We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in super pricey NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #213 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value in super pricey NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed there four nights in October. It was clean and spacious. Room was very quiet...amazing for midtown. A nice desk area and mini kitchen.
They refused to let anyone check in until 3pm.
You need to know that they only clean the rooms or makeup bed, empty trash when the room turns over. Hotel seems fairly new...less than 5 yrs old.
The neighborhood is ok, more port authority area than time square. When even partially decent places in NYC are $400 a night, and you get in here for $250/night it's worth it.

Room Tip: Away from elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hello and thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is also great to hear that the guest room was to your liking. We hope you decide to join us again soon! Until then happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    756
    170
    34
    42
See reviews for
259
877
154
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently stayed at Candlewood Suites from 15-18 October. We enjoyed being close to Times Square and the entire hustle of New York. W would reccomend this hotel to anyone going to visit the Big Apple. The rooms are very comfortable and large enough for the two of us. The fridge, microwave are great for warming leftovers or storing drinks for the days adventures. The hotel is very close to Port Authority bus station where you can catch the subway or get the shuttle to JFK or Laguardia. At the bus station you can also get tickets for the Grey Line hop on hop off tour of the city.
We look forward to another visit to New York and will make this hotel our base of touring again.

Room Tip: we did notice a little street noise on the first day from the work on the building across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stiffya74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Good day and greetings from the Big Apple. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your adventure around Times Square and were able to take advantage of our in room amenities. We are glad you would recommend us to others and we hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Cute little room, with everything I could need! It was clean, comfortable and I loved having a little kitchen! It's nothing fancy ... but met my needs! I appreciated having a desk that was actually set up to use as a table as well. The girl at the front desk was very kind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zinni49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello and thank you taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay with us. I am very thrilled we were able to meet your expectations and you found our rooms cute and sufficient. We try to mold every aspect of our property and the service we provide, to make you feel as comfortable as possible. We are your home away from home and our staff would be delighted to have you once more. Please contact us and let us know how we can make your next trip even more special. Thanks for your comments and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for a week before Christmas and found the room to be clean, comfortable and visually appealing. Free Wi-Fi, 24-hour laundry, free DVD rental, and on-site mini store and the kitchenette made our stay much more convenient. Close enough to Times Square and Broadway for tourist activities and show-seeing, but also on the end closer to Macy's Herald Square and Madison Square Garden. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome, and it was insanely affordable for Manhattan! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Greetings from the Candlewood family,
I am so delighted to hear your recent stay at our property made you feel welcomed and just like home! Our staff thanks you for your praise and acknowledgement. We hope you can join us many more times on your many adventures in the big city. Don’t forget to contact me directly to ensure your next stay is as flawless as your first. Hope you have a great day and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus , Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was my 6th trip to NYC, but my first time to stay at this hotel. I will return here again and again. Very spacious for a NYC hotel, and super clean. Comfortable bed. Absolutely the quietest room I've ever had in NYC, even though it is right around the corner from Times Square. Staff is amazing. We needed more towels, and they had them to us in less than 5 minutes. Then a staff member phoned the room to make sure we received them. We didn't use the well equipped kitchen, but it was nice to know it was there if we needed it. The suites are very modern and updated. The room was so clean, it looked like we were the first people to stay there. In my opinion, this place is as close to perfect as it can be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buckeyetraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Greetings from the big apple! Our staff would like to thank you for acknowledging their efforts. Reading reviews such as yours motivates our family to provide the best service possible. We hope to see you soon in the NYC area and don’t forget to give us a call when you make your next booking. We would like to have a special surprised prepared for you on your 7th trip to NY! Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The staff on the front desk were extremely friendly, pleasant and helpfull, nothing seemed too much trouble to them. We were very surprised at the room, it was spacious and very well equiped from the kitchen utensils to a large flat screen TV and DVD player. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. We were advised by some people to request a room at the back of the hotel as the front could be very noisey with traffic and sirens all nite...we were on the 25th floor at the front and had no problems with noise at all! The hotel is also in an ideal position...close enough to all the attractions, eg Times Square but far enough away as not to be disturbed by all the noise. We will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the less noise you get from traffic and the view is going to be a little bit b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blaze1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Good day and thank you for leaving us a review on Tripadvisor.com. It is good to hear that our staff was able to leave a lasting impression. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and want to return again in the future. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had planned our trip to New York even down to the hotel to stay at while there. The one we originally chose had shared bath facilities in some of their suites and we felt edgy staying there. Upon researching the area, we found Candlewood Suites. It had good reviews. The room was small but sufficient. Closet was tiny but we actually had just enough room for our eveningwear etc. The kitchen facilities were well stocked with dishes and utensils but not used by us much. We were on vacation. It could however prove useful to those on a budget. Television was a flat panel with Direct TV and a DVD player with DVD borrowing at the front desk. Free wi-fi is available but they change the password every Thursday (unbeknownst to us) The only real caveat is that the front desk personnel was ill trained and not onboard with one another. Our first day we asked for more coffee (maker is in room) We were told we would have to buy it from the commissary downstairs for the rest of our stay. First day was free though? The next day they handed us a few packs to use daily. There was a problem with the concierge panel in the lobby as well and it gave us directions that placed us about a mile from where we were headed. We called down several times one day to get clean washrags and finally had to physically go to the desk and get them. (They do not clean the room or replace things like this during a discounted extended stay) Good room, nice people and the central location is great. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the building across the alley. Seems to be the way to do it and stay quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barcodeVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria d, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Good day and thank you for leaving us a review on tripadvisor.com. Although you might have experienced some difficulties during your stay we are glad to hear that you will stay with us again. We would like to apologize for the miscommunications with our desk but we are glad that we were able to leave a good impression. It is great to know you were able to take advantage of our amenities. We hope to see you soon, until then happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,458 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#236 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#254 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,841 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Property: Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#169 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the new, all suites Candlewood Suites Hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center,Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing