We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite japanese ever”
Review of Kyo Ya

Kyo Ya
Ranked #3,137 of 13,587 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: East Village
Reviewed January 19, 2015

Let's get two things clear:

First, it is expensive, yeah, sorry about that.

Second, it may be expensive, but it's worth it.

And finally, go for the full experience!

The atmosphere is wonderful, the place is beautiful and the staff is great!

There are few places where I was close to being treated so well in my hole life. We tried the full tasting, and it was worth every dollar.

Chu-sama is awesome, by the way! ^^

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rajpenteado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 73 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2014

Everything about Kyo-ya is beyond exceptional. The wait staff is amazingly attentive, but very approachable. They really do welcome you in. The seasonal menu is just as it would be if this was Tokyo rather than New York. Favourites are the Shirako, fish milt, this time grilled and lightly sauced. The Sashimi was presented on a bed of shaved ice, the octopus fatty and tender (not rubbery), the tuna red as garnets, a "salmon trout" and sweet bright uni. The cooked dishes are done in a home style, the duck moist and a little salty, the pork belly falling to shreds as you pick it up. All quite lovely.

Date of visit: December 2014
Thank DFHdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2014

We have probably eaten in every major Japanese restaurant in NY by now, so when we hired a new tech person who was Japanese (and a Princeton math and computer science grad), we got more than just tech. We asked him to recommend the best Japanese restaurant in NY, one that would be 'off the beaten tourist path' and could offer us a more authentic experience. He suggested Kyo Ya. Good choice. Hard to find, no reservations on Trip Advisor - no spicy tuna, no california roll, Kyo Ya is really something different and quite extraordinary. Known well to a small group of Japanese expats and a few others, it is tucked away in a basement on East 7th Street. Hard to fine. Worth the hunt.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosenblumtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

I think there are way better spots in NYC if you want traditional Japanese food. Everything here was just ok, nothing was amazing.

Thank MikeBravoITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My family went to Kyo Ya to celebrate a birthday. We read great reviews about it and wanted to try since we are all aficionados for Japanese food. While the selection of food is not as expansive as the others, we find that every dish we ordered were done delectably well. Flavorful each bite. Sweet potato tempura, Kamadaki rice, and Botan Ebi Kani Ikura Don were great. Very fresh sashimi.
It is very easy to miss since there is no sign on the street and you need to walk down to basement level. Once you find it, you'll find that the place offers a cozy ambiance for quiet conversations. No need to be squeezed in like most NYC restaurants, no need to speak louder to hear across table. It was very pleasant.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyo Ya also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Kyo Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.