We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #230 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and my birthday. The hotel is in a fabulous location - close but not on top of Times Square and only a block away from a subway station. The room was clean and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. Loved the little goodie bag on arrival! Our room had an amazing view downtown with the Empire State Building to the left and the Hudson River to the right. While there are no restaurant or bar facilities in the hotel, there is a great Irish bar just down the road perfect for breakfast or a nightcap on the way home. Would (and will) recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Hello and thank you for your kind words. First and foremost I would like to congratulate on your 25th year anniversary and for choosing us to celebrate such a special occasion. We are so happy your truly enjoyed your stay and we were able to exceed your expectations. Please feel free to contact us on your next trip to our property. Thank you for your time and we look forward to your next arrival. Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

564 - 570 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here Monday to Friday we found it lovely hotel very clean had shop where could get free coffee all time free wifi and even gym in there beds were very comfy and close to Times Square as didn't have to get many taxis or buses :-) only annoying thing was my mum in law booked twins rooms as went with her friend and didn't do them so had to share double bed but I would definitely stay in this hotel again when I go back :-)

Room Tip: Don't clean room everyday, so if want clean towels ring and ask reception
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vmarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Greetings from the big apple,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your most recent stay. We are always pleased to hear our guest feedback and we certainly look forward to your return. Thank you once more for your time and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

went with my friend and son and daughter in law had 2 rooms next door to one another very clean and staff are very friendly room were clean and spacious had a kitchenette, fridge, microwave, and stove top in .the only thing was me and my friend had to share a bed as didn't have any rooms with two beds in .location was great walking distance to time square, subway bars, we are playing to go back in a couple of years and I would book here a gain

Room Tip: ask for one with a view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Greetings from the Candlewood Suites in Times Square family,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience with us. The Candlewood Suites in Times square has only one room type, a standard studio suite with one queen bed designed for a couple or 2 adults. I am glad that your experience in our hotel was memorable. Please feel free to contact us in advance on your next booking, we hope to see you soon in NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Great central location close to time square
Great room and bed
Probably should have at least 2nd daily fresh towels offered but can get them at request.
Staff are great, free wifi, laundry and free popcorn in yr microwave.
Had only one problem and that was our door lock system broke so that had to be replaced and that was fixed in 30 minutes but that can happen any where so fast and prompt, would be coming back

Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Greetings, thank you for your great feedback. We look forward to you coming back to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in October. The location was excellent, and Times Square was within an easy walking distance (as was the subway and Macy's). All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms very spacious and well equipped. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K6015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello from Times Square NYC! Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you found our staff helpful and friendly. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is unbeatable for its convenient location to everything you'll want to see and do in NYC. I checked in upon arrival and was served by the lovely Monica, a senior supervisor at the front desk. This one's a keeper people! Friendly, efficient and greeted me by name every time she saw me afterwards. Great service Monica! The rooms are a good size and well furnished. The kitchenette and microwave is a great feature. The full sized refrigerator is not as good an idea unless you can fill it because it's constantly running the motor to try to keep the temperature down which is quite noisy during the night. Good comfortable beds and a decent bathroom. Sound insulation between the rooms could be better. There is a laundry room and a fairly basic gym but laundry facilities near the hotel are pretty cheap and quick.
We did check out for a couple of days to visit friends and found that the Candlewood would not store our luggage overnight. This was inconvenient as we had to carry the bags to another place to have them stored and then carry them back when we came back to the hotel. The reason we were given for why they wouldn't store bags was "security", which seems just faintly ridiculous because they'll store the bags during the day. I would have thought any concerns about security would ban the storing of luggage altogether (which I'm not advocating) so I'm hoping management reviews this policy for other travellers.
The restaurants of Hell's Kitchen are at one end of the street, the Port Authority is nearby, the theatre district and Broadway are 5 minutes away as is Madison Square Garden. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RomaPHILE33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello from the Big Apple! Thank you for your feedback about your stay and your kind words about our one and only Monica! We’re glad that you found our hotel comfortable and we’ll definitely look forward to your future reservations. We apologize for any confusion about the luggage storage as we do not offer overnight storage. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very comfortable room in a central location near Times Square and transportation hubs. The kitchenette is a great bonus too. Everything is really clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. Our high room at the front of the building was quiet and had a nice view of the Empire State Building one way, and the river the other. Will recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to New York City.

Room Tip: Request a room up high and on the front of the building
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelot03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Hello there! Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear that you will recommend us. Safe Travels and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#292 of 468 in New York City
2,150 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#141 of 468 in New York City
5,677 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#248 of 468 in New York City
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#295 of 468 in New York City
4,118 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#74 of 468 in New York City
5,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $185 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing