We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Nearby Hotels
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$305
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$257
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$154
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$167
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$309
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,931)
Filter reviews
1,931 results
Traveler rating
850
805
186
40
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
850
805
186
40
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree laundrytimes squareport authorityfull size refrigeratornew yorkfridge freezeran extended staylaundry roomsmall kitchenfresh towelspenn stationfew blockscoffee makerthe empire state buildingqueen bedwould definitely stay here againaround the corner
Filter
Updating list...
915 - 920 of 1,931 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from staying at the Candlewood - and wanted to reiterate comments already made. If you do your research on this properly (TripAdvisor!) then I guess you won't be disappointed - as this is not a hotel in the traditional sense. There is no daily housekeeping - though clean towels are provided on request. Yes - the rooms are small - but probably in line with other similarly priced NYC hotels - and isn't a problem if you're not planning to spend time in the hotel room, which we weren't. That said, the rooms are clean and the kitchette is handy for preparing breakfast and light meals if you're not planning to eat out all the time.

In terms of location - it was ideally suited for TImes Square (and associated,eatieres) and getting around Manhattan with a subway station nearby to get to sites such as the State of Liberty (direct line for the 1 line). We walked all the way to Central Park from here to the north of the city in about an hour. You're also a few minutes walk away from the Empire State Building. Some reviews have stated that the Candlewood located in a "seedy" side street. We certainly didn't feel this - though that said we probaly wouldn't opt to stay further south or west from here.

There are some nice touches such as free cookies at about tea time on some days and a free welcome back of microwaveable popcorn. They also provide washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets which is helpful. I understand there was a free laundry and gym facilities though we never used these. There is also a complimentary DVD library at reception.

Only slight quibbles - one of the elevators wasn't working for the duration of our stay - which meant waiting ages for the lift. Also, the front desk staff could be more informative when providing travel and sightseeing information.

Overall, a clean and convenient stay and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BondFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Good day and thank you for taking the time to inform our community how great your stay was. I am thrilled the location of the property was ideal for you. If anyone comes to NYC I would hope they are not spending too much time in the room otherwise they are missing out on all the great attractions nearby! All of our guests love our freshly baked cookies and we are so glad they do. I do apologize for any shortcomings on our end but please do not forget to contact us directly at the property on your next to the big apple. Thanks again for your time and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Awesome place! Perfect for my husband and I who were out most of the day exploring. Yes, the rooms are small but they are clean with a mini kitchen so you can do some of our own cooking/breakfast. You could also use the washing machines for free. We stayed for 2 weeks and didn’t mind the once a week cleaning. You can ask for fresh towels from reception. They also had DVD’s to watch free of charge which was fantastic. The free coffee down stairs was a life saver. I thought the location was excellent – just around the corner to Times Square and walking distance to the subway. Staff were friendly. Didnt hear any noise during our entire 2 week stay. Overall I have don’t have anything negative to say. Would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Vegiemite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hello and thank you so much for your recommendation. I am glad to hear we were able to exceed your expectations throughout your stay. We would not have it any other way! We try as best as possible to make each one of our guest feel as their home away from home. Our staff is very hospitable, friendly and always willing to assist with any inquiry. Thank you again for your kind recommendation and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

we were pleasantly surprised by the stay in its entirety !! staff were helpful, pleasant and accommodating. The room was clean and stocked with coffee and popcorn!! It was disappointing that it was not actually IN Time Square, but only a short walk away. Hells kitchen Flea market on Saturday and Sunday morning was close by and fun to visit. I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Hello and thank you for acknowledging our staff for their continuous efforts to achieve superb guest satisfaction. We greatly appreciate all feedback we get from our travelers, as it is a direct reflection of our success as a whole. I am glad we were able to meet your expectations and our staff was extremely helpful. Don’t forget to contact us for assistance on your next special getaway to NYC. Hope you have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having moved out of NYC recently we needed somewhere to stay when we returned which was convenient both for shopping downtown as well as for getting out to the boroughs to visit friends and family. Candlewood Suites was perfectly situated. It was down a fairly quiet street (by NYC standards anyway) a few blocks from Penn Station and a short walk to the Times Square metro where you can take the 1, 3, 9, A, C, E, N and R trains (so you can basically get out to pretty much anywhere!) The room was surprisingly large for an NYC hotel room - big enough to swing two cats in at least - and also quiet. The staff on the front desk were very accommodating and had useful suggestions for breakfast options in the area (breakfast wasn't included in the price although who needs a hotel croissant with NY bagels and eggs over easy on every corner!) The best thing though was the price for staying an extra night. We were offered Sunday night for just $150, which sounded more like a price from the 1980's! We had problems setting the right temperature for the room which is why I am giving the hotel a 3 for sleep quality as it did get quite hot the first night. However when we complained about it the engineer arrived in literally 3 minutes and showed us how to set the temperature properly. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katyajv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Greetings from NYC!
Thank you for enlightening our travelers about our area. I could not have described it in better words. I do apologize you encountered an issue with monitoring the temperature in your room. But I am glad we were able to address your concern immediately and find a resolution. Please do not forget to contact us directly on you next trip, we would like to make sure your next stay is flawless. We hope to see you soon, until then I wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thirty-some floors but fast elevators (both were working). Rooms very small (maybe 250 sf), full sz refer, 2-burner cooktop & microwave - all immaculate. Room was very clean. Great shower. Very good location, sandwiched between Holiday Inn Exp and Hampton and short walk to Times Sq, theaters & shopping. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Try the nearby Mexican one w/name something like Padrons (the best ceviche I've ever had). The staff were very accommodating and very friendly. We used their car service for rtn to EWR at $85, include tolls & tip (we pd $105 from EWR to hotel). Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murraw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Greetings from the Candlewood family,
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with our traveler community. I am extremely delighted your experience was wonderful. Our location is great and ideal, close to many attractions but quiet enough to relax when needed! Our entire staff goes above and beyond to accommodate any guest request to ensure overall guest satisfaction. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to the big apple.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews