We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC vacation #2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #219 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Honolulu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NYC vacation #2”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with a friendly hotel staff who were kind enough to store our luggage until a room was available, since we arrived six hours before the 3PM check-in time. When we finally got to our room, I loved the fact that it came equipped with a small kitchen along with eating utensils and dishes. The bathroom was clean and the room itself was surprisingly very quiet. The other thing I loved and found very convenient about the hotel was the small store in the lobby that had all sorts of food, snacks, and drinks. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathlyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Greetings from the City!
Thank you for taking the opportunity to review our property on your most recent stay. I am so happy to hear we were able to exceed your expectations. Please don’t forget to contact us in advance on your next trip to NYC, we would like to have a special something prepared for your arrival. Thanks for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    766
    173
    34
    44
See reviews for
263
887
156
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Technically this is outside of Times Square. Yes, you can walk there, but its not like this hotel is in the middle of the action like you might be led to believe. The rooms are decent for NYC as far as size goes. The staff isn't the most accomodating. I arrived at 3 pm and my room was not yet ready, which is kind of frustrating when it says check in time is 3. The lobby has a comfortable sitting area if you get put in this situation. The location is convenient to a lot of stuff. Subways, etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank autiger3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and will definitely look into our check-in process as we do guarantee arrival by 3 pm unless you have a request for a specific room type or location. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered while you were here and we hope that this does not deter you from choosing our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just returned from first trip to NYC and 5 nights in Candlewood Suites. The location is excellent, near to Times Square, subway, Empire State Building, Macy's and I could go on! As it was our first visit to NYC and indeed the USA and we were celebrating ' special' birthdays I emailed ahead and asked for a quiet room with a view, that is what we got..thank you, 29 th floor with good view of Empire State Building at night and Hudson River by day, nice and quiet too. We even go a 'special' message wishing us a good time on the message board in the foyer! Room was comfortable, clean and facilities good, lovely to be able to make porridge for breakfast and have hot drinks when needed..especially as on a couple of days it was soooooo cold outside! The biggest plus for this hotel were the friendly and helpful staff at reception. Always a smile and excellent recommendations for nearby eating places. A safe in the room would have been nice but safety deposit box next best thing, although time consuming sometimes. Yes, the hotel decor and furnishings are a bit 'tired' and dreary, but clean and functional. Also difficult to get temperature right in the room, but was thankful to be able to open window slightly at night to get some air. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Floor 29 nice and quiet..considering we were minutes from Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate any feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back in the city soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthGa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Let me start by saying that I found a great rate for this hotel, so the value was good for what I paid, and the location adjacent to Times Square (a few blocks walk) is convenient to theatres, restaurants, shopping and subway, yet far enough away from the hustle/bustle of Times Square itself to be more quiet. Candlewood Suites is a good concept - less expensive extended stay with limited housekeeping service - and I have stayed in several Candlewood properties. My experience with this one was average. The front desk staff was friendly and welcoming, and the room - a studio "suite," basically a small hotel room with a kitchenette - was clean and adequate. I was a late evening check-in, and by the time I arrived the hotel was sold out, so the only room left for my reservation was a ground floor room near the front desk and elevator. The clerk offered me a change of room for my second night, if one was available. I worried about lobby noise, but that wasn't an issue. What was a concern was the sliding window, which didn't fully "catch" so it wasn't really locked. The window was "frosted," which prevented a view of what must have been a very brightly lit service courtyard, but I could make out cardboard boxes that were stacked up against it. The curtains didn't block much of the flourescent light that poured in all night, preventing the room from being darkened at all. I imagine all the rooms on the back/courtyard side of the hotel were similarly lit during the night, so I didn't think a move of room the next day was worth the effort, especially with the little bit of time I actually spent in the room. The hotel offered free coffee in the lobby, which was nice, and a small convenience store/pantry was good to have access to for snacks, toiletry needs that may come up. Overall, it's an average hotel, but it was adequate for my needs in NYC, and the price was certainly a plus for midtown Manhattan, which can be incredibly expensive.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms if possible, and I would guess the street side rooms might be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthGaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and will look into the window latch and window curtains. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered and hope that this does not deter you from staying with us aggain in the future. Please contact us directly if you ever come back to the city so that we can ensure that your staty is perfect. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The location is great, close to Times Square. It was easy to get to the main sights and shops. The staff was helpful. They gave us instructions how to walk to the nearest shops and organized a cab for us with a flat fee. Check-in was easy too. The room is clean and comfortable. There is everything you need for a city trip. There is a 24-hours gym. But it needs some renovation.

Just the only problem we struggled with is the air-conditioner in the room. It was impossible to get it where we were comfortable. As the result we caught cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Warm greetings from NYC,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am happy we were of great service and advised you of the best spots to shop and dine! I do apologize for any inconveniences throughout your stay but we look forward to your next arrival. We will ensure to prepare your room at just the right temperature for you. Thanks again for your time and we look forward to your next booking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have recently come back from staying in this hotel and can't recommend it enough. It was our first time in NYC so not sure what to expect. We were given a really nice room, very comfy bed, very clean and quiet. Free wifi in the room which was great. Great location, so close to Times Square and walking distance of everywhere else. Staff were very friendly and their recommendations on where to eat were great. They looked after our luggage when we checked out for free and organised a cab for us which was a flat fee, so easy and no worries about having to get a yellow cab. Would definitely stay again. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator as these tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Missbakergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Greetings from the big city,

Thank you for sharing your great experience with our traveler community. I am thrilled to hear our staff was extremely accommodating and your trip to the city was memorable. We look forward to your return, until then I wish you safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is great value for money. Considering, the relatively cheap price, I did not expect such a great standard. Rooms were a very big size, with a kitchen and wifi is also available at no extra price. The staff were extremely friendly and location is ideal. Within walking distance of Broadway, the bus terminal and many other restaurants. In conclusion, had a pleasant stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 439yazminB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello and thank you for leaving us your great feedback. We're glad that you found the location very convenient and that your stay was good. We are also happy to hear that you found the room to be spacious. We very much look forward to welcoming you again when you return to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#132 of 468 in New York City
5,556 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#286 of 468 in New York City
2,093 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#268 of 468 in New York City
3,976 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#162 of 468 in New York City
2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Property: Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing