We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #228 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Brand new studio apartment with great size rooms, small kitchen, 5min walk to time square, helpful & friendly staff, great for a short or long stay. Really reasonably priced for a property so new & central. We are returning in August & we can't wait!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank L_12_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Greetings from the Big Apple! It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and are already planning on returning. We are also happy to hear you were able to enjoy all of our hotel amenities during your stay as well. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,864)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in June.
It was our first trip to New York, when we came from JKF airport it was easy to reach the hotel.
It's only a 5 minute walk to the subway.

The room was spacious, just the queen size bed was a little bit to small for 2 high people.
But the bathroom was clean and there were some supplies that were very helpfull.

We stayed in NY when it was really hot, so the refrigerator in the room was welcome.
We didn't use the kichten, but there was everything you needed to cook something or to prepare something.

The hotel is near Times Square and Broadway, also a little walk to Empire Building. When I come back to NY, I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to everybody. The location is perfect, it's calm in the street but I always felt save in the neighbourhood, the price is reasonable, the room is clean and big enough.

The front office staff was friendly and very helpfull. At it was our first stay in Candlewood she explained me everything about the hotel and the facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Hello and thank you for writing us on tripadvisor.com. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would return to our property. It is also nice to hear that you were able to experience all that New York as to offer. Our close location makes it easy for our guests to explore the local areas without having to go to far. We look forward to seeing you again! Until then happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel is very well located near 42nd Str and Times Square. The room furniture is a bit out dated, but clean. The kitchenette is new, and very clean. Well equipped to make yourself your own breakfast or heat up whatever you have taken from one of the many take-aways. The bathroom is also clean and well equipped with toilettries and hair dryer. All in all the room is not small, especially not for New York. The price is also allright. The only thing that really bothered us, that there are only two average elevators for a 32 story building, and one of the elevators was out of use. As we heard from other guests, at least for over a week. That means that you really have to take some extra time for going upand down, because the elevator stops at every floor, and down in the lounge people are queueing for the elevator. if you've bad luck, you have to wait two times until the elevator is back from it's stop-train journey, because there are too many people and luggage who want to use this elevator.
Apart from this (or ask if you can have a room below the let's say 5th floor) it's a good hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the elevator and make sure you have a room below the fifth floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Good day, and thank you for leaving us a review of your stay on tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that the elevators had given you so much trouble during your time with us but we hope that you were able to enjoy everything else about our hotel. Hope to see you soon! Until then happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We greatly enjoyed the central location in NY, the well equipped kitchen with lots of fridge space, and the clean comfortable and air conditioned room! Our only complaint was that one of the elevators was broken for most of our four night stay which involved taking the stairs a few times as the one elevator was not sufficient on the busy times. The front desk staff were fun, friendly and helpful to us with some good NY info on how to get to the airport and navigate the 4th of July fireworks crowds, etc. The Italian bar and restaurant across 39th was also great!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daninkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Hello and thank you for leaving us a comment on tripadvisor.com. We are sorry to hear that the elevators had given you some trouble during your stay but we hope that you were able to take advantage of the other amenities our hotel provides. Being so close to the Hell's kitchen area there are so many great restaurants to choose from. Glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It was a great stay in the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. In the hotel you can find everything you can unexpectedly need on a trip- a printer, adapters/converters, etc. The location of the hotel is in the walking distanceto the metro, bus stops, shopping malls, various restaruants, a bit longer a walk but styill not far is the pier 84 where you can have Circle line cruises and rent a bike. The room is really great! It is not huge, but there is a stove, a fridge, AC, a very cozy bathroom.
The negative sides were: a very very very slow internet. When we asked to change bed linen and towels- the towels were brought the same day, but about the bedsheets we had to wait and ask for 2 days. And when they brought them- we had to change them ourselves (but I guess this is the point of an extended stay suites and they informed us that the service is done once a week. It is just that I did not want to change the bedlinen myself :-).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TalyaRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your overall stay. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the amenities we offer at The Candlewood Suites in Times Square! I do apologize for any inconveniences accessing the wifI may have caused you during your trip. Please remember to visit or stop by if you are around the New York City area. I wish you a good day and safe travels wherever you may head.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days early July in a queen suite which was quite spacey and comfortable (easy for two). Equipped with microwave full fridge, sink and stove. Very clean and the furniture though not ultra modern seemed classic and good for the area. Love walking down two streets for a huge metro and bus station (Port Authority) just on 41st & 8th. They have a small snack shop open 24 hours, did not use the laundry facility but also complimentary machines are located in the basement. If you are in for a good & quite night and do not fancy luxurious hotel it serves the purpose well. I am quite picky especially with bathrooms and I found my suite quite pleasant.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor for a quieter night sleep (mine was 1606).
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalkiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Greetings from the Candlewood Suites in Times Square New York! Thank you for taking the time to let our traveler community know how convenient and squeaky clean your stay was. Our family strives to make each and every guest’s stay enjoyable and pleasant as yours. Thank you for choosing our property to stay in; until then I wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was an ideal location for us. We arrived at Penn Station and walked to the hotel with our bags with no problem. We also walked to all of the terrific restaurants in Hell's Kitchen, walked to the Subway, walked to the theaters near Times Square. But it is about the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in. Quite clean and updated. I am not someone who needs my bed made for me daily, and was fine with using the same towel for the 4 days we were there. But could easily have gotten fresh towels if we needed them. I also loved keeping a chilled bottle of wine in the fridge and making my own coffee in the morning (pre-packed coffee and filters). When we checked in, showed our Points card and spun the wheel for a free prize. Landed on the $3 in free "store money" and the clerk gave us a $5 voucher instead. Used all of it for bottled water since it was miserably hot outside.
Could not have been happier with this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbjj109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to inform our community how great your stay was. We greatly appreciate all of our guest’s feedback as it is a clear indicator of our success and hard efforts. I am happy to see you truly enjoyed your trip to New York and the location was a plus for your trip. Again thank you so much for your time and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#296 of 468 in New York City
2,153 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#142 of 468 in New York City
5,678 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#250 of 468 in New York City
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#298 of 468 in New York City
4,124 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#73 of 468 in New York City
5,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#165 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $180 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing