We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,clean,spacious,nice kitchenette, free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #214 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
kohav yair
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location,clean,spacious,nice kitchenette, free wifi”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

5 minutes walk from Times Square and theater district, 5 minutes from Macy's and 34th street shopping.( each block = 1minute walk) The studio rooms are well equipped with a kitchenette.
Which i found very helpful while stuck in the room during Sandy Hurricane.
Free wifi.at the hotel free guest laundrey and fitness room.
On the street a great Italian restaurant Mercato. And a nice friendly Irish Pub with Irish music.
Was quite and peaceful stay. Comfterble bed. Very friendly helpful staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Hello and thank you for leaving us a pleasant review on Tripadvisor.com. It is great to hear our staff was about to attend to your needs and leave a lasting impression. Also, it is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you decide to stay again. Until then happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    763
    171
    34
    42
See reviews for
261
883
155
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

After a great deal of research and being in the hotel industry myself with VERY high standards, we selected the Candlewood Suites because of the location and the kitchenettes. I've been told that most rooms are small and that NY was expensive. We planned on having breakfast in our room but hey, it's NY! The staff was very informative and helpful, the hotel was very clean and even had a small gym and a convenience market downstairs for snacks/breakfast with complimentary hot coffee 24/7. Close to Times Square, bus and subway stations, Macys - everything is within walking distance and not noisy at all - located in the heart of the Fashion District! I'd definitely recommend and stay there again! PS. I traveled there with my partner celebrating my birthday!

Room Tip: Having a kitchenette is a bonus - even to keep the wine chilled! We were close to the top as I reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Greetings from the Candlewood Suites, Times Square. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking to come back. We are glad our staff was able to meet all your expectations. Once again, thank you for choosing us to spend your birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks holiday in New York. The holiday was booked via British Airways that included 7 nights at the Candlewood. Well done B.A. for choosing an ideal hotel and location.
These suites are just 5 minutes from Times Square and therefore only the same time from the subways that connects you to uptown and downtown Manhatten.
The suite has a comfortable double bed, reclining chair and an office chair positioned at a table that gives access to a cable internet point for those that have an older laptop. The room in any event has free wireless that is a real bonus as you plan your days. The reception also has two computers for those that do not have a laptop, both have a printer connected and free for use by guests.
The room has a bath that doubles up as a shower. An electric hairdryer that works fine. The room also has a sink, microwave, dishwasher and a fridge. The fridge also contains an ice maker ideal for your evening drinks before going out for dinner.
Towels are provided for the weeks stay, if you need anymore then the reception team will provide them.
A digital LCD tv and dvd player is also provided. Reception will provide dvd's at your request.
I felt very safe in the location of the hotel. Plenty of other hotels closeby.
The staff were really helpful and nothing seemed to much hassle to them. A credit to the hotel. Reception is open all night.
We were on the 8th floor and away from the lifts overloking the main street. We were not disturbed at all.
There is a laundry room and gym on the lower ground floor. I saw plenty of people using the gym facility but did not actually have a look at what was inside it. The amount of miles that I walked during the week was enough for me.
The hotel provides a room containing drinks dispenser, fridge with cold drinks and snacks that are paid for at reception. the prices are no different to what you would pay at the nearby grocery shops.
We had a brilliant stay at this hotel and would fully recommend it to friends and family.
Tips. Pre book the shuttlebus for transferring from airport to hotel. Very reasonably priced. Cost me around £56 in total for two persons for transfers each way.
If you plan to take a boat trip to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island then book on line and state the day that you will be taking the trip. Go armed with a print out and you will be given priority access when you turn up on the day. The queues are massive no matter what day and this tip will actually save you hours of standing in a line that seemed to take up the majority of Battery Park.
Getting around. Use the Metro subway. Saves hours of waiting in traffic watching the taxi meter tick over. Buy a card on the subway for £10 as a starter and just top up each time you use the subway. Each trip costs just over £2 which is great value.
If you plan to hire bikes to go around Central Park then remember to take a credit card with you. They use this as a guarantee that you return the cycle. Unfortunately neither my wife or I had our credit cards with us (safely in the hotel safe) and therefore we ended up walking the park to our disappointment.
If you intend to visit as many places as you can then purchase a 3 day New York pass as it will save you hundreds of pounds and also reduces the time that you have to wait for some attractions.
All in all a brilliant stay but I need another holiday to get over this one. Exhausting is a word that really does not do our stay justice.
Rob

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ferriby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Good day and greetings from the Big apple! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are lookin to come back in the future. It is also nice to hear you were able to take full advantage of our in room ammenities. Our local is central to many attractions in the area, we are glad you were able to explore the city without being to far from the hotel, all of that walking can really ware you down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowansville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful weekend in New York City. We stayed at the Candlewood Suites and it is a perfect location if you want to be near Times Square. It is 3 avenues over and 3 streets which is a 5 minute walk. The suite we had was clean, spacious and fully equiped with microwave, large refrigerator, dishwasher, and 2 burners. Coffee maker, toaster and all utensils were there was our use. The rooms are a bit more expensive but because of the location walking everywhere is so easy. The people at the front desk were very polite and friendly and the elevators were super fast. Absolutely the place to stay when in New York City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat3912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Greetings from the Big Apple! Thank you for leaving us a wonderful review on tripadvisor.com. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend our property to others. We are also glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our in room amenities. We hope to see you soon! Until then happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Location can't be beat -- an easy walk to Times Square, and even easier walk to the diverse restaurants of Hell's Kitchen. The room was very quiet, the bed was heavenly, the kitchen was a huge plus, and the staff was very accommodating -- welcoming us with bottled water and snacks, allowing us a 2 p.m. checkout the day we left, and holding our luggage til we left for the airport. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 20th floor with a view of the Hudson and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbericson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Good day and thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would return in the future. It is also great that you were able to take advantage of our in room amenities. We hope you had fun in the city and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I good cost effective hotel in a great location. If your not bothered about airs and graces but your looking for friendly staff and a good size room with kitchen facilities so you don't have to be tied to eating out all the time. Then this place is for you. One block from Port Authority and two blocks from times square. We stayed 3 nights and loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerprophet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to inform our traveler community how great your stay was. I am happy to hear our staff made you feel welcomed throughout you stay! I have to agree one of the greatest advantages you have in booking our suites is the kitchenette space. Preparing your own meals allows you to bring a little bit of your culture to a new city. Our location is convenient and central to many attractions you might like to visit. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you soon on your next adventure in Times Square!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Overall I would describe our stay as slightly above average. Positives include excellent location and good value for money. Negatives include unfriendly staff upon check-in, unavailability of our room even by around 2pm, the relatively small size of the room and that make-up room is only done weekly. Being a platinum priority club member however, did not experience any extraordinary service nor the typical welcoming warmth we'd normally experience in other IHG properties which was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Greetings from the Big Apple!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on your most recent stay. I am saddened to hear your experience did not exceed your expectations, and would like to apologize for any shortcomings on our end. I would greatly appreciate you contacting the hotel directly as an opportunity to further discuss your experience and to make things right. I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon. Thanks and hope you have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,510 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#237 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#255 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,935 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Property: Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the new, all suites Candlewood Suites Hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center,Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing