We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value. Great beds. Excellent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #213 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Good value. Great beds. Excellent staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Decided to register because this hotel deserves the complement. A request for a top floor room and a late check out were both granted on very short notice. The room was immaculately clean, the bed extremely comfortable and the kitchenette is a useful addition. The hotel was busy during my two day stay but the staff were attentive and friendly throughout. With this price, location and level of service, I'm definitely staying here the next time I'm in NYC.

Room Tip: Go for a front facing room as high up as you can to get the best view of the empire state building a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Greetings from NYC,

Thank you for shring your wonderful experience with our traveler community. I am so happy to hear our staff had such a positive impact and made your stay a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Until then we wish you safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    756
    170
    34
    42
See reviews for
259
877
154
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The thing with NYC hotels is that you can’t have it all – there are always trade-offs. The “perfect” room will cost you an arm and a leg, but the affordable rooms don’t offer the niceties – or even the necessities in some cases. I have found Candlewood to be a perfect compromise. Clean, comfortable rooms with extra features at a good rate. And the best staff in the industry!

My biggest complaints would be the lack of lighting and size of room. Had they made the utility areas in the center of the building just a foot or so narrower they could have fit another nightstand with a lamp beside the bed. That would pretty much eliminate all my whining.

Unlike so many others, I prefer rooms without daily cleaning. Not only better for the environment and cheaper rates, but I don’t have to worry about vacating the room at any particular time during the day. To me that’s a plus. And you can always get linens replaced upon request.

Two very minor glitches on this trip:
The toaster didn’t work. But I kept forgetting to ask them to replace it, so how big a deal could it have been?
The eating utensils and dishes were disgustingly dirty – old food stuck on them. Had to re-wash everything before I could use them. I guess the previous guest wasn’t very picky. I suspect housekeeping assumes people know how to wash dishes correctly, but maybe it would be a good idea to spot check a few items?

With all the choices in NYC, what keeps me coming back to this specific Candlewood is the staff. Always friendly, courteous, professional and helpful. They seem to enjoy their work and assisting guests. They get to know you, greet you each day and even joke with you. Many other customer service related companies could learn a lot from this team. Kudos to management for assembling and retaining such a great group of employees!

Pros:
Fully supplied kitchenette with full-size refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, sink & dishwasher.
Very comfortable beds with above-average linens.
TV with DVD player.
Comfortable lounge chair.
Clean and surprisingly quiet given the location near a busy intersection.
Just minutes to convention center, subway or Times Square.
Fantastic staff!
No luggage racks.

Cons:
Insufficient lighting in entire room, but worst on side of bed against the wall as there is no nightstand. Possible to install pot lights in the ceiling or a wall sconce?
Towel rack in the shower? Difficult to keep the towels dry. Possibly put more hooks on the door or wall? Also, no hand towel loop near the sink so you have to drip water across the floor when reaching back to the tub for a towel.
No counter space in bathroom.

Room Tip: Getting a room on the top floors for better views goes without saying. But get a corner room (ending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Greetings from NYC,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our property. We will definitely take it into consideration and will utilize it to enhance our services. We hope the next time you stay with us we can “wow” you with our services and presentation. Please contact us in advance on your next trip to the big city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

In NY for some days, me and my wife have really appreciated this cozy and functional structure.
Located a few blocks away from Times sq.; efficient and professional staff available for any request at any time.
Special mention for Caroline at the front desk, but everyone there is keen to serve you with a smile.
The small aparments are equipped with a free wifi, tv set, DVD, clock radio, microwaves oven and a practical kitchenette: when coming back from our daily visit to NYC, we used to say "home again"... That's how you feel there!!

Room cleaning si scheduled weekly, but you are given new towels should you need it.
We strongly recommend Candlewood suites; we'll definitively come back if we return to the USA in the future

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Greetings from the Candlewood Suites family,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us I am glad our staff was helpful throughout your stay. We look forward to your next trip to NYC and please contact us in advance. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

To call these rooms "suites" is greatly stretching the point when one thinks of the traditional suite with separate bedroom and living area. I really wish hotels didn't mislead like that. Prior to arriving, I saw online that the room was 250 square feet. I wondered how a bedroom area and kitchen could be squeezed into such a small space. I was pleasantly surprised that, indeed, a kitchen with full size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, sink and cook top was actually at the entrance placed just prior to the bed area. Not surprisingly, there was no separate living area except for one lounge chair. My only small complaint was that my side of the bed had no small table or light. It was right along the wall with about a one foot separation. Since I like to read prior to falling asleep, this was small annoyance.

Given prices for New York hotels, this property is a great value; especially the rooms at the upper floors with great views. On the 29th floor our view included the Empire State Building and the building in progress new World Trade Center. It's worth paying slightly extra for an upper floor room. The room was very clean, the queen size bed was extremely comfortable, the appliances worked well and the staff is pleasant. Housekeeping is not included except for once a week; however, clean sheets and towels are only a call away. Being environmentally concerned, I certainly didn't mind not having these changed every day. The location is excellent only a few blocks from Times Square and the neighborhood has an eclectic mix of shops and restaurants. There is no restaurant in the hotel. The subway is close and convenient. All in all, anyone would find this a great value and a good place to stay if the compact nature of the room would not be a problem.

Room Tip: Get a high floor for good views.
See more room tips
Green Features: The fact that sheets and towels are not changed and washed every day is noteworthy and environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhumdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Greetings from the Candlewood Suites in Times Square. We thank you for leaving us your feedback on Trip advisor and we are delighted to hear that you found our hotel in a convenient location. We hope that you can keep us in mind in the future. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We only stayed here for one night but we would recommend this hotel to anyone. It was very clean and comfortable. A great location only 3 streets away from 42nd Street. Very friendly staff. When we go back to NY we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pdogga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Greetings from the Big Apple! We are happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay and would recommend to anyone. Please let us know whenever back in the city. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were first time visitors to New York, we took our Daughter and Grandson and booked two rooms. We had a great time and would thoroughly recommend Candlewood Suites. It is only a 5 minute walk to Time Square. The rooms are quite small but plenty big enough and comfortable for two people. There are cooking facilities in the room if needed. Our room was clean and had nice fresh linen and towels. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is laundry facilities which is free with plenty of clean washing machines and dryers. Being in New York we thought the charges were great value for what we paid. We also stayed at Candlewood Suites because we were doing a cruise out of New York to the Caribbean and it was only a 5 minute taxi ride to the cruise terminal.

Room Tip: Both the rooms we booked were good they seem only to have queen size beds not single beds. One room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julies-Views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Greetings from the Big Apple! Thank you for your great feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms to be comfortable. We hope that you consider us in the future and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here April 05-09 2013 and was so happy with hotel, it was clean, staff was helpful, there were DVD to lend from front desk for free. Free coffee in lobby shop. We stayed on the 31st floor and had a lovely view. The rooms had kitchenette which was useful. Cleaners did not come in to clean or change beds however we only stayed for days and was not needed. Time square is about a 6 minute walk its very close to port authority station which is handy for the outlets which is a must to save money on designer goods. Lots of restaurants and delis on every corner. Can't rate this hotel enough for the price we payed. Me and my sister had a fab time and would love to stay again. Thank you Candlewood suites

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 7sam90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello from NYC! Thank you for your great feedback. We are happy to hear that you would definitely stay with us again. Please let us know whenever you are back in the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,458 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#235 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#255 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,889 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,836 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Property: Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the new, all suites Candlewood Suites Hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center,Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing