We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly placed and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #213 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfectly placed and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for 4 nights with friends. The location is perfect for downtown New York only being 10 minute stroll to Times Square, Empire State Building and just 15 minutes from other great sites. The rooms are adequate with a good sizes Queen bed, bathroom and kitchenette. Staff were very helpful. Great Irish pub just 30 seconds away with a good menu and great beer. I would not hesitate recommending this accommodation.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank globalman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Happy Holidays,

Thank you for wonderful recommendations. We are so pleased to hear we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to your return and don’t forget to contact us in advance when you make your next booking with us. Safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    756
    170
    34
    42
See reviews for
259
877
154
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

My friend bad I have recently returned from our stay in New York, from sydney australia. After reading some positive reviews, we thought we would give the Candlewood a go- boy was that a mistake!!! I had sent several emails in advance to confirm my booking with no reply. Eventually I received an automatic response stating our booking was locked in. After 24hrs of travel, we arrive at 11pm only to find that staff had given away our booking!!!!! The comicon festival was on in nyc so all accommodation in the state was sold out! We had to make our own arrangements to get to New Jersey for the night! The staff did not offer any empathy or support for their mistake. We managed to book the remainder of our stay at candlewood after the 1 night mishap, but again we were inconvenienced as we were charged TWICE for our stay.
Overall, very poor customer service and the manager did very little the rectify the issue- spread the word and DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cassie_Pew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. On behalf of myself and the hotel we are sincerely sorry that we did not meet your expectations while you were here. We would like an opportunity to speak with you about your stay and the different circumstances that may have occurred throughout. Again, we thank you and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Excellent base as it is very near to a lot of the sites. We arrived early and was able to store our suitcases until the rooms available and this was available at the end of our stay as we had a late flight. The rooms were clean and functional with microwave fridge etc bathroom a good size with a good shower. The bed was comfortable and the room also had a comfy recliner chair and table and two chairs. Staff were helpful and arranged for taxi to pick us up in time to get to airport

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janieleicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Greetings from the Big Apple! Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

As a party of 6 occupying 3 rooms on the 22nd floor we enjoyed this hotel as a base to explore New York. The staff were helpful and had good knowledge of the area. The rooms were functional and clean, our room had a good view over the city. Facilities are limited, there is no bar or a place to eat but these can be found very close by. This appeared to be a very busy hotel that reflects what I considered to be value for money. If you are on a limited budget both pleasure or business give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJMESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hello and thank you for your wonderful feedback and personal recommendation to our traveler community. We love to hear all of our guest experiences and how much they enjoyed thier trip into the city. We look forward to your next visit. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I am big on service and unfortunately the Candlewood Suites did not live up to my expectations.

I had requested early check-in so we came to check-in at 12 P.M. We were told by the first person we spoke with there was not one room available for us to get ready in for a meeting we had at 3, although we had asked prior to be early check-in (no one had explained when I requested that this was not a guarantee, I didn't find that out until we were on site). So there was not one room. Not one. In a hotel with hundreds of rooms where people check-out before 12. Somehow I find this implausible. Not to mention he didn't even LOOK in the computer or try to be accommodating and see if he could find one. He just told us to sit and wait. So we waited until 1:30 at a local pub, came back and spoke to a different woman at the desk who seemed to be much more accommodating and willing to do her job. She asked them to find a room in the hotel and SURPRISE! Magically there was one. Maybe that hour made a difference or maybe the first guy was just lazy. I am betting on the latter.

The hotel itself was pretty standard. It was clean, hallways were kind of narrow and a bit dark, walls were thin and I could hear the people next to me but it wasn't very costly for NYC so you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Greetings from NYC,

First and foremost I would like to thank you for taking the opportunity to share your most recent stay with us. I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you might have encountered. We do try our best to accommodate our guest request as much as possible. In addition we always strive to make each of our guest stay as flawless and memorable as possible. I am sorry we could not accommodate you when you first arrived at noon, but a I am happy that the second time you stopped by we immediately got you checked in. Thank you again for your time and I look forward to your return. Please do not hesitate in contacting us in advance on your next booking. We wish you a wonderful and healthy holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The best that can be said for this Hotel is Location - Location - Location!
We've stayed here four times.
The hotel is located within walking distance of the Port Authority Bus Terminal which is a major subway hub to all locations of the City. The Candlewood is also within walking distance of 9th Ave. which has a multitude of GOOD restaurants of all price ranges, and a number of small grocery stores which offer a variety of food choices for those desiring to "dine in" for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Candlewood is also within easy walking distance of many Broadway Theatres. We look forward to returning to this gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Greetings from your NYC Family,

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty, I am honored to hear that after your 4th trip to our city you continue to choose our location as your accommodation of choice. We strive to make each of our guest experience unforgettable. Thank you for your time and we wish you a wonderful holiday with your loved ones. We hope to see you soon in your second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have recently returned from a four night holiday,a very nice place to stay with very pleasant staff,good size clean rooms with kitchenette and good shower.I had e mailed asking for a room with a view which we got from the 23rd floor,a nice touch was the anniversary card left in our room.I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and if i return to NYC would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for choosing us as your accommodation of choice while visiting the big apple. I am delighted to hear your trip to our city was memorable and our staff really went above and beyond to make your stay special. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to your return. Happy and Healthy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,458 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#235 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#255 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,889 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,842 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Property: Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the new, all suites Candlewood Suites Hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center,Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing