We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it...amazing location...comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #236 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 26, 2010

--Value for money
--All the happening places close by
--Subway in 2 mins walk
--great staff

Loved it....recommend to all the people who want to stay in midtown....budget yet very comfortable hotel

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aru1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDManger, General Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2010

Thank you for taking the time and sharing how your stay was with us. We hope you will choose us again for a future stay in New York.

Thank you,
NWB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,269 - 1,275 of 1,890 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2010

I wasn't expecting much when I booked this room. It was close to the convention center which was the purpose of my trip. I generally don't like midtown, but the price was unbelievable for N.Y. and it had a small kitchen - an asset when staying for a week. I was very pleasantly surprised at the hotel and really enjoyed myself here. The bed was comfortable, although I think a bit small if my husband had come too, I don't know if they do 2 double beds or a king (they said this was a queen size but it didn't seem that big) This hotel is on what I call "economy hotel row" on 39th Street in N.Y. It is sandwiched between a Holiday inn Express and a Hampton Inn. It is near 9th ave, the Hell's Kitchen area which I do like better than Times Square. You are close to everything. The place was immaculate, with a decent work out room, free laundry facilities and a very pleasant attitude. I was up on the 27th floor and had a great view of the Empire State Building on one side and the Hudson on the other. The kitchen facility was decent-fridge, microwave, stove. I don't thing you really need a dishwasher. One review complained about on toilet seat cover and I thought that was odd until I was there. It would be nice to have a cover because the bathroom is small and I 1) worried about stuff falling in and 2) would like to have had a place to sit to trim nails and such in the bathroom. It is not a luxury hotel but for the price it is a good value and I would consider staying here again. I was here a week and felt like I had my own little single in N.Y. It was well set up with a comfortable chair for watching T.V. and a desk chair. I was solo on this trip and it may have been a bit cramped with 2, but I've been in smaller rooms in N.Y. at a higher price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDManger, General Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2010

Id like to say thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear to you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently working on changing our seat cover in our bathrooms and hopefully if you stay with us again in the future you wil be able to see our improvement. We appreciate your time and thank you for staying with us.

Thank you,
NWB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Coming from a cruise and travelling for another week in the USA, we dropped by to asked if we could store our luggage for 1 week. After reflection, and stating that they normally did not do this, they accepted to do so. So, we could travel much lighter. Directly they proposed us a taxi to the airport with a private van. As we wanted something to drink, they indicated where to go and when we came back, the car was there already with our name on it. Great service already. After one week, we directly received our suitcase and they appologized that our room was not ready yet. One of our suitcases was lost and they called several time to the airline company (we did not even asked) to inform about the status. Bethy at the front desk was more than helpfull and when we where to check out and our suitcase was not yet there, we could stay even longer in our room. Great service and great location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marja-Alain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDManger, General Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to share with us how your stay was. We hope you enjoyed your cruise in addition to what New York City has to offer. Please consider us again for a future stay in New York.

Thank you,
NWB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The hotel only offers rooms with one queen bed. The property has 2 rollaways, but good luck getting one. By NYC standards, the rooms are huge. The elevators were quick, the staff was friendly and responsive. The views from the south side were great.

The close proximity to the Lincoln tunnel made the entry and exit of NYC easy. It is easy walking distance to the subway, and walkable to Times Square.

It is a new property so it was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeOhGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDManger, General Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2010

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. All or our rooms are Studio Queen Suites with one bed. We are very sorry we did not have a rollaway bed available for you during your stay. We only have a few rooms that could accomodate rollaway beds so we do not have many onsite. We thank you for choosing us for your stay in NYC and we hope you will consider us for your next stay.


NWB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this hotel in June. Being our first trip to NYC we were looking for something close to everything, economical, and most of all safe. This hotel was definitely all of the above. As other people mentioned there is no daily housekeeping, they only come around once a week. But really who needs housekeeping every day anyway? And on our 4th day when we did want some clean towels, all we had to do was ask the front desk and they were delivered right to our room. We expected small rooms being in NYC, and this room was smaller than most we have been in before in other cities, but it was still large enough, and an excellent sized bathroom. Staff was friendly and knowledgable - they gave us directions to the sights, and even helped me figure out the Subway system. The hotel is on West 39th, which looks a little sketchy from the outside, but we never felt unsafe at any time - even 1:00 in the morning. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in NYC.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Poacher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDManger, General Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2010

We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with us. We always look for feedback from our valued guests. We thank you again and hope you will choose our hotel for a future stay in New York City.


NWB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

To Start this is an extended stay hotel, no daily house keeping. If you want your room cleaned daily look elsewhere.
We loved the place!! The hotel is located 1 block from Port Authority Bus Station. Great for all public transport links. You can get bus to Woodbury Common Outlet from Port Authority using Grayline Tours. Its an easy 10 min stroll to Times Square and 15 min stroll to Macys, Empire State Building, MSG etc and 20 min to Rockafella Centre. Super super location thats really quiet at nights. Did not get disturbed once. Previous reviews say that hotel is in seedy location, there are 1 or 2 sex shops around port authority and a few people I wouldn't like to make conversation with but never ever felt one bit uncomfortable. Its no worse than any other town or city I have been and besides NYC is covered with NYPD.
More about the hotel. The hotel is one of three hotels in a row. There is the Holiday Inn Express, Candlewood Suite, and Hampton inn. They are newly built so are still crisp and fresh. Each floor has 6 rooms/suites and to best of my knowledge there are 32 stories. Each room has queen bed, very comfy by the way, 1 bedside locker, 32" Flat Sceen TV with DVD player, built in closet/wardrobe c/w iron & iron board and loads of hangers and your standard bathroom with shower in bath. They leave you plenty of fluffy towels. The mini kitchen is great, small hob, microwave, full fridge freezer, toaster, coffee maker etc. Top class. You can buy food supplies in lobby downstairs on honor system. We went to Duane Reade in Port Authority for milk, bread, beer etc Very handy and better value!
The room has a/c unit which is a must in HOT NYC but is quite noisy but I didn't mind too much. In lobby they have DVD selection for guest use which is great. Also they have computer units c/w printers in lobby, handy for the boarding cards etc. The hotel also offers free wifi for hotel guests which was fast and reliable. We did not have too much interaction with hotel staff but any encounters we did have were dealt with swiftly and promptly. Weel done. You can leave your rubbish and towels ouside your door and housekeeping will collect them. You can request clean towels from reception. I liked the fact that no one entered our room. We done alot of shopping while in NYC and it was reassuring that no one was organising our things!!!
The hotel has no concierge desk but the bellman will bring you next door where you can sort all your NYC trips out. The hotel will store your bags if you have a late flight and the elevators were fine. One or two waits but not bothersome.

Finally. Candlewood Suites is a great formula for hotels going forward. We enjoyed our stay to no end and would have no hesitation is staying again or recommending it to our friends and family. Thanks again and fair play. JK, Kilkenny, Ireland

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bigjoekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDManger, General Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2010

Id like to start off by saying thank you for taking the time to share such an amazing description of how your experience was here at our location. We appreciate any feedback we receieve from our guests. I hope you, your friends, and family consider us again for a future stay in NYC.

Thank you,
NWB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I can't say enough how great this hotel is. Very clean, friendly staff, brand new rooms. The kitchen in the room has everything you need - and more! The room rates are very reasonable for NYC - especially Midtown. It is so hard to find hotel rooms in NYC that have a kitchen - all for less than $200! Give this place a try..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trvlguy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FDManger, General Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2010

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope that you will choose us again for your next stay in NYC.

NWB
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#294 of 470 in New York City
2,198 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#157 of 470 in New York City
5,799 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#309 of 470 in New York City
4,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#199 of 470 in New York City
3,464 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#106 of 470 in New York City
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $130 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing