We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming”
Review of Kyo Ya

Kyo Ya
Ranked #3,136 of 13,588 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: East Village
Reviewed December 27, 2015

We went for the kaiseki tasting menu which is pricey at $150 per.

Can't say I was impressed- it was good but for the price I'd either go a la carte as their menu items looked interesting.

Yuzu sake and the peanut miso were terrific and the tomezakana- which was pear snow crab and scallop were excellent but much of it is ok. And for these prices ($150 not including drinks) you expect more. Especially disappointing was the roasted mushroom and rice - which tasted like- well- mushrooms and rice.

The service is also incredibly slow so that you have finished one course and are waiting in some cases 20 min or half an hour for the next. The ambience is nice but not particularly captivating.

Not really a recommend for top line Japanese.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bowdoinham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 73 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2015

A small, unassuming traditional Japanese restaurant based on wonderfully fresh ingredients and a traditional but young master chef's touch. The menu is sophisticated yet clear. A must.

Date of visit: October 2015
2  Thank Sayscj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

We have dined here several times during the last 10 years. We always sit at the small sushi bar at the back and have a Kaiseki dinner.We had similar meals in Kyoto and that is the home of the Kaiseki dinner. The food here has been consistent and equal to many of our dinners in Kyoto. The staff and the head chef are fabulous. It is well worth the price of $150 to $175 Per person.Very good Sake list.

Thank drl_smit-may
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2015

Let's get two things clear:

First, it is expensive, yeah, sorry about that.

Second, it may be expensive, but it's worth it.

And finally, go for the full experience!

The atmosphere is wonderful, the place is beautiful and the staff is great!

There are few places where I was close to being treated so well in my hole life. We tried the full tasting, and it was worth every dollar.

Chu-sama is awesome, by the way! ^^

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rajpenteado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2014

Everything about Kyo-ya is beyond exceptional. The wait staff is amazingly attentive, but very approachable. They really do welcome you in. The seasonal menu is just as it would be if this was Tokyo rather than New York. Favourites are the Shirako, fish milt, this time grilled and lightly sauced. The Sashimi was presented on a bed of shaved ice, the octopus fatty and tender (not rubbery), the tuna red as garnets, a "salmon trout" and sweet bright uni. The cooked dishes are done in a home style, the duck moist and a little salty, the pork belly falling to shreds as you pick it up. All quite lovely.

Date of visit: December 2014
Thank DFHdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyo Ya also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Kyo Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.