We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slight Above Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #231 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Overall I would describe our stay as slightly above average. Positives include excellent location and good value for money. Negatives include unfriendly staff upon check-in, unavailability of our room even by around 2pm, the relatively small size of the room and that make-up room is only done weekly. Being a platinum priority club member however, did not experience any extraordinary service nor the typical welcoming warmth we'd normally experience in other IHG properties which was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Greetings from the Big Apple!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on your most recent stay. I am saddened to hear your experience did not exceed your expectations, and would like to apologize for any shortcomings on our end. I would greatly appreciate you contacting the hotel directly as an opportunity to further discuss your experience and to make things right. I will be looking forward to hearing from you soon. Thanks and hope you have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,865)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

853 - 859 of 1,865 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Spent one night at this hotel near Times Square and have no complaints and more good points than I have time to point out. Friendly, efficient staff, with easy check-in. Pleasant welcoming notes from both the General Manager and (hand written) from the guest relations manager. Room not at all huge, but certainly comfortable enough. Staff honored my request for a high floor and a room not near the elevator. The block it's on isn't certainly isn't the most beautiful in NYC, but seems perfectly safe and is well located near Times Square and subway transportation. As Priority Clu Platinum member, I had free and speedy wireless internet access.

There are six rooms per floor, three to each side of the elevator. It you want to decrease your chances of having noisy neighbors, ask that you not get a "middle" room in either side and even ask to have one furthest from the elevator. But based on my brief experience, it did not seem that there were thin walls and I did not hear anything from the hallway or other rooms.

There are only two elevators, so I supposed that it's possible that occasionally you might have to wait for one to arrive, but I did not experience that.

The only significant downside is that the place does not have safes in its rooms, which is a feature I highly value. But you can store valuables downstairs near the desk if necessary.

All in all, a very good place that I'd probably stay in again...and would certainly do so if it had in-room safes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Good day and thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you would like to join us again in the future. It is also great to hear that you experienced a very welcoming check in and that our front desk team was able to honor all your requests and leave a lasting impression on you. We look forward to your return. Until then happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed there four nights in October. It was clean and spacious. Room was very quiet...amazing for midtown. A nice desk area and mini kitchen.
They refused to let anyone check in until 3pm.
You need to know that they only clean the rooms or makeup bed, empty trash when the room turns over. Hotel seems fairly new...less than 5 yrs old.
The neighborhood is ok, more port authority area than time square. When even partially decent places in NYC are $400 a night, and you get in here for $250/night it's worth it.

Room Tip: Away from elevator...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hello and thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is also great to hear that the guest room was to your liking. We hope you decide to join us again soon! Until then happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently stayed at Candlewood Suites from 15-18 October. We enjoyed being close to Times Square and the entire hustle of New York. W would reccomend this hotel to anyone going to visit the Big Apple. The rooms are very comfortable and large enough for the two of us. The fridge, microwave are great for warming leftovers or storing drinks for the days adventures. The hotel is very close to Port Authority bus station where you can catch the subway or get the shuttle to JFK or Laguardia. At the bus station you can also get tickets for the Grey Line hop on hop off tour of the city.
We look forward to another visit to New York and will make this hotel our base of touring again.

Room Tip: we did notice a little street noise on the first day from the work on the building across the street...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stiffya74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Good day and greetings from the Big Apple. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your adventure around Times Square and were able to take advantage of our in room amenities. We are glad you would recommend us to others and we hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Cute little room, with everything I could need! It was clean, comfortable and I loved having a little kitchen! It's nothing fancy ... but met my needs! I appreciated having a desk that was actually set up to use as a table as well. The girl at the front desk was very kind.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zinni49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Hello and thank you taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay with us. I am very thrilled we were able to meet your expectations and you found our rooms cute and sufficient. We try to mold every aspect of our property and the service we provide, to make you feel as comfortable as possible. We are your home away from home and our staff would be delighted to have you once more. Please contact us and let us know how we can make your next trip even more special. Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for a week before Christmas and found the room to be clean, comfortable and visually appealing. Free Wi-Fi, 24-hour laundry, free DVD rental, and on-site mini store and the kitchenette made our stay much more convenient. Close enough to Times Square and Broadway for tourist activities and show-seeing, but also on the end closer to Macy's Herald Square and Madison Square Garden. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome, and it was insanely affordable for Manhattan! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dayna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Greetings from the Candlewood family,
I am so delighted to hear your recent stay at our property made you feel welcomed and just like home! Our staff thanks you for your praise and acknowledgement. We hope you can join us many more times on your many adventures in the big city. Don’t forget to contact me directly to ensure your next stay is as flawless as your first. Hope you have a great day and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was my 6th trip to NYC, but my first time to stay at this hotel. I will return here again and again. Very spacious for a NYC hotel, and super clean. Comfortable bed. Absolutely the quietest room I've ever had in NYC, even though it is right around the corner from Times Square. Staff is amazing. We needed more towels, and they had them to us in less than 5 minutes. Then a staff member phoned the room to make sure we received them. We didn't use the well equipped kitchen, but it was nice to know it was there if we needed it. The suites are very modern and updated. The room was so clean, it looked like we were the first people to stay there. In my opinion, this place is as close to perfect as it can be.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buckeyetraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Greetings from the big apple! Our staff would like to thank you for acknowledging their efforts. Reading reviews such as yours motivates our family to provide the best service possible. We hope to see you soon in the NYC area and don’t forget to give us a call when you make your next booking. We would like to have a special surprised prepared for you on your 7th trip to NY! Thanks again and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#293 of 468 in New York City
2,155 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#143 of 468 in New York City
5,680 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#251 of 468 in New York City
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#298 of 468 in New York City
4,124 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#74 of 468 in New York City
5,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $177 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing