We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #231 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value for the location”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've stayed at this location twice now, solely because I was able to book a room at a very good rate (approx $200 both times).

The location is very good. If you're not familiar with NYC, I'd say this hotel is kind of on the southwest fringe of times square. To be clear, you're not going to walk out the front door and into your performance of Wicked in 1 minute, but you're maybe 2 blocks from hitting times sqr. I saw a couple other reviewers suggest this hotel is on a sketchy block -- I'd disagree. There are 2 or 3 other chain hotels right there, and great hotels & bars just over on 9th & 10th. The block isn't loaded with restaurants & bars so it does feel a little desolate, but I don't think this area is any worse than other block in the neighborhood, which is to say -- it's fine.

The hotel itself was probably built within the last 5 years (I'm guessing). It's a no frills spot. No fancy lobby, no hotel bar. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean. Rooms have a little kitchen which would make this really appealing if you're in town for multiple nights.

My only gripe is that the AC unit in my room was pretty loud.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May0rQuimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Good day and thank you for your honest review on TripAdvisor. I have to agree we are not in the middle of Times Square where the New Years eve ball is dropped every year, but we are certainly within walkable distance to this central location. We are on a quieter side which can be a plus at times. I am very glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us and sincerely apologize our AC unit was a bit too noisy during your stay with us. If you would like to contact us directly to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate in doing so. Again thank you for your review and we do appreciate all of your feedback. Hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    774
    175
    36
    48
See reviews for
268
894
158
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I've never stayed in a Candlewood Suites before, and based on my stay here the past three days, I wouldn't hesitate to book with this hotel chain again. We arrived at 11:30 on Monday and were allowed to check in early, which was great. My boyfriend is a priority member, so we got to spin the freebie wheel and won $5 to spend in the little tuck shop. The front desk staff were very friendly. We went up to the room, everything was clean and tidy. There was a problem with the toilet handle in our bathroom, and it was addressed quickly by the staff. No problems with the elevators, and we have felt safe on this street unlike some other reviewers. The street was very quiet at night from a higher floor, which is a plus for sleeping. The WiFi was a bit dodgey at times, but there's a Starbucks just on the east side of 8th to login and check online maps of the city, restaurant reviews, etc. It's a very close walk to Times Square and subway stops. I look forward to returning and checking out Candlewood Suites in other cities!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDE08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Greetings from the Candlewood Suites family,

We greatly appreciate you leaving us such great review on your most recent stay in our property. I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us and all of the accommodations we offer. The Priority Club Prize wheel is great and no matter how many times you spin you are always a winner!!! I do apologize you had some troubles with our wifi connection. I hope you would’ve contacted the front desk while you were experiencing the problem. I am glad that this small “bump” did not deteriorate your experience with us and we hope to see you soon in the city that never sleeps NY!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from staying at the Candlewood - and wanted to reiterate comments already made. If you do your research on this properly (TripAdvisor!) then I guess you won't be disappointed - as this is not a hotel in the traditional sense. There is no daily housekeeping - though clean towels are provided on request. Yes - the rooms are small - but probably in line with other similarly priced NYC hotels - and isn't a problem if you're not planning to spend time in the hotel room, which we weren't. That said, the rooms are clean and the kitchette is handy for preparing breakfast and light meals if you're not planning to eat out all the time.

In terms of location - it was ideally suited for TImes Square (and associated,eatieres) and getting around Manhattan with a subway station nearby to get to sites such as the State of Liberty (direct line for the 1 line). We walked all the way to Central Park from here to the north of the city in about an hour. You're also a few minutes walk away from the Empire State Building. Some reviews have stated that the Candlewood located in a "seedy" side street. We certainly didn't feel this - though that said we probaly wouldn't opt to stay further south or west from here.

There are some nice touches such as free cookies at about tea time on some days and a free welcome back of microwaveable popcorn. They also provide washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets which is helpful. I understand there was a free laundry and gym facilities though we never used these. There is also a complimentary DVD library at reception.

Only slight quibbles - one of the elevators wasn't working for the duration of our stay - which meant waiting ages for the lift. Also, the front desk staff could be more informative when providing travel and sightseeing information.

Overall, a clean and convenient stay and would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BondFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Good day and thank you for taking the time to inform our community how great your stay was. I am thrilled the location of the property was ideal for you. If anyone comes to NYC I would hope they are not spending too much time in the room otherwise they are missing out on all the great attractions nearby! All of our guests love our freshly baked cookies and we are so glad they do. I do apologize for any shortcomings on our end but please do not forget to contact us directly at the property on your next to the big apple. Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Awesome place! Perfect for my husband and I who were out most of the day exploring. Yes, the rooms are small but they are clean with a mini kitchen so you can do some of our own cooking/breakfast. You could also use the washing machines for free. We stayed for 2 weeks and didn’t mind the once a week cleaning. You can ask for fresh towels from reception. They also had DVD’s to watch free of charge which was fantastic. The free coffee down stairs was a life saver. I thought the location was excellent – just around the corner to Times Square and walking distance to the subway. Staff were friendly. Didnt hear any noise during our entire 2 week stay. Overall I have don’t have anything negative to say. Would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_Vegiemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello and thank you so much for your recommendation. I am glad to hear we were able to exceed your expectations throughout your stay. We would not have it any other way! We try as best as possible to make each one of our guest feel as their home away from home. Our staff is very hospitable, friendly and always willing to assist with any inquiry. Thank you again for your kind recommendation and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onancock, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

we were pleasantly surprised by the stay in its entirety !! staff were helpful, pleasant and accommodating. The room was clean and stocked with coffee and popcorn!! It was disappointing that it was not actually IN Time Square, but only a short walk away. Hells kitchen Flea market on Saturday and Sunday morning was close by and fun to visit. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello and thank you for acknowledging our staff for their continuous efforts to achieve superb guest satisfaction. We greatly appreciate all feedback we get from our travelers, as it is a direct reflection of our success as a whole. I am glad we were able to meet your expectations and our staff was extremely helpful. Don’t forget to contact us for assistance on your next special getaway to NYC. Hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having moved out of NYC recently we needed somewhere to stay when we returned which was convenient both for shopping downtown as well as for getting out to the boroughs to visit friends and family. Candlewood Suites was perfectly situated. It was down a fairly quiet street (by NYC standards anyway) a few blocks from Penn Station and a short walk to the Times Square metro where you can take the 1, 3, 9, A, C, E, N and R trains (so you can basically get out to pretty much anywhere!) The room was surprisingly large for an NYC hotel room - big enough to swing two cats in at least - and also quiet. The staff on the front desk were very accommodating and had useful suggestions for breakfast options in the area (breakfast wasn't included in the price although who needs a hotel croissant with NY bagels and eggs over easy on every corner!) The best thing though was the price for staying an extra night. We were offered Sunday night for just $150, which sounded more like a price from the 1980's! We had problems setting the right temperature for the room which is why I am giving the hotel a 3 for sleep quality as it did get quite hot the first night. However when we complained about it the engineer arrived in literally 3 minutes and showed us how to set the temperature properly. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katyajv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Greetings from NYC!
Thank you for enlightening our travelers about our area. I could not have described it in better words. I do apologize you encountered an issue with monitoring the temperature in your room. But I am glad we were able to address your concern immediately and find a resolution. Please do not forget to contact us directly on you next trip, we would like to make sure your next stay is flawless. We hope to see you soon, until then I wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thirty-some floors but fast elevators (both were working). Rooms very small (maybe 250 sf), full sz refer, 2-burner cooktop & microwave - all immaculate. Room was very clean. Great shower. Very good location, sandwiched between Holiday Inn Exp and Hampton and short walk to Times Sq, theaters & shopping. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Try the nearby Mexican one w/name something like Padrons (the best ceviche I've ever had). The staff were very accommodating and very friendly. We used their car service for rtn to EWR at $85, include tolls & tip (we pd $105 from EWR to hotel). Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murraw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Greetings from the Candlewood family,
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with our traveler community. I am extremely delighted your experience was wonderful. Our location is great and ideal, close to many attractions but quiet enough to relax when needed! Our entire staff goes above and beyond to accommodate any guest request to ensure overall guest satisfaction. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to the big apple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#138 of 467 in New York City
5,627 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#292 of 467 in New York City
2,132 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#244 of 467 in New York City
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#277 of 467 in New York City
4,058 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#192 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Property: Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing