We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Times in New York City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #230 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We planned our trip to NYC just before the 9-11 date to visit the Memorial and pay our respect. We flew into NYC first then traveled by Car to Boston Massachusetts for 2 nights then drove back to NYC to spend 5 more nights, We were on 39th street so we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to. We used the Subway and the city buses. We did everything we wanted to do. A dinner boat ride on the Harbor. A bike ride in Central Park. Lots of great food and awesome deals as we shopped every day. We went to a NY yankees game. We had pre-scheduled to be on the Good Afternoon America Show and we were chosen to be on the "David Letterman Late Show". Everyone was nice to us from the motel to folks walking in the city as we asked them questions. Thanks for an awesome time NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest room they can offer you.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshinegirl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Greetings from the Big Apple! Thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. It is such a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to accomplish everything you set out to do while you were here. We hope you consider our property again in the future. Until the happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Candlewood Suites was very convenient to everything that we wanted to see. We walked everywhere-from the Amtrak station to the hotel, to Times Square, to the many good restaurants around the hotel, and to the various tours available in the city.
The staff was great. They treated us like we were special guests. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed and a kitchenette that was clean and well supplied. The a/c worked well and we did not notice any noise from the city seven floors below us. Overall we were very pleased with our several day stay. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hello and thank you for leaving us a comment on tripadvisor.com. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend to others. It is also great to hear that our staff was able to leave a lasting impression on you. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great locaton in NYC. Couple blocks from port authority, 1 block from Hells Kitchen flea market, maybe 6 blocks to times square.
Room was neat and clean upon arrival and staff was great. Got extra pillows with no issue and the elevators are pretty fast. I think the only thing that would be better was enough coffe pods for a whole week. Only 1 in the room and its only restocked once a week.
If we were coming back to NYC this is on my short list.
Be warned I don't think they offer a double-double room so staying with kids may be an issue.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G_Diel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Good day and thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. Although we only provide a one coffee packet per room we do have the complimentary coffee machine in the lobby 24 hours. There you can just grab a quick cup on your way out or even bring down your coffee pot and fill it up instead of making it in your suite. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to attend to you needs. We hope you consider our hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

So fortunate to find this hotel in the aftermath of hurricane Sandy. Nice amenities. No charge for the things that other hotels charge exorbitant prices for. Free local phone calls. Free laundry. Small gym downstairs. Honor grocery store. Sweet little kitchen to have breakfast. Comfortable bed. Reclining chair. Our little home until we could go home. And such a nice staff.

Ask for a room with a view!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hello and thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. We are glad you found our property comforting during the storm. We pride ourselves on guest service and making each guest feel like they are staying at a home away from home. It is great to hear you were able to enjoy our many complimentary amenities. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Until then happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I took my grand-daughter to NYC for her 13th birthday in September. Our train arrived early so we went to see if we could get an early check in so we wouldn't have to drag our suitcases with us. They were able to give us a room right away. At that time they told us that every room has a DVD player and you could rent DVDs from their selection at the front desk. I never saw this before. They had a little store that goes by the honor system to take what you want and pay at the front desk. Our room was not huge but it was perfect! It had a large refrigerator with an ice maker, stove, sink, dishes and even a complimentary bag of popcorn in the microwave. Pretty cool. The room was big enough for the 2 of us and the bed was comfortable. Especially after walking all day, 3 days straight! Great hotel and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyJovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Greetings from NYC! Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review on tripadvisor.com. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel amenities. We hope to see you soon! Until then happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Loved this hotel, its location, the rooms with little kitchenettes, and the fron desk staff. They make you feel at home away from home. I was in New York around the time Hurricane Sandy hit, and the staff were very helpful with information and advise. The rooms have a small kitchenette, with a stove, coffee maker, microwave and a dishwasher. They have a small shop downstairs, where you can buy a few basics. There is a DVD rental at the reception, which came in handy when everything in New york was shut down. The downside of the hotel is there is no housekeeping, I stayed for 4 nights, and was told I did not qualify for housekeeping.

Room Tip: Select a higher floor, good view on New York
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kairetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Good day and thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. It is a pleasure to here you enjoyed your stay with us. Although the experience of a hurricane during your trip was not fun we are glad that our staff was helpful and you found our DVD library useful. We hope you decide to stay with us again. Until then happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The location is great, easy walking distance to Times Square and 34th Street and 5th Avenue for all of the fab shopping! Staff on the whole were helpful, however, there were some occasions where we felt let down by their customer service, especially when we checked out The facilities are fairly basic, the rooms are comfortable, there are kitchenettes in the room, which we never used, however, One of our neighbours did, every evening and strong food smells pervaded the whole floor!! If we went back to New York I don't think that we would stay at the Candlewood Suites, given the choice of available hotels there has to be better value options.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Good day and thank you for writing us on tripadvisor.com. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We wish you would have contacted us so that we could make other arrangements for you. If you wish to further discuss your experience with us you can contact us at the hotel. We do hope you will reconsider us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#292 of 468 in New York City
2,150 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#141 of 468 in New York City
5,677 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#248 of 468 in New York City
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#295 of 468 in New York City
4,120 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#74 of 468 in New York City
5,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $183 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing