to the hotel early before check-in but they said it was no problem. The front desk lady, Whitney, checked us in with no problems. The lobby was small but I liked that because it felt more personal rather than just another guest. Our room was just like all the pictures I've seen on this site. Yes, it's small but we only planned to sleep there so it was perfect for us. The bathroom was clean and fresh. The bed was also clean (no bed bugs!). We were on the backside of the hotel so it was nice and quiet at night. No street noise. The resturant next door was so yummie and they were beyond nice!
A few hours after we checked in, Whitney called our room to make sure that the room was meeting our expectations and to see if we needed anything at all. I've NEVER had the front desk call to make sure I was happy with my room before. I was so plesantly suprised.
In the lobby they have a bunch of great useful information about the area including maps and good places to eat.
The hotel is 5 minutes from the subway which we loved since that's how we got around the most. I liked not being directly in the middle of "tourist land" because at the end of the day, I just wanted to relax after being a tourist myself.
I will be staying here again during my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GottheShirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, Manager at Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
It is so great to hear about the stay of your group at our hotel. We are so happy to be a part of your trip to New York City. We really appreciate your time to write a review of our hotel, to provide detailed information about our hotel. We hope you have the opportunity to come stay with us again. I have shared your positive comments with Winnie as she was delighted to be at your service.

Please let us know anything we can do to be of assistance to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed for two nights in June for a quick weekend get-a-way. The hotel is certainly no-frills, with a VERY small lobby and slow-ish elevators. Rooms are typical for NYC - very small, compact and efficient. The hotel staff was pleasant at all times. The location was excellent - only a few blocks from the 1 Train and walking distance to several fun neighborhoods. Only complaint is room temperature - we could not get the temperature to stabilize at a comfortable level. It was either WAY too cold or WAY too hot - and the the AC was on constantly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an affordable, clean, pleasant place to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBM1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton Y, General Manager at Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for the very detailed reviewed of our hotel and your experience in Chelsea. We appreciate you staying with us. I will certainly share your kind words with the team.

I hope that you will stay with us the next time you visit Manhattan.

Carlton Yee
General Manager
wyndhamnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed at the Wyndham at the end of May, for one week. My mantra for a city hotel has always been firstly, clean and secondly central. The Wyndham complied with both. I had read some awful reviews on TA and was unsure whether to cancel and look for another deal. I am very glad I didn't.

The room is small, but what do you expect in New York or any large city. It was spotlessly clean and so was the bed and mattress! always have a good look under the covers!). The location was ideal, just a little away from the noise of Mid Town but a few moments walk and you were on either 5th, Broadway or Avenue of the Americas! Madison Park and the Flat Iron Building are also just moments away. The subway stations are very close to Madison Park. There is an Italian Restaurant attached to the hotel, where the food is very good. Plenty of local deli's for snacks and drinks, and numerous restaurants up and down the Avenues to choose from, and not far to walk after a day's sightseeing.

In all the hotel and staff were a good spring board for the first leg of our three week tour of eastern USA and Niagara. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a decent quality hotel without breaking the bank in Manhattan. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suecstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton Y, General Manager at Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of the Wyndham Garden Chelsea. Our service team strives for excellence as guest satisfaction is our priority. I am glad to hear you found our amenities and location to your liking. I do look forward to meeting you during your next stay with us.

Carlton Yee
General Manager
wyndhamnyc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed one night, the staff was great. The foyer was really small, but decorated very nice.The rooms were smaller than I thought, but the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is very small, there is just a shower only. In walking distance of lots of places.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, Manager at Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Thank you for the very kind words about our hotel and staff. I will certainly celebrate your comments with my entire team. All of our rooms are controlled via a thermostat located on the wall. I do apologize that you had difficulty with your unit. We do have staff available 24/7 to assist with any challenges our guests may incur.

Thanks again for sharing your experience with us and others looking for a place to stay in the greatest city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I stayed at the Wyndham Chelsea for the 2nd time and had a great stay! The room was ready before check-in and was clean and perfect! The front desk girl named Winnie was the biggest help in anything we all needed. We had a bachelorette party and we had a million questions. I can not wait to come back to NYC and stay here yet again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovestoparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, Manager at Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
I am so happy you enjoyed your trip to NYC! I am glad our staff was helpful and always smiling, especially Winnie. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The room was smaller then most hotel suites but it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I slept like a baby. The service was impecable, staff was friendly and knowledgable of the area restaurants..

My friend and I had the best time staying there and visiting the restaurants in the neighborhood..

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy3368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, Manager at Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your thoughts with the staff, they will be happy to hear all your comments. Thank you for sharing your experience with both TripAdvisor and I.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri
Hotel Henri
#405 of 467 in New York City
12 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#160 of 467 in New York City
1,871 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#349 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#358 of 467 in New York City
750 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
807 reviews
Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#315 of 467 in New York City
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel

Property: Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 37 W 24th St, New York City, NY 10010-3208 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Manhattan Chelsea West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#133 Family Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. Wyndham Garden Chelsea is located in Chelsea/Flatiron District. Chelsea is filled with chic art galleries, bars & clubs, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to world-famous Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, Empire State Building, Union Square and NYU. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. The surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, Midtown and Gramercy.All rooms are smoke-free and include; MP3 & iPod connections, flat panel televisions, cordless phones, Wolfgang Puck in-room coffee and Herman Miler ergonomic desk chairs. Additionally, the hotel offers complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing