We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and not to friendly”

Londel's Supper Club
Ranked #3,420 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Harlem
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not to friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were referred to Londels and were met by the owner Mr.Londel, a retired policeman with a twinkling eye.
It's obviously a hot spot for locals most of whom seemed to know each other. The music was great - a 2 piece jazz unit.
However, the food was average to say the least, the prices were on the high side, and the waitress we had was very off handed.
It was our 1st night in harlem, and from then on we dined downtown and grabbed the subway back ( very safe )

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Medici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great welcome! We were well looked after.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Loved the live music on a Friday and Saturday night. We thoroughly recommend the Southern Fried Chicken and Macaroni (and the Pinot Grigot, of course).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Loveday08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Bit off the beaten track but made a special effort to track down a Soul Food Restaurant in Harlem. Found it easily and got there by the Subway
Could not fault this place at all. Service was seamless, drinks kept arriving swiftly, dealt with professionally but at exactly the right pace. Tried for the first time a Mango Margarita, so nice I ended up drinking 3. Also they serve local Harlem brewed Sugar Hill Beer. Friendly and welcoming are at the heart of this restaurant, Mr Londel was present throughout the evening and went from table to table having a chat and making really sure everyone was happy. Not in the “Is everything ok” but really concerned, a true gentleman.
If you find yourself in New York do make the effort you will not be disappointed… Would love to go back and experience a Jazz Evening!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
441 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Harlem … With Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were greeted at the door by Londel and after explaining to him that his restaurant was recommended by our hotel but we did not have a booking, his response was “My house is your house” .

We were shown to our table by Londel, introduced to our waiter, and it just flowed into a memorable night.

The food was great (the ribs were special) … the drinks were cold, and the service was A1.

We couldn’t fault it … a fantastic night out at a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Warm Welcome is always at Londel's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have been returning to Londel's restaurant for many years now, and recently I've been taking friends of mine here - from out of town and locally - to meet Londel and experience his and his staff's always warm hospitality, and to taste some of the tastiest ribs, fried chicken, sweet potato and more that's part of his Sunday brunch. What a great way to go out on a Sunday - after an equally warm although sometimes considerably more rousing church service. Excellent all 'round!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TourGuideBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Londel's Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to Londel's Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing