We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible coffee”
Review of Oro Bakery and Bar

Oro Bakery and Bar
Ranked #217 of 388 Bakeries in New York City
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: French, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Terrible coffee”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

No breakfast at my hotel so I was looking forward to a nice coffee. I was not lucky! It tatsted like there was some dish wash soap in there !
But the pastries were very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaquoze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“tasty&quaiet”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This tiny place is a combination of cafe/bar and bakery serving nice breakfast, snacks, pastries and good coffee. Super relaxed atmosphere makes it a great place to enjoy your lazy hour or two.
Only few tables there - the best ones by the window hard to get plus few seats at the bar.
Try any quiche-they are good!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank very-sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Happy Hour: So-So”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a little hole-in-the-wall that I'd enjoy if I lived in the Broome Street area, but it's not worth a long subway ride if you live anywhere else. It's very small, kind of dark, and was pretty deserted when I had drinks and a light dinner with a friend there. The service was indifferent. The music was too loud.

I had a gimlet, which was rather sour, and my friend had a champagne cocktail that tasted much better. The food was very nice for casual, small-plate fare. I had a delicious beet salad and some house-special potato chips, freshly cooked and flavored with rosemary -- yummy. Even so, I felt it was overpriced.

The coffee selection looked good, though, so I got the feeling that it's more promising as a morning cafe/bakery.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeftCoastGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bakery by Day, Bar by Night”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Everything about this place rules. Go. Have the kimchee drinks. You will crave them. Oh- and have their giant brownie with a latter the next morning...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank annabellala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best almond croissant ever had - and we are Italians”
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

The almond croissant was just amazing, the quiche was good as well as the cappuccino. Not one of the best espresso by Italian standards, but definitely one of the best you can get in US. A little pricy, but worth the money.

Helpful?
Thank sgallian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oro Bakery and Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Oro Bakery and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing