We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Bar Boulud

Bar Boulud
Reserve with OpenTable
Bar Boulud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #878 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 64th Street
Transit: Columbus Circle and Lincoln Center subway stops are within blocks of the restaurant. Local Broadway bus lines stop directly in front of the restaurant.
Description: Bar Boulud is Chef Daniel Boulud’s casual wine bar and bistro located across from Manhattan’s Lincoln Center. A sumptuous array of house made charcuterie complements classic bistro cooking at both lunch and dinner. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner seven days and offers pre- and after-theater dining as well as a four-course weekend brunch for $32.00. Outdoor dining is available on the Broadway sidewalk terrace seasonally. We offer a 3-course prix-fixe at lunch for $29.00 and a $45.00 price fixe menu for dinner, as well as a la carte options. Three private wine themed dining rooms adjacent to the walk-through wine cellar are available for private events.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very Nice”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Went there twice when I was in NYC. it is a nice cosy place to have supper at night with a glass of wine.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Piggy_ae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    278
    136
    46
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food! A little overpriced.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Although overpriced, it must be visited. The food is great, the overprice is on beverages. The wine list is well assembled, good choices, but expensive.
I had duck confit and it was the best ever. Good ambiance, service is friendly although the host/hostess were a little snobbish.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wish I could give it no stars”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our pleasant server took our order and then disappeared until she brought the check. The sommelier was excellent. The food took forever to arrive and was bland and dull. At one point the runner brought us another party's dinner and had to be convinced that we had not ordered those items. My daurade was dried out and sitting what was supposed to be broth and was just water. At one point one of us was stopped on his way to the bathroom in the back and rudely told to go back and down the stairs. We assumed this was the front of the house manager.When our plates were cleared the person noticed that our dinners were half eaten, commented on it, but did not ask if anything was wrong. Amateurish in every way.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ODM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Daniel was in the house”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had a casual supper with friends; three of us ordered the chicken, which is a favorite. It was the best ever! Service is always attentive and tables are arranged so that you can have a real conversation. I wish the Epicerie next door was run as well! Never been disappointed here, except when showing up without a reservation!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank f00lme0nce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very accommodating for our large group”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I bring a group of ladies into Manhattan once a month for a matinee on Broadway preceded by lunch and so I am always on the lookout for good restaurants. Bar Baloud is my choice if we are near Lincoln Center. Although they do not open till noon, we were there about 11:30 on a cold day and they let us all in early, provided us with the separate checks that we requested, and the food and service was excellent. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi3158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Boulud also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Bar Boulud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing