We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for NYCC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #220 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location for NYCC”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here while attending New York Comic Con. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk to the Javits Center. It is also within walking distance to Times Square if you want to do some site seeing. Lots of great restaurants in the area including a couple good NY style pizza spots that stay open at night.

This is a very basic hotel. They do not have in-room dining. However there was a fridge, and a microwave in the room which could come in handy.
The bathroom was tiny and didn't have ANY countertop space except for a tiny glass shelf above the toilet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Greetings from the Big Apple! Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to here that your enjoyed your stay while with us. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    766
    173
    34
    44
See reviews for
263
887
156
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stjordal, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Being only a 5 minute walk from Times Square, this hotel is in a great location for those wanting to explore New York City. Check-in was easy, and the staff were always very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean with plenty of space, and the kitchenette was extremely handy for making a quick bite to eat in the morning before heading out! Afternoon cookies in the reception were also a nice treat! Really can't complain about this place, especially considering the reasonable price. Would definitely stay here again.

Green Features: While daily housekeeping is a nice luxury while away, I don't find it entirely necessary, and I certainly wouldn't pay extra for it. I think it's a good idea, and if it helps to keep the room costs down then I'm all for it.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crofteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings from The Big Apple! Thank you for your great feedback. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulvik
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

First visit to New York and chose this hotel based upon Trip Advisor.
Really well located - Very welcoming and friendly reception staff, extremely helpful concierge - well planned rooms with all the amenities in excellent condition and clean. Ideal base for a visit to the Big Apple. Thanks for making such an enjoyable start of our 3 week holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fellhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Greetings! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay while in NYC. We appreciate your great feedback and look forward to hearing back from you in the future! Thanks again, and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
278 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was very wary of staying at this hotel. I guess because of the "long term stay" factor. Had a conference at Jacob Javits Center and wanted to be able to walk there so we crossed our fingers and trusted the tripadvisor reviews!
First of all the pros:
The bed was comfortable. The staff was nice. There was a full kitchen. The location to Jacob Javits was VERY convenient. The room was dark and quiet for sleeping. They offered cookies at check in!
The cons: There is no daily housekeeping - not a big deal to us since we were only there for a long weekend. You could pay $15 extra/day for this if needed. There was only one nightstand and one light, which made it difficult for both of us to read in bed. There were no toiletries except soap. There were no luggage racks or safe. So the amenities weren't top tier, but nothing we couldn't live without....last but not least, the room was either cold or hot (and loud with the heat on) - but they responded quickly to this problem and it was better after they had a workman resolve this issue. Would I stay here again? Yes if I had a meeting at JJC. Would I go out of my way to stay here otherwise? Probably not - because when I am away from home, I have to admit I like the little amenities of the toiletries, daily housekeeping, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nreyesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Greetings from the Big Apple! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My first clue should have been the fact that all other hotels in the area were booked and this Candlewood Suites still had rooms. Upon checking in, I was assigned a wheelchair accessible room on the first floor (I did not book an accessible room). When I arrived at the room, I noticed the door had previously been forcibly entered and somewhat repaired. There was putty on the door and you could tell, from the inside, the frame and sheetrock was shoddily patched. Once inside the room, I noticed it was cold and attempted to use the thermostat on the wall. The thermostat was not working so I called the front desk to get an engineer. The engineer (who was apologetic and quite responsive) noticed the a/c unit had no connection to a power source. He then repaired the unit while I waited. Once the unit was repaired, I began to unpack and noticed the trash cans were full. I then went out to grab dinner (the hotel's location is not bad, at all). When I returned from dinner, I noticed there were no washcloths in the bathroom and the toilet was dirty. There was also an empty tissue box in the bathroom. The next morning, I also noticed there was an iron but no ironing board in the closet. On top of all the inadequacies of the hotel, much to my chagrin, someone attempted to enter the room at 6:30 a.m. and again at 7:15 a.m. Luckily I had the latches engaged because the person had a key! I called the front desk to alert them I had not checked out and did not appreciate the unwarranted wake-up / intrusion. THE ONLY SAVING GRACE FOR THIS HOTEL WAS THE NICE STAFF AND LOCATION; OTHERWISE, IT IS A DUMP AND NOT CLEAN.

*MAYBE I CAUGHT THIS HOTEL ON A BAD NIGHT...OTHER COMMENTARY SUGGESTS MORE PLEASANT EXPERIENCES...I WAS EXTREMELY UNDERWHELMED.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Greetings, from the Candlewood Suites. We want to first thank you for giving us your feedback about your stay. We are reviewing your displeasures and have addressed each accordingly. Please accept our sincerest apology and we would like an opportunity to speak to you directly about your experience with us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you soon. Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We came to NYC for a Broadway Play and wanted to stay near the Theater District. The hotel was perfectly located for theater, Times Square and restaurants. It was clean and we loved having the kitchen for coffee, tea & breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got there early and they stored our luggage until our room was ready and valet parked the car. As Priority Club members we felt appreciated and will continue to stay at IHG properties because they consistently meet our our expectations.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views of NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PK327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hello from the Big Apple! Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Perfect for a visit to the "Big Apple" with your grown-up kids as travel partners. Prices are reasonable, rooms quiet, basic and clean with beds that are exceptionally comfortable. The location is great for walking almost everywhere, with a few cab rides mixed in.

You’ll have one foot almost in Hell's Kitchen, and Times Square is a five minute walk away. Add a few more blocks and you're on Restaurant Row, where there is every type of ethnic food imaginable. If you have tickets to a Knick's game, a walk to Madison Square Garden is doable or take a five minute bus ride. For a hardy adventure, walk to 10th Ave. and 30th St., where there is elevator access to walk the Highline. It's a must see unique park and beautiful any time of the year.

If you check-in at dinner time and want a convenient place to grab a bite, you're in luck. Across the street and a few steps toward 8th Ave. is an Italian family restaurant "Mercato" with excellent food. Staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful, and it's easy to use the automated kiosk in the lobby to book tickets and print passes. If you're all about efficiency and seeing the sights, this is a great hotel choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Greetings from the Big Apple! We want to thank you for taking time to send us a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the near surroundings. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#134 of 468 in New York City
5,555 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 468 in New York City
2,093 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#265 of 468 in New York City
3,975 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#162 of 468 in New York City
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Property: Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing