We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of old New York” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rum House

The Rum House
Ranked #741 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Texas
Level Contributor
213 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A piece of old New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This bar in the Edison Hotel doesn't feel like a tourist place, though that's probably what it is. We stopped in every night of our stay for live music, even on a Monday night. Efficient service, friendly, we loved the piano man. Wine we thought was pricey, gin and tonic wasn't. It all averages out. We were happy to be in such a fun spot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travgal0766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    124
    54
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Right in the Edison Hotel, where we stayed. Stopped in there after paying $40 each for a bigger name jazz band at Birdland and for free a local band the was just as good or better was playing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank riders_rule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tiny bar, amazing drinks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Knowledgeable and polite staff. Small, so it's hard to get a place to sit down and there's not much standing room, but the drinks on the menu are unique with classic and delicious flavors. We went twice in two nights!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank brob1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Had an old fashioned "speak easy" feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

From the size, to the decor, to the music, it definitely had the feeling of a 'speak easy'. Add good rum to that and it was a great visit :) It was a little pricey and the piano was a little loud, but the overall experience and atmosphere helped us look past that. The piano player was very talented, so that also made it being a little too loud tolerable.

We arrived close to 10pm on a Wed night and were told they had nothing beside popcorn left food wise. The person we were meeting as been to The Rum House a few times, and he said that usually there were only a few people there. It was a full house when we were there. It seemed to be filled with business folks unwinding after work. Most patrons were in suits (work clothes), but we didn't feel out-of-place in jeans.

If you are looking for a unique place for drinks, this is definitely the place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenparadox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little bar with atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

A great little bar just off Times Square, that despite its location still managed to retain its friendly and unique atmosphere. A good range of drinks, very friendly staff with some wonderful live music.

Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rum House also viewed

 

Been to The Rum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing