We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location For Seeing Broadway Shows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #213 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
MountnBiker
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Location For Seeing Broadway Shows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I had no idea of what to expect prior to staying here. We chose it for its location to do a long weekend theater tour.

It is ideally located for walking to the theater district. That is assuming that you are accustomed to walking for more than fifteen minutes at a time. And be aware that New Yorkers are very fast walkers. Even the fat people walk fast.

There are many restaurants to choose from in the immediate area. Get a good meal, a glass or two of wine, and walk to your theater. Quite enjoyable.

The hotel itself is quite acceptable. The price was very competitive. Good value for the money. The rooms are clean, no bedbugs (a very real concern these days), street noise was negligible, polite and helpful staff. If you drive they have a valet parking service. It's not cheap, but you don't have to hassle with finding your own parking in NYC.

The breakfast was forgettable. We went to local bakeries (many very good ones nearby) to get pastries and Starbucks for coffee. That worked fine for us.

Room Tip: Hard to say. Our room faced the Holiday Inn across a small alleyway, so there was no view. But it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountnBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello from the Candlewood Family! Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad to hear that you found us pleasantly surprised. We appreciate that you took the time to let our fellow travelers know about the nearby locations and about our rooms. We hope that you consider us in the future and please don’t hesitate to call us before your arrival! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    756
    170
    34
    42
See reviews for
259
877
154
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days and for 4 days one of the 2 elevators didn't work. This lead to long waits - which was disappointing. The air conditioning unit was pretty much feast or famine! It worked, but there was turning it on or off. No settings on the fan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Greetings from the Candlewood Family,
First and foremost I would like to thank you for taking the opportunity to share your feedback with us. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you might have encountered throughout your stay. We tried our best possible to minimize any negative impact on our overall guest stay and please contact us if you wish to speak to discuss your stay further. Thanks again for your time and we look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here July 2013 for 4 nights. Having had a bad journey with flight delays we were delighted when the hotel receptionist told us we would be staying on the 31st floor with a view of the Empire States Building. The room was very clean and equipped with a range of kitchen equipment. The hotel also has a DVD library which guests can borrow for 2 days. The location is right beside Times Square however we found it rather quiet which was an added bonus. The location is perfect as it is also by Port Authority bus terminal which takes you to the outlet shops and airport bus. I would definitely stay here again when I return to NYC.

Room Tip: High Floor with a view of Empire States Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good afternoon,
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your feedback with us. We truly enjoy reading our guest comments as it helps others when choosing the right accommodations while traveling. We are glad we were able to exceed your expectations and we look forward to your next adventure. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked two rooms for five nights at this location. Having stayed in the area previously, we knew that the location was good - close to the Subway, Port Authority Bus Station & the buzz of Times Square. There are plenty of shops, food outlets and pharmacies etc. within walking distance of the Candlewood.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, with a large refrigerator, stovetop, microwave oven & dishwasher. It's compact with respect to floor space & bathroom size, but this is central NYC. We've stayed in other big cities internationally & the Candlewood stacks up well in terms of convenience and value for money.

If you're looking for a hotel-style stay, with room service and turn-down services, this is not the location for you. We prefer the set-up at these suites: weekly room service and fresh linens / towels upon request.

The staff were all friendly and attentive - it's a busy place, but everyone we saw had a smile and greeting for us. There are fresh cookies in the afternoons. There are facilities to book transport & tours, plus print out boarding passes for free in the lobby. The only downside of the Candlewood was that one of their elevators was out of order, which meant some long waits and crowded elevator rides. Having said all of this, we intend to stay at the Candlewood next time we are in NYC.

Room Tip: No views on lower floors. Two of the six rooms on our floor were next to the elevators. You may need...
See more room tips
Green Features: Linen & fresh towels available upon demand. Weekly room service only.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSQuMnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to read we were able to meet your expectations. Our location is ideal and close to many of NYC’s attractions. Our staff is always willing to help our guests and treat each other as family. We welcome you back to your home away from home and please contact us in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

A quiet hotel and perfect for our few days in the city - nice kitchen, comfortable bed and chairs and good to be able to print our flight boarding passes when we sadly had to leave. The staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Greetings from your home away from home,
Thank you for your kind words. We are also sad you have departed us as well! We hope to see you soon in thecity that never sleeps and don’t forget to contact us in advance when you make your next booking. Happy and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had read about rooms to be compact, and were prepared for it. The room was big enough for a comfortable stay for 7 nights but did take some effort in keeping it tidy. The upside of the compactness was that it made our stay cozier and our breakfast at the study table very memorable.

We liked absolutely everything else about the place - the team was very helpful, location is great (though close to Times square but not on it!!), the room was clean and the kitchenette was adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Greetings from NYC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We love hearing our guest comments on Trip Advisor. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay as well. Please consider us home on your next visit to the big apple and give us a ring on your next booking. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
195 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

To celebrate my birthday, my wife and I went to New York for museumgoing and dinner. Rather than paying the typical stratospheric rates for four- and five-star hotels in Manhattan, we opted to try this Candlewood Suites property. The property is pretty compact, but the room was clean and spacious enough for a one-night stay and the location on the West Side of Manhattan made for easy walking to the places we wanted to see. If you want to celebrate a major wedding anniversary, splurge on one of those four- or five-star places; if you want good value in a good location, the Candlewood is a strong competitor to other chain hotels in the area catering to budget-conscious travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for high-floor rooms to see more of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Greetings from NYC,

Thank you for leaving us your feedback on Tripadvisor and might I add Happy Belated B-day on behalf of our Team! We are happy you enjoyed your short trip to the city. Don’t forget to contact us in advance on your next adventure we will be sure to have a special surprise prepared for your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,459 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#236 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#254 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,891 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,840 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Property: Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the new, all suites Candlewood Suites Hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center,Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing