We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Displeased stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #283 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Displeased stay”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My stay in Wyndham was a very displeased experience due to:
Very tight room space
Poor hospitality
Unfriendly staff
No mini bar at the room
Very very bad air conditioning system (very hot or very cold, system problem not operation or maintenance - I'm a mechanical engineer)
I didn't get any assistance with my luggage upon arrival

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Shereen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, General Manager at Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with our heating and cooling unit. We do offer a full bar featured at Tre Stelle, our Italian restaurant. Our rooms are about 220 square feet which is similar to most hotels in New York City with our rating. We also offer room upgrades which are larger. We do appreciate your comments and I would like to discuss your experience further with you. At your convenience, I can be reached at 212-243-0800. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    818
    355
    100
    62
See reviews for
382
568
179
619
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Usa, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have stayed in many a third world hotel and this one reminded me of some of them. Indeed, this hotel makes many of those hotels look good. The room i received was falling apart. It smelled. The room was so tiny there was not even a chair or desk. The carpet was stained in so many places one would lose count. The walls were paper thin. I travel a lot to NYC and chose this one because of its location. Never again.

Room Tip: Avoid the place. Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, General Manager at Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We appreciate your feedback from your stay at the Wyndham Garden Chelsea West. While we never want to hear that someone's stay is less than perfect, we always appreciate the opportunity to hear from our guests on what we can do to improve our services. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered. We appreciate your insight and I would like to discuss your experience further with you. At your convenience, I can be reached at 212-243-0800. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The first room I was given (for what I booked) was a king sized bed, large room with a desk and large bathroom. Awesome! I loved it and the view was great. Then the heater started acting up and got really loud in the evening, so I called room service and they immediately came and moved me to another room with apologies. Not their fault at all, but I absolutely appreciated the speed! My second room was unfortunately smaller with no desk, which they apologized for because they were all booked up. I'll definitely stay here again - though it's worth noting that I didn't pay for the room, my company chose it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, General Manager at Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at the Wyndham Garden Chelsea Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding your heating unit in your initial room. Thank you for reporting the problem. Rest assured, the unit has been serviced by our maintenance team. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay with us. Please contact us directly on your next trip to New York City so we may offer you the best room and rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our fourth stay here. We love the location because we are big walkers and are crazy about easy access to so many lively neighbourhoods in the city. Friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyndham-Chelsea, General Manager at Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your continued support. We are glad our location and staff contribute to your return visits. We look forward to hosting your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
Hotel Henri
Hotel Henri
#405 of 467 in New York City
12 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#160 of 467 in New York City
1,872 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#349 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flatiron District
Heritage Hotel New York City
Heritage Hotel New York City
#358 of 467 in New York City
750 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
805 reviews
Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#315 of 467 in New York City
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel

Property: Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 37 W 24th St, New York City, NY 10010-3208 (Formerly Wyndham Garden Manhattan Chelsea West)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Flatiron District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in New York City
#133 Family Hotel in New York City
#161 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. Wyndham Garden Chelsea is located in Chelsea/Flatiron District. Chelsea is filled with chic art galleries, bars & clubs, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to world-famous Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, Empire State Building, Union Square and NYU. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. The surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, Midtown and Gramercy.All rooms are smoke-free and include; MP3 & iPod connections, flat panel televisions, cordless phones, Wolfgang Puck in-room coffee and Herman Miler ergonomic desk chairs. Additionally, the hotel offers complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Henri, A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing