We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #228 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed one night at the Candlewood Suites before a cruise. It was perfectly located only a short walk from the Port Authority bus terminal so we were able to catch the airport bus from Newark airport rather than a taxi. Very short walk to Times Square. Room was very comfortable but on the small side. Best feature was that it was very quiet. This is a huge plus in a city like NYC so very worth considering.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ChrisP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Greetings from the Big Apple! Thank you for your feedback and we hope that we can host your accommodations in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

682 - 688 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

The front desk staff is amazing ... especially Monica (she can handle any issues with grace, and seems to remember anyone who has been there before!). The rooms are the right size for 1 or 2 people, have a nice little kitchen, and I like the desk. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. This stay, they ran out of regular coffee for the coffee makers in the room ... so that was a bummer (although, there is always hot coffee in the main lobby ... so the day was saved!).

Room Tip: Stay up high, to get away from the street noise
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Greetings from NYC! Thank you for your great feedback. We will definitely let Monica know about your great comments. We apologize for the coffee and hope that you can consider us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Candlewood Suites in New York for five days. The hotel is just a few minutes away from the subway and Port Authority Bus station. The room was very clean and the mini kitchen was a plus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We have stayed at many high end places in The City and this was by far the "best bang for your buck" and will be staying here again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballamama33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Hello from the Candlewood Team! Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at Candlewood Suites for four nights when visiting New York. The hotel is only a 2/3 minute walk from the heart of Times Square. The room was spotless with very comfortable furnishings. The staff were always extremely helpful and polite. We stayed on the 30th floor so we had a really good view over NYC. It's the perfect location to stay as you are literally round the corner from Port Authority bus station and as i said 2 minutes from the center of Times Square. Would 100% stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottmarlow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Greetings! Thank you for leaving us your review about your experience. We are happy to here you found us to be in a perfect location! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Candlewood Suites in New York for five days over Memorial Weekend at the end of May 2013. We arrived at around 6pm feeling pretty exhausted after a total of 20 hour flight time to get from Sydney to New York, and we were very cheerily greeted by the front desk attendant. She explained the facilities and gave me a spin of their lucky wheel; where I won a free coffee/tea - since I don't drink coffee/tea she let me spin again and the same thing came up again! (Funny!) So, she let me spin again and I won 250 Priority Club points. The attendant was very sweet, helpful and informative without sounding rehearsed.
We had a room on the 21st floor just near the lift and it was much better than I expected. Yes the rooms are compact, but this is New York. I've stayed at the W in NY which was twice the price and the room was smaller than this one. This room also included a kitchen which, whilst compact, had everything you need. The bathroom was also compact but unless you were planning on taking a long, luxurious bath had everything you need. The room was also very quiet, we could barely hear street noise with the exception of emergency service vehicles and even then it was not enough to wake you up at night.
The unique thing about this hotel is that they don't offer daily maid service. This didn't bother us at all, we made our own bed each day (by "made" I mean just throwing the blanket over so it looks neat) and hung our towels up to dry. If you need fresh linen or towels you could just call the front desk but we didn't need to do that during our stay. There were basic ammenities such as soap and shampoo available in the bathroom and there was washing up liquid in the kitchen.
The room included free wi-fi and a decent sized TV, there were DVDs available for guests to borrow from the front desk if you wanted to watch a DVD (we didn't).
The hotel is about 5-10 minutes walk from the nearest subway and has lots of restaurants and eateries nearby.
I only have 2 pieces of constructive feedback for the hotel...
1. As the rubbish bins in the room are not emptied each day, there is a trash can in the hallway on each floor for guests to use to dispose of their rubbish - however this trash can was frequently full and not emptied often enough so there was often rubbish falling out from the bin (mostly papers and shopping bags, so it wasn't gross). The hotel may want to keep an eye on these bins more frequently and empty as needed.
2. During our stay I had twisted my ankle and needed some ice, there wasn't enough ice in the freezer so we called the front desk who said they would send some up. That call was made on Day 2 of our stay and by the time we checked out the ice still hadn't arrived.
What we loved loved loved about this hotel was that it had laundry facilities - both washers and dryers that were complimentary for the guests to use. We arranged our own washing powder and were able to get our clothes washed and dried with no problem at all - this is great when you're on a short trip and have packed light!
We're going to be in New York again later this year and will most certainly be considering this hotel for our next stay.

Room Tip: The high floors seem a bit quieter so ask for one of those!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickietickietoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Greetings from the Big Apple! Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We appreciate that you took the time to leave a thorough review about your experience. We are delighted to hear that you will consider us for your next stay. I can assure you that we are looking into your constructive feedback and will remedy immediately. We hope that you can contact us when you are ready to make any future reservations to ensure a flawless stay. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Candlewood on our 5 night trip to NYC.
The hotel was 5mins from the subway so after a long day travelling wasn't hard to find. The room was very clean and was great for what we needed. The staff were all very helpful and friendly too.
Would definitely recommend this for people that want to be close to Times Square as it is only 5-10 minute walk away

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahbarcas15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Hello from the Candlewood family! Thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear that your room very clean. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend, where we had three suites booked for a family stay. My overall impression was good, and have to admit to being pleasantly surprised by the strong levels of staffing provided. I have re-read the literature, and it isn’t as clear as it might be that this building is run as an hotel in almost every respect apart from dining facilities, and room cleaning. For this reason I was pleasantly surprised, and have to comment that all of the staff I engaged with were utterly helpful. The “Candlewood Cupboard” was a bit superfluous to our needs, and the prices were on the very high side – it may be questionable as to whether a vending machine would be a better addition, with somewhat lower prices. As the weekend was cool we didn’t miss the noise made by the a.c. on the first night, and I had to throw a towel over the LCD of the microwave, but they were only minor issues. The location is excellent, with easy reach to the main Subway lines, and numerous big attractions on foot. I would be happy to recommend the Candlewood Suites to others.

Room Tip: With only 6 rooms/floor there don't appear to be advantageous positions, and being next door to...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berkshiremick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Greetings from NYC,

Thank you for your recommendations on Tripadvisor. I hope your review helps others chose their accommodation in such a great city. I am happy our staff was accommodating and was able to assist your entire family with any inquiries. We look forward to your next adventure with your family and remember to contact us in advance. Happy and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#296 of 468 in New York City
2,153 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#142 of 468 in New York City
5,678 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#250 of 468 in New York City
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#298 of 468 in New York City
4,124 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#73 of 468 in New York City
5,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $178 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing