We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY, WELL LOCATED!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Ranked #228 of 467 Hotels in New York City
sedona az
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY, WELL LOCATED!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Candlewood Suites on 39th Street is near Times Square, but is actually at the edge of the Garment District. This makes the location convenient to the convention center, Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, and Chelsea as well. I really liked the fact that the hotel is new and up to date. Nice sized room for NYC with complete kitchen and very good queen bed (about 280 s.f.) Pantry is nice addition in place of a restaurant. Free laundry came in handy for my 10 night stay. Staff friendly and helpful!

Try to find a deal on Hotwire or Priceline and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank napili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thanks for such a great review! The Candlewood Suites in Times Square is at a great location; minutes away from Times Square and with many attractions nearby. We are actively working on all aspects of our property in order to keep up with the city that never sleeps. We are very satisfied to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    774
    175
    36
    48
See reviews for
268
894
158
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I don't think I've ever reviewed a hotel while still in it, but that's what I'm doing now. Apart from the great rate and location, the front desk staff are the nicest I've ever encountered in any hotel (and seem genuine - not fawning as they can be at more expensive hotels!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devoichitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Your words are music to my ears! Thanks so much for taking the time to inform our audience of what a great stay you are having. Our staff at the Candlewood Suites in Times Square, take pride in creating an outstanding experience to each one of our guests. Please let us know if at any point during your stay we can assist you. Thanks and we hope you keep enjoying your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed her for one night. Very conveniently located near the port authority bus terminus on 42nd., Times Square and all the other shopping, restaurants etc. From JFK take any train to 42nd and take the 40th/8th Ave SW exit, turn right and right again and go to next traffic light at 39th/8th and turn right again and the hotel is at the end close to 9th Ave. Just don't arrive before 3pm since check-in is not until then although you can leave your bags but after a long distance flight a good shower is always nice to have immediately! Rooms are supposedly suites but a typical NYC room where there really is one room equipped with a kitchenette and a small shower. Comfortable bed. No breakfast at all but I found a good place at the corner of 38th and 8th. Also had a small gym and Internet with free wifi access. A good hotel overall.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank VJ_London2World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thanks for choosing the Candlewood Suites in Times Square for your short trip to the great city. I am glad to hear you rated our property as a good hotel overall. The most important aspect of a hotel is the comfort and the location. I am happy to see that both of these aspects meet your expectations. We hope to see you next time you are in the city, until then safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

myself and my partner booked a very last minute deal for a 3 night stay in new york and Candlewood Suites came up on lastminute.com as the 3rd cheapest deal. the hotel was nothing short of amazing, every member of staff offered an outstanding personal service and you werent just treated as a room number as is the case in some hotels. the rooms offered are actually suites, and as well as a queen sized bed, en suite bath and shower there is also a kitchen area with washing machine, fridge and micowave. the hotel set up means that if you need additional towels or fresh linin you simply ask at the reception, as rooms are cleaned on a weekly basis. the hotel had lots of nice touches, such as a large reception area, 24hour convenience store, a dvd library, and computers which customers can use to book excursions and browse the internet free of charge, the hotel had free wifi which i must say is the quickest wifi ever!! time square was a 5-10 minute walk and our room (on the 27th floor) had amazing views of the empire state building if you looked out to the left. would definately stay here again!!!

Room Tip: the higher the room the better as there is less noise and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlowe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am pleased to hear your experience at The Candlewood Suites in Times Square exceeded your expectations. Each one of our guests are treated as a member of our family, this is why we welcome each and everyone with open arms. If you are ever around the Times Square area don’t forget to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

On arriving from our UK flight (around 2pm) we were told that check in was 4pm and to come back then as our rooms weren't ready. There were 4 of us (2 in each room). Fair enough. However when we arrived back at around 5.45pm we were told that our rooms were still not ready - well one was but the other would be another 20 mins. When asked why this was when we were told check in was 4pm they said it was because they had "priority guests who had late check out!". We could get two rooms now, but they wouldnt be together. So we waited.....only to find out the rooms were not next to each other after all - on opposite sides of the lift!

Otherwise the room was adequate - a bit more spacious than we'd thought. There is a small kitchenette but we didnt use it apart from the fridge.The bathroom door didn't close properly and the lock bar over the door was broken.

The best thing this hotel has going for it is the location. It was 39th Street and about a 10 minute walk from Times Square.

I'd go back but only for the location and if I got a deccent price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chez_Salou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonicaNarvaez, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Each and every day we strive for excellence and it saddens me to hear your experience was not one. We are on a continuous journey to improve each and every aspect in our property and greatly appreciate your feedback. Please feel to contact me directly if you are thinking of making a second trip to the big apple. I will personally make sure your stay exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is in the garment district so is in a great location. Rooms are a good size for NYC and the fridge was a good size, microwave and stove so u can bring supplies in. Staff are friendly and if you are a priority club member you get 2pm checkout. Wi-Fi in room and print out facilities in lobby. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel here on Tripadvisor.com. We know that you had over 400 hotels to choose from when staying in New York City and we are very glad that you chose ours. We are glad that we were able to deliver excellent value to you, an IHG Priority Club Member. Please come by and see us again. Until then, happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I am so pleased that I picked the Candlewood Suites for my first trip to NYC. The location is very central yet quiet. The room was very spacious and absolutely spotless. The bed was huge and comfortable and the kitchenette was a bonus- it was great to have a cold beer after a long day's sightseeing. We were on the 12th floor and found the noise levels to be minimal. I would certainly stay here when I come back to the city. I would also recommend The Westway diner on 9th and 44th for a great low cost breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
The Candlewood Suites Times Square and the City of New York thank you for your visit! We are proud and grateful that you selected our hotel for your first trip to the Big Apple. Thank you for sharing your pleasant stay with the rest of the travel community here on TripAdvisor.com Have a great day and don't wait too long to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#141 of 467 in New York City
5,632 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 467 in New York City
2,132 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#244 of 467 in New York City
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#278 of 467 in New York City
4,060 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#191 of 467 in New York City
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square

Property: Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Address: 339 W. 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let our Times Square Hotel be your Home Away From Home Located at the 'Crossroads of America', the newly renovated, all suites Candlewood Suites hotel at Times Square has the perfect location for extended stay business and leisure travelers. We are convenient to the major businesses in Times Square, as well as the attractions of New York City. If you are traveling to 'the Big Apple' for just an overnight stay or for an extended stay, our NYC hotel's studio suites, with full kitchen facilities, will make your trip a smashing success. Our hotel's Times Square address places us within walking distance of the Jacob Javitz Convention Center, Legg Mason, Ernst & Young and Merrill Lynch among others. Our suites offer extended stay guests a comfortable workspace, free high-speed,wireless Internet access and we are pet friendly. Leisure guests know that our hotel in NYC's Times Square is centrally located so it is easy to visit the best of the city; the electricity of Times Square, the majesty of the Empire State Building and the excitement of Broadway Theater are at our doorstep. All modes of transportation, from trains, buses and cabs, are nearby. Our extended stay Midtown Manhattan hotel offers deluxe amenities including a DVD lending library and a free 24-hour Fitness Center. There is the Candlewood Cupboard, located in the main lobby, for food and sundries. We also offer free laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing