We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #215 of 468 Hotels in New York City
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and staff”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Candlewood studios in Times Sq NYC was where we stayed for two weeks vber Christmas and New Year (2012-2013).Although expensive (as is any hotel in NYC t this time of year) I had no complaints whatsover.The rooms were spotlessly clean as were all the crockery etc.Good quality shampoos(Pantene),EXTREMELY comfortable bed and pillows with a choice of feather or foam (just ask).Great little store on site to buy necessities.meals.snacks etc,A laundry room that was free to use.A gym that was free to use,A shared (with the hotel bext door)Concierge for help in booking tours etc and the nicest staff.The Guest service supervisor on the front desk was an absolute gem (name of Monica),very pleasant,helpful and friendly.Lovely.The only thing that they could brush up on was the size of the bath towels.Way too small for us slightly larger folks but other than that I would definately recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The only reason I gave a low score for Kids activities and restuarant was because this hotel didnt o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauryn138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Greetings from the Big City,

I am so happy to hear The Candlewood Suites in Times Square was everything you expected and more! We are delighted our staff was accommodating and helpful throughout your stay. If we do not have the answer to your question we will go above and beyond to find you the answer. On behalf of our staff and Management team we would like to thank you for your kind words and recommendations. Don’t forget to contact me in advance on your next trip to NYC. I will ensure something special is prepared for your arrival! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    766
    173
    34
    44
See reviews for
263
887
156
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed here from Fri 4th Jan to Mon 7th Jan '13.
The hotel was very easy to locate and just 5 mins walk from the 42nd Street Port Authority Subway station. The reception staff were friendly on arrival and advised us our room would be ready at 3pm (1hr to wait), which after traveling for 15 hours almost made me cry!! Though we were offered complimentary coffee and use of the facilities.

Our room was located on floor 24,
(I believe there are only 6 rooms per floor). Out of the window we could just see the top of The Empire State.

The room was clean and well equipped.

LCD tv on a large chest of drawers, a desk, a large recliner, kitchen area with dishwasher, small hob, microwave, full standing fridge freezer and of course a bed. The bed was comfortable and a decent size. The bathroom had a small bath (with shower over), toilet and sink. Perfect.

We had no noise problems during our stay, the room was lovely and quiet, which after a day of city bustle was well welcomed!

The hotel is no more than a 10min walk to Times Square and we were in Central Park before we knew it! With all the sights and people watching, blocks fly by! Previous reviewers have mentioned the hotel is a bit far away from things.... These people must be lazy! The location is great.

Final note: The hotel held our bags for us on the final day as we had a few things to see before our flight home. This was very handy!!


We would 100% stay here again and will be recommending this to anyone who asks for a decent place to stay in New York.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa V, Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Hello,
We are happy to hear about your experience and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your time in the city. We are also glad to hear that you would recommend us again. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel just before Christmas and found it was located very close to the Theater district and easy walking to many of the major attractions. The room was spotless, not huge, but more than adequate for my wife and myself. As others have stated there are a lot of little extras here. The staff, particularly Ben went out of their way to accommodate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank signals1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Good day,
Thank you for sharing your experience with our traveler community. It’s great to hear the accommodations we offer were more than sufficient for you and your wife. I am glad we were able to meet your expectations and your trip was memorable. Keep us in mind for your next trip to the city and contact us in advance to prepare a special surprise upon your arrival. Thanks again for your time and kind words. Until next time…Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Attleboro MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I spent the night in New York for our 23rd Anniversary. The staff was very helpful and even offered to hold our luggage until we were able to check in since we arrived a little earlier than expected. Most importantly the room was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hello and thank you for leaving us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend our property to others. We are also happy that you choose us to spend your special celebration with. We hope to see you at our property again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Location is excellent for exploring Manhattan, and just a minute's walk from a subway station with good connections. Area directly around hotel is a little seedy but it doesn't matter unless you're very prim and proper. Rooms are spacious, modern and clean. Staff are friendly and there is a free DVD library, a gym and a laundrette.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zoe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us we truly appreciate your feedback. We are happy to see hear expectations were met throughout your stay. Our staff strives to provide the best service possible. We want each of our guests to feel at home. Thank again for your comments and we hope to see you soon in the NYC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Me and my wife are 30-ish w/o kids. We spent xmas and new year's at the Candlewood Suites and loved it. I felt the price was very competetive when compared to similar level hotels.
Most importantly - the room felt modern, clean, and exactly as advertised. There were absolutely no surprises during our entire stay.

The location is excellent as its a 5 minute walk from Port Authority which connects most subway and bus lines in NYC. Its also a 5-10 minuute walk from times square, and is also on the brink of Hells Kitchen for when you want to go to a more quiet and less expensive restaurants.

If you dont mind the lack of daily room service, the hotel itself is great. The room is relatively spacious (its nyc after all...) and the microwave/electrice stove-top are most useful.
When we came in, we were tols that they offer room service on the 8th day, but that ots possible to ask for a schedule change and for any supplies we may require such as towels or toilet paper. We did in fact reschedule so that the room would be cleaned half way through our stay.

I would definately recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: The next-to-elevator rooms arent as bad as some people say. If view is important make sure to call t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GuYsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hello and thank you for leaving us a comment about your stay on Tripadvisor.com. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our property to others. We are also glad to here that our staff was able to accommodate all of your requests. Hope to see you at our property again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here back in early December 2012. We did encounter some frustrations on check in. There was a delay in preparing rooms due to one of their elevators breaking down. Once we did check in and get a room, our experience did improve.

The rooms are clean and decent sized (for NYC standards). I loved the fact that the room was close enough to Times Square for convenience, but far enough to get a break.

The staff was great and super helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iceman_rq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Greetings from the Big Apple! We would like to apologize for any issues you might experienced in the beginning of your stay but we are so glad to here that you did turn out to have a good stay. We are also glad to here that you we satisfied with our guests suites. Hoping to see you again soon! Until then happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#133 of 468 in New York City
5,553 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#289 of 468 in New York City
2,091 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#266 of 468 in New York City
3,971 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#161 of 468 in New York City
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Property: Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing