We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee - tiny but funky space!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macchiato Espresso Bar

Macchiato Espresso Bar
Ranked #2,793 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
320 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great coffee - tiny but funky space!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Met here for a very brief meeting. Coffee was very good - although the person taking the order could have been a little friendlier to be honest.

The place itself is very funky and well decorated. It probably serves a lot of people working in the area, so the need for expansive seating isn't needed, but expect it to be crowded and busy - whatever the time is.

I had a decaf and thought it was pretty good and the other person I was meeting with had a cappuccino.

Definitely a good place to pop in for a good cup of coffee/espresso.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SMR_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quick or leisurely coffee break or lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Met a friend here for lunch and really enjoyed the fast and friendly service. Iced coffee was really good. Loved my sesame seed toasted bagel with cream cheese, tomato and fresh basil. They also have sandwich, salad, soup and breakfast options. Definitely a nice and tastier change from Starbucks.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One of the best cups of cappuccino in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Doc says I am supposed to be off of coffee (I'm down to 1 per week)--but I could not resist trying a cappuccino in Macchiato. If it's the only cup for a whole week, it had better be good.
Macchiato did not disappoint!

Starbucks cannot hold a candle to Dunkin Donuts, as far as I'm concerned--just so that you know where I'm coming from. I dislike the taste of burnt, charred beans. Starbucks takes the place of cigarettes for some people, I'm convinced.

The Macchiato cappuccino was flavorful and deep: rich but not too rich, and sweet, but not like a dessert. It was delicious. I can't wait to go back.

Take out a couple and head for Rockefeller Center, Top of the Rock, SAKS, Central Park, or just stroll down 5th Avenue. Yum!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieandIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great coffee!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice surprise to get good cofee in the US! Not trivial at all. Much better than the chains. Closed on saturday.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank adala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing smooth coffee early in AM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Skip Starbies and enjoy handmade Americano… almond croissant not the best but the java is worth the diversion if you are near GCT

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BTH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macchiato Espresso Bar also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Macchiato Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing